We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh fish & good choice”

Cockney Kings Fish & Chips
Ranked #2 of 599 Restaurants in Burnaby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$15
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fresh fish & good choice”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We often go here for good quality fish & chips. Love the fact that there are different size portions & many types of fish to choose from.
However they ONLY sell fish & chips. I realise it is a fish & chip shop but in most fish & chip shops in England there is a non fish option. I always feel for my eldest daughter who doesn't eat fish on the occasions we eat in as she just has a plate of chips! Due to this we tend to use the take out menu.
Brilliant fast service, friendly staff. If you love fish & chips this is the place to go!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank WestCoastRed8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    81
    18
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Sexsmith
Level Contributor
119 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent !”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Every time we travel to Vancouver we try and stop for a good feed of seafood.

Being from alberta we miss out on the fresh seafood.
The service is great and I about burst eating fish, oysters and fresh fries, wow

I would recommend this place to everyone!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Used to be Better”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I have been to Cockney King's many times over the years and have enjoyed it. This last visit, after not going for a while was disappointing. They used to have cod and halibut as their fish and they were great, but they have added a haddock. I thought I would give that a go. Not so good. It was mushy. The fries also weren't as good as I remember.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kershal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory D, Guest Relations Manager at Cockney Kings Fish & Chips, responded to this review, 17 June 2015
Hi Kershal,

Thanks kindly for your review. Firstly, apologies that it's taken us a bit of time to respond. Secondly, our apologies that we didn't hit a home run for you this time around. We did indeed add Haddock to the menu, as we we've had customers asking for the addition for some time! We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy it as much as you do our Cod and Halibut. We certainly do hope you'll give us another go in the future. We promise, the Cod and Halibut will be as delicious as you remember them being!

All the best,

-CK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Grilled Salmon”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Grilled salmon, a crisp salad, and coleslaw works for me! And a nice bun with butter. True happiness for someone who won't eat anything battered and deep fried! Also nice ambience and friendly staff.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RunningViolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best Fish & Chips in town”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

By far the best Fish & Chips I have had, ever. You can taste the butter in the batter. Well done! My recommendation: share a plate... It's large enough to feed two.

Helpful?
1 Thank AKIB_WorldTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cockney Kings Fish & Chips also viewed

Burnaby, British Columbia
Burnaby, British Columbia
 
Burnaby, British Columbia
Burnaby, British Columbia
 

Been to Cockney Kings Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing