We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian Food - buffet - great”

Saffron Indian Cuisine
Ranked #14 of 601 Restaurants in Burnaby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Maywood
Coquitlam, BC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Indian Food - buffet - great”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Saffon doesn't quite qualify as a 'hole in the wall' restaurant but it is small and nice. The food was great; lunch buffet was well stocked during peak time and even near the end of the afternoon. Be prepared to wait if you go right at lunch during the week because the lineups are out the door. I'm happy to drive 30 minutes to enjoy this food even though there are many such restaurants closer to home.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    54
    21
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful little establishment”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We ate here our first night in Vancouver. We love Indian food and were surprised at the variety on the evening buffet. Service was very good, price was what was expected in Canada. Restaurant was very warm and stuffy, may have been a 5-star review except for the climate. It was walking distance from our hotel, which is what we wanted.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mbv9415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
980 reviews
399 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
“Great lunch stop”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I've eaten here at least 7 times in the past 5 years, most recently April 2014, and the food is always good. Including tax is under $14 per person for lunch buffet. Lot of choices - everything fresh and tasty. Nice hot, fresh naan bread is brought to your table. Pleasant service and atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Mostly watered down Indian Food !”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I used to be a big fan of this place around 3-4 years ago when they actually served authentic Indian food. When I say authentic I don't mean that one has to put a pot full of chillies and spices but still the food was moderately spiced and still tasted Indian.
Off late I have been here twice or thrice in the last 2 years hoping that I may get the same familiar taste but much to my dismay the taste has watered down big time. The buffet lunch could still be considered a fairly good deal hence rating this as average, otherwise if you're a fan of Indian Cuisine you may not like the taste so much.
Also while choosing the Buffet option, please take the serving of Tandoori Chicken while you can as mostly I have noticed they don't replenish it often and you may end up eating your dessert by the time it get's refilled again, so make merry while it lasts ;)
In a nutshell what used to be a tasty food experience has become a rather average affair, go for the buffet and hope you might find 2-3 items genuinely tasty. You may also consider take out options wherein you can select 2 items of your choice from Buffet with 1 piece of Naan and Veg Biryani - for $8.5 !

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aprajitp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very good butter chicken”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Great location and parking nearby. Vegetarian dishes varied and tasty. Typical Indian atmosphere with friendly and helpful staff.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Glen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saffron Indian Cuisine also viewed

Burnaby, British Columbia
Burnaby, British Columbia
 
Burnaby, British Columbia
Burnaby, British Columbia
 

Been to Saffron Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing