We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, well-kept, and friendly!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burnaby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Burnaby Cariboo RV Park
Reviewed 4 September 2010

One of the better RV Parks we stayed at during our 2 month trek and believe me we saw plenty of them.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kolokov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2010

Each r.v. bay had a hedge surround for privacy. The grounds were well maintained. Had a lovely pool and jacuzzi. Although situated to the East of Vancouver, with a good ten minute walk to the Sky train, which is brilliant, we saw most of Vancouver's attractions. Also next stop down on the Sky train, is a brilliant shopping mall. Bring your own alcohol though, couldn't find a liquor store.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Watsonadventurites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

overall a very pleasant and well-kept RV park, but expensive. Spaces are tight to get into and very close to the next site but are separated by trees. We are very familiar with the local area and this is by far the best RV park in the greater Vancouver metropolitan region.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hitchhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

I really enjoyed my stay at BCRV. I stayed at BCRV during my visit for the 2010 Winter Olympics. Even though the park was extremly busy the staff couldn't be friendlier or more helpful. Contrary to what others have said I was never disturbed by noise. The park is about a 15 minute walk to the Skytrain and about a 1/2 train trip to downtown Vancouver. I would stay there again and recommend it to my friends and family.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliek1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

If you are a deep sleeper, you might get by. If you do not like the sound of locomotive engines clacking away, and carts getting hooked together, then stay away.

Although the campsite and all amenities were extremely well kept, tidy, and clean, the noise was somewhat difficult to ignore.

But, location was great, area maintained immaculately, and even a welcome pack with "things to do in Vancouver" was ready upon arrival. The only thing missing was quietness, charm, and personality.

Good luck

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank p_laboratory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

The park is well maintained but has very small sites. The trains rumble through day a night and shake the ground. Better have ear plugs. They have many full timers, some have been there for 5 years or more. The highway is on one side and the main road up to the university is on the other side. If the train doesn't get you the fire trucks and ambulances passing by constantly will. The rates are almost $50/day plus cable, the internet is lousy. Your better off staying further out . It is a hell of a lot cheaper and quieter.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Potlach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCRV, Manager at Burnaby Cariboo RV Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our park. I realize that your stay was already a long time ago, during the 2010 Winter Olympics. We must apologise for our WiFi service during that time frame. The volume of web traffic could not be handled by our system at that time. You may be pleased to know that we have replaced our WiFi system and currently run through Tengo Internet. This system seems to be performing excellently for our guests. Thank you again for taking the time to review our park, we always welcome constructive suggestions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2008

After a what seemed like days and day touring the hi-ways and bi-ways, we decided to spend a few nights at Burnaby RV park.

Driving into the park you will have the impression of a neat, tidy and orderly environment. It was busy with several groups of people waiting to check, the 2 staff members were being stretched in order to handle the customer flow. I took about 30mins to check in.

I wondered why the place seemed so cold, no-one seemed very friendly. During our stay , no-one was approachable, let alone said hello. I was told later by a park employee, "We cater to German and Dutch tourists, advertising exclusively to these markets, its little wonder no one said hello. They don't speak English."

So now we know that no one speaks English, I can live with that. What I had a very hard time with is the TRAINS, and lots of them. The park is bordered by 2 major rail lines, the trains run on the hour non stop. These track are about 20 feet away from the park bordering lines. The trains feel like they are coming directly through the RV, shake, rattle, bang , thump. The first night the entire family had no sleep.
As the sun rose in the morning, I was sitting outside and realized that it was not just trains, there were 2 main roads that circle the park as well.
Diesel trucks with engine brakes start round 5 AM, it slows down around 10PM.

If you want to get some enjoyment from your trip, I suggest you by-pass this place.
Several other parks in the area which we stayed at had none of these problems. South Surrey and White Rock have parks that are quiet, peaceful. North Vancouver has one right at the bridge to the city center.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank IrelandCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burnaby hotels
Willingdon Heights
Executive Suites Hotel Burnaby
Maywood
Element Vancouver Metrotown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Accent Inn Burnaby
#3 of 10 in Burnaby
467 reviews
Maywood
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnaby Cariboo RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnaby Cariboo RV Park

Address: 8765 Cariboo Pl, Burnaby, British Columbia V3N 4T2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Burnaby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Burnaby
Price Range: £33 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Burnaby Cariboo RV Park 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe RV Park for sightseeing the Vancouver, BC area. This campground has full hook-up accommodation for any size motorhome, trailer or 5th wheel. Sites are paved and landscaped. Cablevision is available. Separate tent camping area. Indoor pool, jacuzzi, fitness room, games room, WiFi and internet access, playground, store, large laundromat. Coin-operated RV wash as well as a free RV washing area. On transit route, minutes from the Skytrain (monorail) to Vancouver's attractions. West Coast tours picks up daily. Guided city tours also available in German. From Hwy 1 (east or west) take exit 37. Turn right at the first light, left at the next light, the next right turn is access road. Open all year. Languages spoken: English, German, French, Dutch. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing