We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional Birthday Surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rocking R Guest Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rocking R Guest Ranch
Strathmore, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional Birthday Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

This has been a birthday to remember!!! - the view, breathtaking, the grounds, majestic (is this really the prairies?); the accommodation, 5 star, with every detail covered - right down to the fresh flowers in the bathroom! It is obvious that hosts Terri and Marvin have a passion for what they do and have created a little piece of heaven here on earth. The included breakfasts are "diamond fare" and with the well appointed kitchen and private barbecue it is possible to make your own gourmet meals. Don't want to cook? The Kinsmens can direct you to some nearby choices - ranging from fine dining, to dinner theatre, to casual eateries. You can walk or run along the newly restored canal for as many kilometres as you wish in the beautiful, tranquil countryside, relax on your own private deck and hot tub under a large willow sparkling with mini lights as you watch the sun set. You can even sit by an open fire in a setting that you'd swear was in the mountains! If you feel adventurous, sign up for riding lessons and go for a short ride or arrange a day trip to Kananaskis. Because I was pampering myself, I chose to book a therapeutic massage just steps away from my cabin door, which was professional and executed by a topnotch, registered therapist in a lovely room - a veritable oasis for the mind, body and soul:) I loved the entire experience and am leaving feeling refreshed, restored and very spoiled!!! The best part is it isn't far from home! I can't wait to come back to this first class bed and breakfast!! Priceless!!! - Dona K

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
70
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We are so happy to have found this amazing little gem tucked in the prairies! We never would have thought that we would find such a serene getaway so close to our home in Calgary. It is very apparent the Terri and Marvin have spared no expense in putting the finishing touches on the property; Beautiful modern cabins, a hot tub situated perfectly outside to look onto the prairie and mountain views and amazing landscaping surrounding the cabins.

Terri was the perfect host for our weekend. She provided great recommendations for activities in the area (including an amazing dinner theatre near by and a fruit winery that sells its products all over Alberta including in the local Co-op liquor stores). And the service was better than we have ever received at a bed/breakfast or even a hotel! 5 star quality food, complimentary snacks and celebratory champaign for our anniversary. No detail has been overlooked.

We would definitely recommend the Ranch and are looking forward to going back again!

Room Tip: The are two cabins: one bachelor style suite and the second is a two bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Amazing location, enchanting experience, and great hospitality. Perfect weekend getaway for a couples!! Really enjoyed the seclusion away from city life and the peaceful atmosphere. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lgschoem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

There wasn't one thing that was less than perfect, beautiful view, great clean room with fireplace and large washroom, comfy bed and the food was great. Terri is a great host who is super friendly and has done a lot of work making sure everything was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tgibbs15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

Great place, very clean and very nice, great attention to detail. Great to kick back and forget the world exists. Horseback riding is very nice and Marvin is great and very friendly. Terri will serve you a very nice breakfast in your cabin at the time of your choice. Doesn't get better than that. A must, even just for a weekend "get out of town" getaway.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicoCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

We were welcomed to our cabin with champagne and orange juice and every amenity imaginable. Every day was graced with a spectacular view to be enjoyed while dining on a personally delivered and outstanding 2 course breakfast starting with fresh fruit and followed by a different main course. they were pancakes (gluten free for me) and sausages, french toast and bacon, eggs Benedict, mmmmm so delicious (gluten free for me) and a personal skillet of cheese, ham and peppers omelette. Finished with a different chocolate every morning. (One set of chocolates were cowboy hat and cowboy boots)
Then, a stroll around the beautifully groomed property to plan our evening of horse back riding with Marv, relaxing in the hot tub, and sitting by the most beautiful alcove fire pit.
One night we had the 4 course meal. There has never been a meal like this in our life. Terri delivered Artichoke dip with warmed chips to our beautifully decorated table in our cabin. Did I mention our previously selected wine in a chilled clay cooler. Then the salad with 10 different vegetables and a miniature salad dressing carafe with our chosen dressing. Then came the perfect steak on separate lidded plated as well as three ceramic pots with roasted potatoes, steamed carrots with fresh dill, and baked beans. Also were cheese croissant buns and tiny butter plates. Then for dessert Terri brought chilled martini glasses filled with ice cream blended with raspberry dessert wine. Topped with a tiny raspberry pyramid and shaved chocolate. Served with a glass of the locally made raspberry wine. Unbelievable!!!
Every night we found that the bed had been turned down and pillows topped with a chocolate.
The cabin was gorgeous. Decorated both modern and western. Everything was perfect!!!
I could go on for pages. You just have to go!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rayneboese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

We just returned from a weekend @the Rocking R Guest Ranch outside Strathmore.We always head west into the mountains for a weekend away but this year I decided I wanted to go someplace different for my husbands birthday.I think my husband was a little surprised when I told him where we were going but the moment we arrived he knew it was a great decision.The views,the cabin and the breakfasts more than met our expectations.Terri is an incredible host and makes sure you are well taken care of from your arrival to your departure.We certainly hope to return and will definitely recommend it to friends.We also enjoyed our night out at the Rosebud Theatre close by.
Debi M

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebiM101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strathmore hotels
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Strathmore
Travelodge Strathmore
#2 of 5 in Strathmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Strathmore
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Strathmore Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sproule Heritage Bed & Breakfast
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Strathmore
Super 8 Strathmore
#4 of 5 in Strathmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
1.4 mi away
No photo provided
Wheat Land Hotel
#5 of 5 in Strathmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocking R Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocking R Guest Ranch

Property: Rocking R Guest Ranch
Address: Box 45, Site 14 RR1, Strathmore, Alberta T1P 1J6, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Strathmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Strathmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rocking R Guest Ranch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short drive from Calgary you will find luxurious cabins atop a ridge with a view of Eagle Lake and the majestic Rocky Mountains. The Hitch n' Post is a cozy cabin for two and The Bunkhouse is perfect for a family getaway. Breakfast is included in the cost of your stay. We also offer spa services in the privacy of your cabin and Equestrian Adventures for all levels of riders. Minimum Night stay at the ranch is 2 nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Rocking R Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocking R Guest Ranch Strathmore, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing