We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at a wonderful B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burnaby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Haddon House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 9 Burnaby B&B and Inns
Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
“Lovely stay at a wonderful B&B”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I stayed for three nights, and the entire stay was super nice. The accommodations were the best I've ever had (admittedly, I usually never go to fancy places), the food was amazing, and the hosts were very friendly and welcoming. The breakfasts were top notch; well cooked, a variety of things to eat, and lots of it. The rooms were very clean, and the beds and things were all nice. I thought it would be weird staying at what is essentially a stranger's house, but Johannes and Marie-Louise were so welcoming and friendly my apprehensions vanished. Duchess (the dog) was an absolute marvel!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
30
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We received a gift certificate from my fiancé's mom for a one-night stay. We both were born and raised in Vancouver and felt a little weird staying at a B&B that was just outside of where we live but let me tell you I wish we were staying for a week! The hosts are so welcoming and so accommodating! The rooms are beautiful and the house is gorgeous. We went for a great walk around Deer Lake (just down the block) and woke up early and went for a beautiful walk around the neighborhood which feels like you are completely not in the city at all. We arrived back at the house just in time to be served an absolutely beautiful breakfast. The food was delicious!!! We will definitely be going back! This is a must stay whether you are from out of town or from the city. Thank you for an amazing time!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestonEli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

My husband and I truly enjoyed our stay at Haddon House! What a beautiful home and of course Marie-Louise and Johannes make it special. We arrived too early as we were wanting to get a timely start to our adventures in Vancouver. Marie-Louise and Johannes were extremely accommodating, even though our arrival would have been a very busy time for them. We were indeed grateful that they were so gracious!

The house is gorgeous! I'm certain that there isn't a detail missed. The grounds are well manicured, and inviting. The living space is artistically well thought out, right down to the colours and the carpeting on the stairs. Every room has its own unique personality. Even the bathrooms are outfitted with environmentally friendly bath items. The bed was so comfortable that my husband wanted me to ask Marie-Louise and Johannes where they purchased the mattress from.

Location is everything. There are so many tourist attractions nearby, such as the Burnaby Village Museum, Deer Lake and Burnaby Lake. The library at Haddon House offers use of a computer, fax machine, maps, coupon books, ideas for sight-seeing excursions in Vancouver, Burnaby, and even in the Fraser Valley. This is another testament as to how helpful and thoughtful Marie-Louise and Johannes are. Haddon House is only about 20-30 minutes from Vancouver, which makes it an easy drive to places such as the Harbour Cruise, Revolving Restaurant, Aquarium, Art Gallery and so much more.

We were extremely impressed with breakfast! WOW!!!! I don't think I have ever experienced such a beautiful and tasty array of food. Johannes you are indeed a chef de cuisine of fine dining! We felt like nobility as we sat at our courtly banquet! What was presented as breakfast was indeed fit for kings and queens. A gourmet displaying equal mastery of the culinary arts and nutrition. Johannes, you are a highly creative individual.

I would definitely highly recommend this B&B. It is a perfect get-away!

Thank you very much Johannes & Marie-Louise!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Thanks to our host , our stay at Haddon House went far beyond our expectations. I would reccommend this as the place to stay in Burnaby. Thank you Jahannes.
Maureen and Wade

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyAcres_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Haddon House is the perfect escape from a busy world. Located in a quiet neighborhood, and close to a lake with peaceful hiking trails you might not know you're in a busy suburb of Vancouver. The house itself is elegantly decorated and comfortable. From the moment you walk through the door, you are made to feel like a returning friend by the gracious and and welcoming owner, Johannes. In fact all of the other guests were repeat visitors, which is always a good sign. Johannes' enthusiasm and friendliness is contagious and we soon found ourselves sharing stories and laughing out loud. Duchess the dog also welcomed us with a wagging tail and a belly to be rubbed. She's the perfect b&b dog: very well behaved and willing to let you pass if you're not the dog type. But that belly and wagging tail would make a dog convert out of anyone! Breakfast was an outstanding gourmet treat with a wide range of fresh, delicious and perfectly prepared foods. These were the best breakfasts of any b&b we've stayed at. In summary, Haddon House is exemplary in every way. A lovely place to stay made extra special by the warm welcome you'll receive from the owners and of course, Duchess the dog!

Room Tip: The Deerholme Suite has a bathroom down the hall, but since all the other rooms have en-suite facili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n1gels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Wow!
We've stayed at many B&B's over the years, and the Haddon House is by far the BEST experience we've ever had in terms of value, service, amenities, comfort, and attention to detail.
Johannes and Marie-Louise have gone the extra mile to ensure high-quality beds/pillows and linens, along with environmentally-friendly bathroom products. Their food selections are nutritious and generous, and the presentation and taste of their breakfasts left us savouring the possibilities for the next morning! They provide the perfect mix of privacy and seclusion with friendliness, helpfulness, and humour. Their home is equipped with anything you might need- 2 libraries with books/travel info/maps, complimentary snacks and beverages, computer access, and much more. They even have bikes available for you to visit the nearby beautiful Deer Lake Park!
We could not have been more thrilled with our stay, and now are looking for reasons to come back to Burnaby. Thank you so much for taking such wonderful care of us. It is clear you love what you do, and have put incredible thought into what you offer others.
Warmly, Rahul and Kim

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderfully set-up, and have unique features. The website describes the rooms very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We travel to the coast annually and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. This property is outstanding, not only for the extensive and loving restoration that went into the home, but the proximity to everything is perfect - so central to everything! The rooms are spotless and the breakfasts that our gracious host Johannes conjures up are sumptuous and served in a gorgeous dining room. Our hosts were very accommodating with our check-in and check-out times and happily made dining recommendations for us which we thoroughly enjoyed. Thank you for treating us as friends, we will be back again and again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClasseeLadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnaby
Maywood
Element Vancouver Metrotown
Willingdon Heights
Executive Suites Hotel Burnaby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Happy Day Inn Hotel
#8 of 10 in Burnaby
133 reviews
Maywood
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haddon House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haddon House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Haddon House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 5558 Buckingham Ave, Burnaby, British Columbia V5E 2A1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Burnaby
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Burnaby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Haddon House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps to Deer Lake Park and 20 minutes to downtown Vancouver. Historical stately residence completely renovated and located in a prestigious and private Metro Vancouver neighbourhood of million dollar homes. Pillow-top beds, in-floor bathroom heating, gourmet breakfasts, complimentary business centre (WiFi, laptop, printer,phone) and refreshments. Ample free on-site parking. Canoeing, lakefront walking trails, museums, live performances, and fine dining within walking distance. B.C.'s largest shopping mall (Metropolis at Metrotown) within a 7 minute drive. Easy access to Trans-Canada Highway 1 as well as bus/Skytrain stations. Minimum two night stay required during high season. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing