We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place to Learn and to Live”

Simon Fraser University
Ranked #6 of 51 things to do in Burnaby
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
191 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to Learn and to Live”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

SFU is rated one of Canada's best (always in the top 3) comprehensive universities due to its high-quality programs, faculty members and students. Its research is world-renown. The architecture is to my liking (although admittedly not loved by all). Views of the vancouver area are terrific. The addition of UniverCity,,,the residential community adjacent to campus...adds to its attractiveness. Walking to work, study or shop is easy.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadianTraveler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    26
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
180 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful Quadrangle on Burnaby Mountain”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

This architecturally designed quadrangle campus is located atop Burnaby Mountain so offers not only a unique style of building but also fabulous views of the surrounding area.
Simon Fraser offers a full range of academic studies and has an extensive continuing studies department as well.
As a tourist, it offers a lovely place to walk and get some great views of Burnaby.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby BC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“World class education & architecture”
Reviewed 10 December 2012

It's been a long time since I attended classes here, but it remains an architechural marvel. Now days I hire graduates, who always seem well educated.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank gstamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exceptional University”
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Simon Fraser University is my alma mater and I wouldn't trade it for any other place. Erickson's architectural project may seem enormously massive but the expansiveness of the campus fits perfectly on top of the mountain. The landscaping is very inviting and lets you always find your own quiet corner. Nature and art are present everywhere in many forms and you feel you are in a special place while studying there.
I highly recommend the trip to the book/gift store even if you don't attend any classes.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Concrete mess”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I dislike all of Erickson's designs and can't for the life of me figure out why he was so popular. I think he must have been raised in Treblinka by parents who were afraid of a nuclear holocaust. Wherever he's left his footprint you feel like there should be a fifty mile exclusion zone around the edifices. What an ugly scar on a beautiful mountain, what an ugly scar on the potentially beautiful centre of Downtown Vancouver, did he ever think of open spaces and harmony with the setting? Thank goodness our natural beauty overpowers these creations from the dark side.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Simon Fraser University also viewed

Burnaby, British Columbia
Burnaby, British Columbia
 
Burnaby, British Columbia
Burnaby, British Columbia
 

Been to Simon Fraser University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing