We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close call!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Happy Day Inn Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Burnaby
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night in August. I was attending an event in Vancouver and chose to stay here due to the affordable price and somewhat close proximity to downtown Vancouver. My room was a decent sized one bedroom with more than enough space for two people. The room had a musty smell and didn't appear very clean though at least the bedding appeared to be clean.

In the middle of the night I was awoken by a very loud car crash. There is an intersection right in front of the hotel so I looked out the window facing the intersection but could not see or hear any sign of a crash. The next morning i discovered that a car ran off the road and hit a car in the hotel parking lot - the car right beside mine! The bumper was ripped right off. The driver took off so the hotel was tying to get information from guests, unfortunately there were no witnesses. Thankfully no one was standing in the parking lot at that time. I sure hope they found the driver responsible for the crash.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Harmonize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2013

Have a great stay in a studio suite with Kitchenette for my sons Ice Hockey tournament. Hotel was very close to the rink and a solid value, much much less than the more expansive corporate chains in the area. Suite was efficient and clean and the staff was outgoing, friendly and helpful. Would recommend Happy Day Inn to anyone looking for an affordable, comfortable stay in the Burnaby area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nick81221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happy_Day_Inn, Director of Sales at Happy Day Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

Thanks for your encouraging words.Your feedback is our motivation. We always try our best to provide the cheapest possible quality accommodation to our guests. Happy Day Inn does and always will try to live up to your expectations. Looking forward to see you soon again.
Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

we stayed here for 5 nights and found the staff very helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and warm and very reasonably priced. Breakfast was included and although basic, muffins, donuts and coffee its was still good. We Recomend this place if staying in the area!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karina g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happy_Day_Inn, Director of Sales at Happy Day Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

Thank you very much for your valued comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our property. Your satisfaction and your feedback means a lot to us. We will always try to serve customers as best as we can. Looking forward to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I read a lot of reviews of motels in the area before deciding on the Happy Day Inn, mostly chosen due to its location. I was concerned as many reviews mentioned the thinness of the walls. I was pleasantly surprised, maybe I lucked out with my neighbours, but the only noise I heard was the traffic and occasional conversations in the hallway. Because I was staying for 4 nights, I reserved a room with a kitchenette. It was much better equipped than I expected. The fridge is a good size, there is a 2 burner stove with oven, a toaster and a kettle. The fry pan is good quality. A continental breakfast is included with the price, but as I cooked bacon and eggs in the room, I can’t rate the quality of the brekkie. The bathroom actually has a decent sized tub with shower, a hairdryer and plenty of hot water. The towels are a bit threadbare but clean. I found the bed to be very comfortable, with high pillows, not the pancakes many budget motels have. The heat/air conditioner unit is extremely efficient. The front desk staff have all been very friendly and helpful, and the cleaning staff have greeted me with smiles in the hallway as well. The place could do with a lick of more expensive paint but it’s not horribly run down. The hallways do smell a bit of cigarette smoke, I wish the whole place was non smoking but I brought my own febreeze and the room itself smelled fine. Overall, it is a tremendous place for the money spent. I booked through Expedia and got an excellent rate on the room, over New Years. Good value for the money, I would book in here again.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the stairwell, on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happy_Day_Inn, Director of Sales at Happy Day Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

Hi,
Thanks you so much for your valued comments.We are glad that you liked our property and enjoyed your stay. We @ Happy Day Inn always try to act according to guest recommendations.Thank you for your suggestions.We will make sure that we look into it. We look forward to seeing you again.

Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

The price of the hotel was good. The room and the beds were clean. The receptionist was friendly. We were supprised that the breakfast was included. I would recommend to stay in this hotel if you going to Vancouver, Burnaby, or Surry.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YingOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We were looking to play with my GF for just a few hours. Needed to pick something fast and inexpensive. Picked this hotel and very glad we did.

We were both concerned about that location at first (we are both from a more upscale neighbourghood).

It appeared to be very clean to our surprise. Modest but well maintained. Best of all - we both hate the smell of old hotels. This one didn't have any. That was a great bonus added to our pleasure.

Booked fast over the phone, no hassle.
Friendly, polite, all we needed in the room, showers with good pressure.

Great value for the money.

We will consider it again when close to that neighborhood.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SexyCpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

The hotel is ok with good price but the room is too small, not only relatively to other hotels. We got a room of two beds. There was no place to put anything else except us in the room.

The hotel is too far from the center of the town.

There is parking.

Room Tip: It's too far from the center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank opirg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnaby
The Met Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Westminster
190 reviews
Willingdon Heights
Executive Suites Hotel Burnaby
Ramada Coquitlam
#4 of 4 in Coquitlam
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Day Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Day Inn Hotel

Address: 7330 6th St, Burnaby, British Columbia V3N 3L3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Burnaby
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Burnaby
Price Range: £40 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Happy Day Inn Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your travel is for pleasure or business, you will find your stay at the Happy Day Inn an enjoyable one where you will get your money’s worth. And since our rates are amazingly affordable, you can spend more on your vacation or business. Happy Day Inn is located 20 minutes from Downtown Vancouver in the heart of Burnaby in beautiful British Columbia. Its central location, within easy reach to all modes of public transportation makes it an ideal starting point for discovering Vancouver and the Lower Mainland. It is also convenient for people who would like to get away from the congested downtown area and yet remain close to it. Choose from a variety of rooms with queen beds, two double beds and suites. For the convenience of our long term guests, we have rooms with fully equipped kitchenettes. All our rooms are modern, nicely appointed that have private bathrooms, color Cable TVs, direct dial phones with data ports and voice mail and air conditioning. Our deluxe rooms have additional facilities including coffee makers with free coffee/tea and hair dryers etc. Our complementary continental breakfast is a perfect way to start your day. In the evening, you can relax in the Sauna or have a workout in our fitness room. We have special offers for long-term stays. Our 500 sq. ft. meeting room can accommodate up to 40 people and has all modern facilities for a business meeting or seminar / symposium. All of the above comes with ample free secured parking for your maximum comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Happy Day Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Day Hotel Burnaby
Hotel Happy Day

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing