We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wheelchair Basketball Camp”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burnaby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lodge @ Fortius
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Excellent facility and staff. Everything was fantastic. The facility is completely accessible and we had everything we needed under one roof for a fantastic camp. The only problem we had was the lack of air conditioning and air circulation in the lodge rooms and meeting room. Food was excellent, good variety, well prepared and delicious!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyla F, Manager at The Lodge @ Fortius, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Marni A,

Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback based on your most recent experience at our facility. I will ensure to forward your positive comments around the food to our catering services manager. Regarding the air conditioning, we are pleased to provide fans in our rooms but understand they can be hot in the summer months. Our team has identified that as an area of improvement for the future.

We're happy to hear that our facility had a high level of accessibility and look forward to welcoming you and the BC Wheelchair Basketball Team back in the near future!

Best regards,

Tyla Flexman
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

This was a great location for our tournament. The facilities are beautiful and state of the art gyms and equipment. There is even a starbucks in the lobby. All the staff were great and everyone is helpful and friendly. Great accomodation as well. I have only great things to say about this facility!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Maralyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Fortius was a great venue for then Canadian Netball Championships this year. It was so convenient to have the accommodations and the tournament at the same location. The rooms at the Lodge were clean and comfortable. The staff was helpful and accommodating. I also enjoyed the Starbucks on the premises. Fortius is a first class facility for training and competing. I would definitely recommend the Lodge and the Fortius Training Facility.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jessie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Fortius is a fantastic facility! It is an athlete's dream. The rooms are very clean. The bathtub is ideal for ice baths and there is an industrial sized ice machine on each floor. The gym is fantastic and the training centre contains everything an athlete needs to maximize their performance. Overall, it was a great experience!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SLTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Fantastic location, incredibly clean, polite as well as helpful staff at the Fortius. In staying there for a weekend I had absolutely no trouble finding my way around and having every need met. It was a great experience and I would advise any prospective athletic events to be held in this facility!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lilbinns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyla F, Manager at The Lodge @ Fortius, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear lilbinns,

Thank you so much for posting a review on TripAdvisor with respect to your most recent stay at our facility! Your feedback is very much appreciated and we are absolutely thrilled to hear that your stay was enjoyable and your Netball event a success.

We look forward to serving you again in the very near future!

Best regards,

Tyla Flexman
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

It was a fantastic place for athletes! Global Relay put up a few cycling teams for BC Superweek. It was great to be located in the city without the loud traffic noises. The facility has many great services and the gyms and fields are great. Speedy service in the rooms with fresh sheets and towels.
There is a Starbucks and Pharmasave are conveniently located in the lobby!

Thank you for the wonderful experience. I enjoyed watching football (that's soccer to us Westerners) matches and practices throughout the week too.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Located in the heart of Burnaby, lies an athlete's paradise. As soon as you enter the doors of Fortius, you are amazed with what this facility has to offer. The atrium consists of everything an elite athlete needs: a pharmacy, an athletic store, a sport medicine store, and refreshments. Pharmasave has everything from the basics needs to pharmacists. FitFirst Footwear has all the latest in athlete shoes and clothing from top selling brand names. Sportmed has a wide variety products including braces, first aid supplies, and rehabilitation equipment. Finally, you have two options for food: Starbucks or the Game Changers Bistro. The bistro is affordable with a menu filled with healthy options.

The accommodations are better than staying at a hotel. The rooms were not only physically clean, but they also had a clean scent to them. The double beds were comfortable with fresh, white sheets. The washroom had a large tub that could be used for ice baths (industrial ice machine on each floor). The cleaners were nice enough to offer extra towels because they knew that we were taking ice baths.

During our stay, we were given complimentary access to the training centre. The two-storey weight room was very spacious and had all the equipment that one could dream of. There are trainers that walk around the gym who are willing to give guidance on your workout program. The staff are very friendly and they always greet you when you walk through the doors. The gym had sweat towels to use during your workout and everything needed to shower afterwards (soap, shampoo, conditioner, and a towel).

The staff at Fortius were amazing during our long weekend tournament. They responded quickly to every request we had, no matter how small or large it was. This was the most successful Netball Canada National Championship ever hosted in BC and I would say that this was due to the facility and it's staff.

I would definitely recommend this facility for travelling teams, athletes, and/or coaches because it has everything you need under one roof.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MichelleL1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burnaby hotels
Willingdon Heights
Executive Suites Hotel Burnaby
Maywood
Element Vancouver Metrotown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Accent Inn Burnaby
#3 of 10 in Burnaby
467 reviews
Maywood
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge @ Fortius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge @ Fortius

Address: 3713 Kensington Avenue, Burnaby, British Columbia V5B 0A7, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Burnaby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Burnaby
Price Range: £44 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge @ Fortius is designed with sports teams and training camps in mind. It provides comfortable accommodation with easy access to training, conference, sport medicine, rehabilitation and sport science facilities and the opportunity to engage directly with our experienced team of practitioners. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing