We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B we've stayed at”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burnaby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Haddon House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 9 Burnaby B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Best B&B we've stayed at”
Reviewed 16 December 2010

Wonderful heritage house, great rooms, even better service. Wonderful breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fastuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
30
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2010

What a friendly atmosphpere at Haddon House - Both Johannes and his wife are most friendly - oops not forgetting their dog "Duchess".
We spent a week at Haddon House and were treat like royalty. The breakfast was of a very high quality each day and never a respeat menu. Johannes was able to accomodate a gluten intolerance - which we all enjoyed.
We were visiting family in Vancouver and they all saw the acommodation. THet have already recommended the B&B to local freinds.
Thankyou Johannes and Marie-Louise or a wonderful stay!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balkanelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2010

We found at this B&B everything we were looking for, a warm welcome, a good breakfast and a peaceful location. Johannes is Swiss and so we are and it was great to talk with him everaday and share experiences and learn a lot about Vancouver and Canada. The first day we arrived we had a long chat around a good cup of tea and some muffins. The breakfast in the morning is tremendous, no need to have lunch anymore. Moreover, if you like pets you can spend some time with Touch (his dog).

This kind of experience is what it makes worth going to a B&B. Many B&Bs in Canada are simply hotels, what makes the difference is the owners and the human contact with their guests. Johannes is definitely the nicest person we met during our stay in Canada.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bisounours07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell River, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

Haddon House is located in Central Vancouver, easy to find with directions. Johannes & Marie Louise are wonderful hosts. We were pleasantly greeted by Johannes and shown to our tastefully decorated room which was on the upper floor of the home. There is a common area for the rooms with a wonderful library, computer for guest use, small fridge and facilities to make a hot drink. Some refreshments are provided. A full breakfast was served in the dining room, enabling us to converse with other guests. In the morning we met Marie Louise before she left for work. We are pretty particular where we stay and we look forward to a return visit to Hadden House.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifebythesea44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

I could hardly believe anyplace could have 21 reviews and 20 of them were marked
"excellent" by our friends on TA. But, we went, and, once again, TA is correct. This place is an absolute gem of a find.
First of all, our stay was a little different because we took aver the entire B&B. My wife and I, her daughter and spouse from London, Ontario, and her other daughter and spouse from New Zealand took all three rooms for 3 nights in August 2010.
Even though it was unseasonably hot for Vancouver there was a large, quiet, window air conditioner in each bedroom which made sleeping very comfortable.
Since we had taken the entire B&B we hardly saw our hosts; they were on premise in their quarters in the lower level and available immediately if needed, but did not disturb us otherwise, which is what we wanted.
This is, as others have noted, a wonderful house from the 1920's which has been completely updated. All the furnishings, appliances, lines, etc. are high quality, along with the lovely grounds. There are 3 bedrooms and a library on the upper level, a kitchen, dining room, foyer, and living room and powder room available to guests on the ground level, and the owners have quarters on the lower level, where a laundry room is also available for guest use. The kitchen opens onto a nice wooden deck overlooking the grounds and has a table for outdoor dining.
The kitchen was fully equipped with a gas stove, full sized fridge, microwave, and warmer oven as well as all necessary small appliances.
Each bedroom had its own bath, all nicely appointed with ceramic tile and glass shower enclosures. Liquid soap is supplied, but if you like bar soap bring your own.
We attended a wedding and reception at nearby Deer Lake Park and the Hart House Restaurant, and this has to be the perfect location! We walked to the wedding in about 10 minutes and did not worry about driving, parking, etc. The large suite would be the perfect place for a bride and groom to retire after being married and having the reception at Hart House.
Wi-fi is available in the entire house, along with the use of a computer and printer in the upstairs library, which also contains a mini-kitchen with fridge stocked with pop and a microwave as well as an iron and ironing board.
Off street parking is available, although you are on a dead end street with virtually no traffic, yet close to the Trans-Canada highway.
I would highly recommend this establishment to anyone looking for a friendly luxury B&B in the Vancouver area.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WindsorTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2010

My wife and I stayed here and found the experience to be wonderful. The home is absolutely beautiful. It is appointed with nice furnishings and is in a nice neighborhood. As for the proprietors; you could not ask for anyone to be more congenial. We had wonderful conversation with fellow guests while enjoying a wonderful breakfast. We would heartily recommend the Haddon House to anyone visiting Vancouver.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PortlandHawksFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2010

The hotels were booked so I decided to give this B&B a try. I usually prefer a good luxury hotel over a B&B. Of course that has changed since my stay at the Haddon House.
I found the home very charming, yet modern and comfortable. My room was large and very tastefully decorated. There was a very comfortable bed, flat panel TV and wireless internet for keeping in touch with the office. Great views of the mountains or of the very quiet neighborhood with its beautiful homes surrounded by mature trees.
The best of all was the warmth and care of the home owners. Breakfasts are a culinary delight; truely superb! I love to cook and I must say the owner would do well to open a school. I learned a great deal from him and my wife has remarked on how much I have improved in the kitchen after my trip to Vancouver.
My stay was for only three nights and each day I enjoyed the Haddon House even more. I highly recommend it for anyone going to Vancouver.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacklarkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burnaby hotels
Maywood
Element Vancouver Metrotown
Willingdon Heights
Executive Suites Hotel Burnaby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Maywood
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown
Happy Day Inn Hotel
#8 of 10 in Burnaby
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haddon House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haddon House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Haddon House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 5558 Buckingham Ave, Burnaby, British Columbia V5E 2A1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Burnaby
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Burnaby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Haddon House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps to Deer Lake Park and 20 minutes to downtown Vancouver. Historical stately residence completely renovated and located in a prestigious and private Metro Vancouver neighbourhood of million dollar homes. Pillow-top beds, in-floor bathroom heating, gourmet breakfasts, complimentary business centre (WiFi, laptop, printer,phone) and refreshments. Ample free on-site parking. Canoeing, lakefront walking trails, museums, live performances, and fine dining within walking distance. B.C.'s largest shopping mall (Metropolis at Metrotown) within a 7 minute drive. Easy access to Trans-Canada Highway 1 as well as bus/Skytrain stations. Minimum two night stay required during high season. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing