We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Rockin Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rocking R Guest Ranch
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“A Rockin Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

I was looking for a girl's getaway close to my home in Calgary and found the Rockin R Ranch. It was amazing! The cabin was so clean and cozy with every amenity one could possibly imagine. We overlooked a beautiful pasture and could see Eagle lake in the background. Our Saturday started with a relaxing massage and then out for a horseback ride. At the end of a wonderful day the hot tub under a star lit sky was the just the icing on the cake. I would highly recommend Rockin R to anybody, especially those Calgarians looking for a close, convenient and wonderful experience.
Deirdre

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockingr, Owner at Rocking R Guest Ranch, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Thank you for selecting the Rocking R Guest Ranch for your "Girl's Getaway." Hope to see you back at the ranch real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
70
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Strathmore, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

Rarely do you discover a gem like this so close to home. We bought our 2-night stay at a charity auction, not even sure where it was. My wife and I decided to get a quiet weekend away from the kids and were delighted. We elected to have dinner served Friday night and were treated to a fantastic home-prepared dinner with some great wine and dessert. Our cabin was spotlessly clean, very well appointed, and absolutely quiet. The view of the mountains in the morning was spectacular, as was breakfast - both days. We felt total solitude mixed with perfectly timed service. We've had some great getaways, but none as relaxing as this. We'll be doing this again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockingr, Owner at Rocking R Guest Ranch, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
It is nice to find a quiet spot to unwind without having to travel to far from home. As we say at the ranch....Only the Feeling is Far Away! Hope to see you again! Thanks for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

My husband and I had a very relaxing weekend at the Rocking R's Hitch n' Post cabin. It is the perfect size for a cosy time. The view of the mountains was a treat and changed constantly as the days progressed. We Barbecued steaks Friday night and found everything we needed including wineglasses, candles, and a welcoming snack package. Terri arrived each morning to serve us a gourmet breakfast as we stayed in our provided robes and slippers in front of the fire. Trees were decked out in Christmas lights and were nice to arrive to from our Saturday evening at the Rosebud theatre. Terri took care of all the details and the seats were excellent. Service was second to none and cowboy shaped choclates were a real treat. We will definately be back with my sister in tow and try the other cabin next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockingr, Owner at Rocking R Guest Ranch, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
We would love to host your extended family at the ranch and are happy that you had a good time here. Thanks for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leduc, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Loved spending time at this ranch. Breakfasts were top quality. Hospitality was wonderful. Unbelievable view. Close to Rosebud Theatre so a nice evening out too. Can't wait to go back. Fall was a good time to go.
Dan and Chris

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

My husband and I had a very relaxing rejuvenating stay at the Hitch n’ Post Cabin. From our front window, the view was picture perfect. Eagle Lake served as the backdrop to horses galloping and grazing amidst the gentle snowfall. Though the weather kyboshed our plans of an outdoor week-end, we spent the days in front of a cozy wood-burning fireplace watching movies and just being – a welcome relaxation away from a busy life with two non- stop kids. Had the weather co-operated we would have taken advantage of the hot tub just outside our door and the fire pit around the corner. However, the woodpile outside our front door was fully stocked for our fireplace inside. Terri was even going to take us horse riding had it not started to snow. And she graciously gave us a bag for fresh straw to take back home for my husband to use for a Halloween costume. Eggs Benedict and French Toast were made to perfection – and delivered to our door with hot coffee, juice and a first course before that. Rosebud Dinner Theatre one night and a gourmet Italian dinner another night – both recommended by Terri – ensured a complete week-end away from the kitchen and fun engaging nights out. All this and only 60 minutes from our house. Perhaps next time we’ll bring the kids and stay at “The Bunkhouse” and avail ourselves again of Terri and Marvin’s hospitality. Rosemarie Scott - Calgary

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemarie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

My boyfriend and I spent two nights here over the Thanksgiving long weekend. We stayed in the Hitch and Post cabin. While its a small cabin, it is very well appointed. The decor is lovely and the whole cabin is very clean. We loved the fireplace and the BBQ. Terri served us breakfast in our cabin each morning and left us little treats each day. She also arranged for us to go horseback riding around the area. I wish there was a small sofa in this cabin, as sitting in the chairs for long periods (NFL games) was uncomfortable. But not everyone has a boyfriend who must see the NFL games on holidays!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingBrunette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Sitting on the deck less then an hour away from the chaos and noise of the city I live and work in and the only thing that is in my mind is how wonderful it is to have horses in my front yard. Six of them to be exact. And beyond them a sunset, reflected in a lake, that is beginning to develop into awesome proportions, splashing light onto horse hide in ways that could put humbleness into the heart of Charlie Russell himself. A beautiful setting, extremely fine accommodations and wonderful hosts in Terri and Marv. The riding was first rate too with excellently trained, responsive horses that will provide as much "horse power" as you are comfortable with. My thanks to Marv, Doc and the "Strawberry Roan" for one of the better rides I have been on. Marv, who is a true horseman, cowboy and pick up man for the Calgary Stampede Rodeo is also a terrific conversationalist; low key, down to earth and genuine. Terri is a gourmet cook - it took all of my adult will power to not lick clean the bowl one of her concoctions came in, and I regret that my inner kid lost out that time - It was a privilege to spend time with people like Terri and Marv who love the land they live on and who are generous enough to share its beauty with those of us who spend most of our days lost and fretting amongst metal, glass and concrete. Back briefly to that inner kid who didn't get to lick out the bowl, he did however have a blast everyday hand feeding apples (from Marv and Terri's trees) to Rosie and the rest of the herd who inhabited the "front yard". So to finish off, both the adult me and the little kid me left the Rock'n R rejuvenated, refreshed and looking forward to our next visit. See you there, partner...

Room Tip: Read pool as hot tub with a view of Eagle Lake and the Rockies. No bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strathmore hotels
0.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Strathmore
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Strathmore
Travelodge Strathmore
#2 of 5 in Strathmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Strathmore Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
No photo provided
Wheat Land Hotel
#5 of 5 in Strathmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sproule Heritage Bed & Breakfast
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Strathmore
Super 8 Strathmore
#4 of 5 in Strathmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocking R Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocking R Guest Ranch

Property: Rocking R Guest Ranch
Address: Box 45, Site 14 RR1, Strathmore, Alberta T1P 1J6, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Strathmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Strathmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rocking R Guest Ranch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short drive from Calgary you will find luxurious cabins atop a ridge with a view of Eagle Lake and the majestic Rocky Mountains. The Hitch n' Post is a cozy cabin for two and The Bunkhouse is perfect for a family getaway. Breakfast is included in the cost of your stay. We also offer spa services in the privacy of your cabin and Equestrian Adventures for all levels of riders. Minimum Night stay at the ranch is 2 nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rocking R Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocking R Guest Ranch Strathmore, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing