We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced, poor insulation, poor breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Strathmore Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Strathmore
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overpriced, poor insulation, poor breakfast”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Firstly..the staff are excellent and the rooms are clean. Bad part....you can hear the adjoining rooms as if there were no walls seperating you from each other, plugs don't work in the tubs and the breakfast choice is lacking. If you like pancakes, toast, yoghurt, boiled egg and watered down orange juice then this is the place for you. The toaster is from the local stores and so slow. There is not enough seating area and people were having to share tables. There is also a line up of people waiting to get breakfast. One guy only working the front desk and having to cover the breakfast room. I have stayed in top name hotels for the same money and they are far better value. At least in those you can get a full breakfast.

Room Tip: Stay in your vehicle for another 35 mins and stay in Calgary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VFR1200V4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    63
    19
    9
    6
See reviews for
57
50
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel is easy to get to, check in was quick and courteous. The room was simply acquainted and clean.
The bed was comfortable but not a queen bed as booked, 54" wide is a double bed in my books. The room was quiet and comfortable. The pool was clean, salt chlorine was easy on the eyes. Hot tub was very hot, at least 104 F.
Breakfast was simple and adequate. Overall I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delmasboy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

My husband and I were travelling from Stettler on our way to Strathmore, Alberta. Best Western is very reasonable, clean and a great location. Friendly staff. Breakfast is from 5 am to 9am yet in the book in our room it said 6 am to 10 am, so when I went to the kitchen at 9:45 am, everything was put away, so I went to the front desk to ask about breakfast, the gentlemen told me the hours and when I told him that is not what it says in the binder in our room, he said oh I guess we need to update those binders so he went into the kitchen and offered me muffins and danishes and offered me other items as well. He showed great customer service, sorry did not get his name but he had an accent. We will be back next year.

Room Tip: Comfy beds and very clean and friendly staff and great rates for us seniors. Will be back next year...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is my second stay at Best Western Strathmore. Each time we come as a group and rent multiple rooms. The rooms are clean, beds are comfortable and the staff are friendly and helpful. The included breakfast is a nice start for the day. After a long day in the fields, the rooms and amenities are a great way to get refreshed for the next day. Rooms are air conditioned.

Room Tip: If you ride a motorcycle, ask for a room on the ground floor as you can park right outside your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponoka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our first room had a smoke odor but we were moved to a better room. Then the tv would not work. The staff were very helpful and tried to fix things. It is not a good hotel for people with mobility issues as it is on a hill. The breakfast is limited if you are gluten free. No hot items. Very good price and our stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Randy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eagle hill, ab
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

great staff! much better than staying in Calgary. very amenable to putting us where we wanted to be. didn't hear any noises through the night. the toilet ran a bit, but the room was clean and functional. I recommend the suite with two queens for a family with small kids; you can put them to bed and enjoy an evening in the living area.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank bejoicing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consort, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Very nice hotel, we have stayed at quite a few times. The only downfall is when you are trying to check out in the morning but the girl is busy with the breakfast area. There should be someone else looking after the breakfast. Hope Best Western changes that.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathmore
0.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Strathmore
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Strathmore
Travelodge Strathmore
#2 of 5 in Strathmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Wheat Land Hotel
#5 of 5 in Strathmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chestermere Hotel
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Strathmore
Super 8 Strathmore
#4 of 5 in Strathmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rocking R Guest Ranch
Rocking R Guest Ranch
#1 of 4 in Strathmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Strathmore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Strathmore Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Strathmore Inn
Address: 550 Highway 1, Strathmore, Alberta T1P 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Strathmore
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Strathmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Strathmore Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently renovated 3 Star AAA and Canada Star Quality hotel is located right on Highway #1 enroute to Calgary and is a great choice for the traveler who wants comfort and amenities at an affordable price. We are committed to environmental protection. Check-in to superior fiscal and environmental performance.All rooms have Wi-Fi, Microwave, Mini Fridge, Working Desk with Ergonomic Chair or seating area, some suites, HD Cable TV, Air/Heat Control, Iron & Ironing Board, and your choice of a Traditional Single Pillow-Top Comfort Support Bed or the Classic Double Pillow-Top Comfort Support Bed Room, plus start your day right with a Deluxe Continental Breakfast. Our Business Centre includes a Guest Computer & Printer, and the hotel also offers an Exercise Room, Pool and Hot Tub, Guest Laundry, Vending & Ice Machines, plus "I Forgot" items at the Front Desk.We are 100% Non-Smoking and offer Pet Free Floors. Pets are welcome on the first floor only, charges apply. Ask our friendly staff how you may earn rewards while you enjoy your sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Strathmore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Strathmore Inn Canada - Alberta
Strathmore Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing