We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the most consistently excellent restaurant in Metro Vancouver”

The Pear Tree Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 601 Restaurants in Burnaby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$60
Cuisines: French, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Willingdon Heights
Cannon Beach, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Possibly the most consistently excellent restaurant in Metro Vancouver”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Have been here many times over the years, but not for a long time. So pleased to see the owner's smile as I arrived, and equally pleased to see that the menu still includes favourites like lamb shank and creme brûlée. The pea shoots served as veg haven't changed either - love them!
Our family enjoyed their choices of trout and ribs too. All items are uniquely prepared and presented with bones removed. The husband chef and wife host continue to excel in food and service. Will be back!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    32
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a wonderful surprise!”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We decided to use one of our Groupons and try The Pear Tree, which had some quite good reviews. In my experience, restaurant Groupons, especially for the 'fine dining' establishments, do not turn out well (for example, our Groupon at C Restaurant in Vancouver). However, this experience was amazing! We had the Canadian 5-course tasting menu, and opted to spend $35 each extra for the wine pairings. The whole meal was superb, well-paced and well-served. Of special note was the carrot and Quebec brie foam to start, the trout, and the Canadian grains salad. However, every course was well-thought-out and beautifully (not pretentiously) presented. Service was excellent - professional and personal at the same time. The staff's delight in the food was obvious.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank annadev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A restaurant gem in Burnaby”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Celebrating a special occasion with my niece, The Pear Tree was the right place to go. A lovely contemporary decor set the stage, knowledgable and pleasant staff waited on our table, and the food was beautifully prepared, delicious and served in a very timely manner. A creative menu, with delightful unexpected "pear" touches! Free parking around the corner.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Smythlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best meal in Vancouver”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

From the outside this looks like an unprepossessing restaurant in Burnaby, part of metropolitan Vancouver. However once you are inside the decor is high quality modern. The best part is however the food. The menu is short and the better for that. The food we had was faultless both in taste and presentation. I had the tomato soup followed by the beef and the chocolate ganache. The rosti that came with the beef were a delight. My son and daughter-in-law also raved about the meal. For wine lovers that list is extensive and one of the biggest I have ever seen. As an added bonus the whole atmosphere was quiet and relaxed. Unlike all the other 'top' restaurants I have been to in Vancouver where you have difficulty hearing yourself think and certainly are unable to hear any of your companions. For the quality of the food the bill is very reasonable- I paid Can$257 = £145 for three full meals with drinks and a Can$60 Rioja.
You just have to get yourself away from downtown

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeFase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“blown away by the Pear Tree”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

after reading great reviews (especially from 'where chefs eat') I had high hopes for The Pear Tree
the experience far exceeded my expectations, from the phone call regarding our booking from Scott to a delightful greeting and sublime pear cocktail on arrival
started with the outstanding prawn cappuccino, then the most amazing beef tenderloin followed by poached pears with lavender ice cream
service had the right balance, with excellent wine recommendations for each course - so happy this restaurant is close to my neighbourhood

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnmoreRV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pear Tree Restaurant also viewed

Burnaby, British Columbia
Burnaby, British Columbia
 
Burnaby, British Columbia
Port Moody, British Columbia
 
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to The Pear Tree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing