We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Your Mother's Hilton II ! Stay elsewhere!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Vancouver Metrotown
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Burnaby
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not Your Mother's Hilton II ! Stay elsewhere!”
Reviewed 7 October 2010

While at first appearances, the rooms and hotel appear adequate, this hotel is in a seedy area and while parked overnight in the Hilton's parking lot, our rental car's window was broken and car broken into. Did not make for the start of a relaxing vacation and first impression of Vancouver. This hotel shares a building with a rundown, metal-gated "mall" and apparently any of the mall's "shoppers" have access to the cars of the Hilton guests and can walk freely in and out of the "mall's" exits.
Make no mistake, Hilton charges you for parking on your Hilton bill, but when something happens, all of a sudden ( no surprise here!), they have no responsibility and another firm manages the garage ( and not too well!!!!!!!!!!!!). Did I mention, this 18 story Hilton states they have no security staff? Frightening and not what one expects from Hilton!
Hilton has not responded to our letter addressing these concerns three+ weeks after this incident..........

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justmyopinion030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
egut, Manager at Hilton Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, 21 October 2010
We empathize how upset you must be from the loss of the contents of the backpack that was left in the back seat of your car. The Parkade does provide it’s own independent security to monitor the parkade on a daily basis and as in all public parking places signage is posted in the elevator vestibules and stairways to remind drivers not to leave any valuables in their cars wherever they are parked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    531
    180
    41
    27
See reviews for
335
324
99
491
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

I was very impressed with this Hilton. The rooms appear to have been recently updated, the bed linnen was crisp and the feather pillows devine. The bathroom was generous in size and the Crabtree and Evelyn products a nice touch.

We stayed in a corner room looking out onto the Northshore mountains, such a gorgeous view!

Check-in and out was fast and efficient. The hotel allowed us to extend our departure time to 2pm so that we could enjoy brunch in the hotel. Brunch was amazing - liberally flowing memosas and food for a mile. Only wish they'd told us you should make a reservation if you're doing brunch, but they did happily accommodate us.

Parking was plentiful and easy to find under the hotel, no real need to valet unless you like that option.

Really pleased, lovely service, would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianInDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria BC Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Up to Hiltons usual standards, booked on Hotwire for $75 usd. Only negative was a very small pool 4ft deep 10 ft wide lap pool.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripstress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

First, the note of caution--if you are coming to Vancouver, and staying at the Metrotown, note that you are a good distance away from the downtown. Maybe not in terms of mileage, but it seemed like everything in Vancouver took a long time to get there. Not the easiest city to negotiate from a traffic standpoint.

That said, this place is well worth the stay. Our room had a beautiful view of the city, and was very comfortable. We had a suite, which afforded us a bit more room to stretch out with the kids. The pool is outdoor, but was warm enough for the kids to manage, even in cooler weather. The hotel is adjacent to a large shopping center and plenty of restaurants. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveinSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Cache, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

When arriving to check in, we were told our cc was not approved so we left-to find out afterwards that it was and they charged $250 to it. When we phoned the manager about it he was rude and we never got an apology. We were very disappointed-after being on the road all day with a toddler and ready to settle in for the night, we wound up driving around the city for an hour trying to find another hotel. Worst experience ever!!! Don't recommend unless you like dealing with snobs.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nichoabc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

The hotel was what I would expect from a Hilton family hotel. Nice, clean, spacious rooms with friendly, helpful staff. Being just outside downtown increased the value for our vacation dollar, but was within a 5 minute walk of the SkyTrain station.
Paid self-parking was a little confusing in the underground parking garage that was shared with the mall...had to look and circle a bit for designated hotel spaces.
During our stay, someone decided to pull the fire alarm during the night which caused some distress, but the staff quickly announced that it was a false alarm and to please be patient until the fire department could arrive to turn off the alarm. This took maybe 10-15 minutes of the frequent shrill alarm sounds before it was turned off. Thankfully the beds were super cozy, pillows were plush and we drifted back to sleep quickly.
Overall, we were very satisfied with our stay and would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2010

I stay here about once a month for work. The hotel did renovate the furnishings in the rooms a year or so ago and in general they do maintain the hotel very well. Any issues I have found with a room are corrected quickly.

Timely housekeeping and nice rooms with a good view depending on floor and location the room is facing.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nps-ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnaby
Maywood
Element Vancouver Metrotown
Maywood
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#22 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,428 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Vancouver Metrotown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Vancouver Metrotown

Property: Hilton Vancouver Metrotown
Address: 6083 McKay Ave, Burnaby, British Columbia V5H 2W7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Burnaby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Burnaby
#2 Business Hotel in Burnaby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Vancouver Metrotown 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore beautiful Vancouver and experience all that the Metropolis at Metrotown, British Columbia's biggest shopping and entertainment complex, has to offer when you stay at the Hilton Vancouver-Metrotown. Located in the City of Burnaby with Vancouver Sky Train only yards away, the attractions and businesses of downtown Vancouver are within easy reach 20 min Skytrain ride.Stay connected and productive in the 24-hour business center or get to work at the large desk in each Guest room. Surf the web with in-room high-speed internet access (nominal charges apply). Watch a movie on the television or listen your favorite album when you connect your MP3 player to the radio alarm clock. Guests staying in one of the hotel's Executive Rooms or Suites enjoy exclusive access to the Executive Lounge, serving complimentary breakfast in the morning and refreshments in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Vancouver Metrotown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Vancouver Metrotown Hotel Burnaby
Hilton Hotel Burnaby
Hilton Burnaby
Burnaby Hilton Metrotown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing