We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem in Burnaby”

Minoas Greek Taverna
Ranked #37 of 599 Restaurants in Burnaby
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Toronto
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Burnaby”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Great decor and orginality.
Portions are enough for 2 people and the food is delicious!!!
Just say...a hidden gem and place to eat, enjoy and take people.

Looking forward to going again.

Nothing negative to say other then you have to make sure you keep eyes open for their sign and enter a tranquil and great eating atmosphere and environment.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank HandsomeDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    16
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Real Greek Food”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Enjoyed the authentic feel of the restaurant. The roast lamb was perfect, just the way it should be cooked, nice roast on the outside and juicy eat with a fork on the inside...lots too! We had a groupon for a set menu and thought it would be just ok. But they served very well and the food was delicious. I was very happy with the service and found it to be super friendly. I have been to a few places with the groupon and found it to be uncomfortable or small portions. This was not the case here.....they have made me a customer from now on. I can't wait to go back...good wine, good food and with a smile.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jgjptravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A most pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We bought a groupon for this restaurant out of curiosity, This taverna is a very short distance from our home, but not so visible from the Kingsway. The evening we were there, during the week, it was not too busy, and we really took our time, arriving at 19:30 and leaving about 22:30.
The atmosphere is excellent, and they should not modernize as someone recommended in a previous post. If you have ever been to the tavernas in Greece, then this is it. We selected a lamb platter which turned out to be one of the most succulent we have ever enjoyed. All the sides on that platter - and there were lots of them - were nice, fresh, and crispy. My wife went through the calamari, I favoured the pasticcio, and there were a few left. So much superb food that we took home a doggy bag and had enough left for a great dinner a couple of days later.
Service was by the owner, a delightful lady who is very interested in your comfort and satisfaction with the food and the environment. Wine prices were surprisingly affordable as compared to other restaurants in the Greater Vancouver area.
We will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Connnaisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richmond, bc
Level Contributor
216 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Not bad for Greek food”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This is a old heritage building which turned into a restaurant. It's kinda cozy atmosphere. Food is ok. Service is ok. Lunch menus are ok ($10 for the specials).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank solaris_pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Excellent food. Service...”
Reviewed 31 January 2008

Excellent food. Service can be slow but very friendly people. Roasted lamb is great!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Minoas Greek Taverna also viewed

Burnaby, British Columbia
Burnaby, British Columbia
 
Burnaby, British Columbia
Burnaby, British Columbia
 

Been to Minoas Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing