We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid food and great service”

Cotto Enoteca Pizzeria
Reserve with OpenTable
Cotto Enoteca Pizzeria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 593 Restaurants in Burnaby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$22
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Kensington
Transit: Public transit stops approximately one block away from the restaurant. See translink.ca for routing details.
Description: Cotto Enoteca Pizzeria showcases modern Italian cuisine, specializing in authentic VPN certified Neapolitan pizza and comforting Italian dishes. The focal point of the restaurant is undoubtedly the wood fired brick forno. The menu is steeped in Italian tradition, though updated with West Coast sensibility and is presented in an approachable and informal setting. Cotto's simple, yet elegant cuisine features the natural beauty of local, sustainable and seasonal ingredients in an appropriate and sumptuous manner. Showcasing the best ingredients of British Columbia and the traditional techniques of Italy is the overwhelming inspiration behind Cotto Enoteca's kitchen.
Bay Area California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Solid food and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

We did a broad tasting of this updated restaurant last night. We skipped the pizzas and concentrated on the pastas and appetizers. The Burrata was melt in your mouth, with added greens and dressing on the side that perfectly complemented the cheese. The pastas were authentic Italian, without the added sugar for North American tastes. The wine list was extensive in both BC and Italian choices. Decor was simple, and not elegant. The service from "Chloe" was first rate!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denzo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    60
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 532 helpful votes
“Tasty pizza, warm atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

All four of us found our food to be delicious (3 pizzas, 1 cannelloni). The pizzas are medium size which is plenty for one person, or two if you add a large salad and starter. The homemade limoncello is a treat and the portion is a generous 2 oz. I was here with a large party in April and we were all satisfied with the food and service then as well. Reasonably priced for a restaurant with this type of atmosphere and food quality.
One large room with nice decor (wood, brick, modern lighting), and a fairly large outside patio (enclosed with plastic and stand-up heaters in the winter, but still on a main road [Hastings} so noisy). We had to start outside, which I wasn't too happy about on a cold December night, but we were moved into the main area as soon as a table became available.
Service was friendly and prompt. Bar choice is good. Washrooms are clean and modern.
Why not 5*? The desserts did not strike my fancy and, although everything was good, I didn't feel the wow I save for 5*.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whirledgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a nice surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

The previous tennant at this location was Anducci's......ugh. Cotto has been here about a year, so we decided to come in and check it out. I had the Papardelle Carbonara. Omg. *^&%#$ awesome! My fiance had the Linguini Vongole. She liked it ( at this point I was asking out of courtesy as I was self-involved in my own experience). Service was good, Food was awesome, atmosphere was great. Welcome to Burnaby Cotto.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boredfornothing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wood-Fired pizza in North Burnaby”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We ate at the restaurant when it first opened and enjoyed the pizza and starter salad. It has gained in popularity since that time and won an award for best pizza. We had the award- winning pizza which was delicious but our other two pizzas were not very crispy,a little soggy actually. The pizzas are really individual sized like in Italy so it isn't cheap for a family of 4 for dinner. Salads are delicious, wine list was fine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnston4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent service, different chef”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Adored this restaurant under the original chef. Went back this weekend and discovered the service was still excellent and the recipes were the same for what I wanted, but the execution of the recipes was much different. It's now a more laid-back Italian version of Red Robin (known for excellent burgers) with good pasta and sauces and pizza. But it's not the genius ambrosia that it was originally, I'm afraid. The tomatoes weren't as crisp, the grated cheese didn't melt on my pizza, and the presentation was more mainstream (too much balsamic). It obviously pleased the families who filled the place and I'm glad it's doing well. But I miss the old chef.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LaCorsaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cotto Enoteca Pizzeria also viewed

Burnaby, British Columbia
Burnaby, British Columbia
 
Burnaby, British Columbia
Burnaby, British Columbia
 

Been to Cotto Enoteca Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing