We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic breakfast and fantastic hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burnaby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Haddon House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 9 Burnaby B&B and Inns
Pemberton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic breakfast and fantastic hosts”
Reviewed 6 September 2009

We stayed for one night to make our Metrotown shopping trip more worthwhile.

The location was easy to find down a quiet leafy street and the accommodation was very plush and comfortable. The hosts could not be more welcoming or accommodating and the breakfast was unbelievable!

We had dinner at the Hart House restaurant, a short walk from the B&B, and had a wonderful meal.

All in all a fabulous stay which I would highly recommend as we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marge1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
30
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portola Valley
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2009

When we stayed at the Haddon House and were welcomed as if we had been family for years. It was our first "stay." Our room was so comfortable and we enjoyed the backyard daily. My daily run was 2 blocks away that took me along the most beautiful lake with a perfect running loop. Our breakfast was something out of Martha Stewart! We cannot sing enough praises for our new friends that own the Haddon House....a job well done

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janetdds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pleasanton
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2009

The home is beautiful and roomy. The food is a true delight. The bedrooms are perfect with great bed linens. The gardens are warm and inviting. The best part was how the owners made you feel so at home. It was very hard to leave!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommylucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2009

We could not have asked for a better experience for our stay in Vancouver.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afdfog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edmonton
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2009

We recently stayed at Haddon House with my Mother,sister and teenage son. My son was involved in a tournament at the Simon Frasier Uni and so I found the B & B on the internet as it stated it was near SFU. I was reluctant to stay in Burnaby as I thought it would be to out of the way for sightseeing while my son was at the SFU but were we ever wrong. This location is perfect as it is so easily accessilbe to HWY 1 and other main thouroughfares to get you to all the sites so much quicker than had we had stayed in the heart of Vancouver as we were able to bypass all the downtown streets.
The house is in a elegant neighbourhood to reflect how beautiful the Haddon House is. So comfortable were the beds and the use of the outside deck was such a bonus as well having access to the main floor which was so comfortable and gorgeous.

As for Johannes he is the real deal and a fantastic host and chef. Breakfast was outstanding. They went over and beyond when he made a lunch for my son for the 2 days we were there!!! And my son loved it!!
And Marie-Louise is so genuine!! WE loved our stay and will be back for sure and tell all our friends to stay there when visiting Vancouver.
Jane deVries

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janiegonewild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Nova Scotia
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2009

Recently, my husband and I booked a two-night stay at Haddon House B & B in Burnaby, BC and ended up staying for five! Haddon House is a beautiful historic B & B property nestled in a quiet neighborhood with a nice walking trail and lake close by. The breakfasts prepared and served every morning by Johannes were second to none...delicious, healthy, plenty of choice and beautifully presented. We felt like royalty every morning! Both Johannes and Marie-Louise are warm, engaging hosts with a unique sense of knowing what their guests need before they do. No detail was missed in making our stay in B.C a memorable one. Would we recommend staying at Haddon House? Absolutely!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kare59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, SK
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2009

Th Haddon House B&B was one of the finest that I have ever had the privilege of staying at. I was in Burnaby on business, examining piano candidates for the Royal Conservatory of Music, and Johnannes picked me up from and returned me to the airport, drove me to and from my daily examining route, and they also provided suppers, for which I was extremely grateful. To be so well accomodated was amazing to behold, and I felt totally looked after and completely 'part of the family' with Marie-Louise and Johannes.

The Haddon House is located on a quiet street in Burnaby (Buckingham), and it has three lovely guest rooms. I stayed in the Avalon Suite, and it was perfect for my needs, with computer accessability, and they provided me with a table to do my bookwork on.

The breakfasts were sumptuos creations, as Johannes studied as a caterer in Switzerland, and the table was always resplendent with fine cutlery, fabric napkins, heated plates (something totally new to me!), and an array of fruit, juice, muffins and croissants. I was even encouraged to take fruit or anything else along as my morning snack, which was very much appreciated, as my day was long!

Their dog was also marvelously well-behaved, and very friendly without being intrusive or 'jumping up', which surprised me, having dogs myself.

I would strongly reccommend this fabulous experience to anyone wanting 'a home away from home, only better!'

I hope to return there the next time my travels take me to Burnaby!
Thank you again so much!

  • Liked — Everything...particularly the hospitality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelling-pianist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnaby
Maywood
Element Vancouver Metrotown
Maywood
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Willingdon Heights
Executive Suites Hotel Burnaby
Happy Day Inn Hotel
#8 of 10 in Burnaby
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haddon House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haddon House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Haddon House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 5558 Buckingham Ave, Burnaby, British Columbia V5E 2A1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Burnaby
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Burnaby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Haddon House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps to Deer Lake Park and 20 minutes to downtown Vancouver. Historical stately residence completely renovated and located in a prestigious and private Metro Vancouver neighbourhood of million dollar homes. Pillow-top beds, in-floor bathroom heating, gourmet breakfasts, complimentary business centre (WiFi, laptop, printer,phone) and refreshments. Ample free on-site parking. Canoeing, lakefront walking trails, museums, live performances, and fine dining within walking distance. B.C.'s largest shopping mall (Metropolis at Metrotown) within a 7 minute drive. Easy access to Trans-Canada Highway 1 as well as bus/Skytrain stations. Minimum two night stay required during high season. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing