We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful bed and breakfast cabin , lovely views and a high caliber of breakfast and service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rocking R Guest Ranch
Calgary
1 review
“Beautiful bed and breakfast cabin , lovely views and a high caliber of breakfast and service.”
Reviewed 2 August 2010

This is a lovely location about 50 km (30 miles) East of Calgary easily within driving range to Calgary and the Rockies. It is very well run by Terri and her staff, with professional and friendly service and faboulous food. The cabin was luxurious and had very useful and decorative attributes.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MilagroCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
71
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pinetop-Lakeside, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2010

My husband and I just returned from the most incredible vacation at the Rocking R Guest Ranch. Terri & Marv are the perfect hosts & go to great lengths to personalize your trip. They are so accomodating & the personalized care of their guests is second to none. We stayed at the Bunkhouse which is beautifully decorated & looks out over a lake so the view is fabulous. The beds were extremely comfortable & the bath has a soaking tub plus a walk in shower. Everything from bubble bath to spa robes & slippers are provided. There is a hot tub & spa & I enjoyed a wonderful massage while Marv took my husband out on an all day horseback ride in the mountains. Terri delivers gourmet breakfasts to your cabin and her culinary skills are incredible. This was the most relaxing, enjoyable, memorable experience we have encountered in many years of traveling.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiatus53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

As a result of changes in my wife's employment status this year, it was imperative that we find a way to unwind and relax after a hectic tax season. I discovered the Rocking R Guest Ranch through a local radio station promotion, and booked a two night stay early in May. I was pleased that we did not have to travel far, and yet the Rocking R is way far from the hustle and bustle of the Big City.

Upon our arrival, we were greeted by Marv as we pulled into the yard. There was no question that this was a working ranch, but it was very clean and well organized. We went to the main house to meet Terri and were processed quickly and efficiently. Terry showed us to our cabin (the Hitchin' Post) and we were immediately impressed. The cabins have all the modern efficiencies with a ton of wonderfully rustic touches. We were able to watch our local junior hockey team on the satellite TV, then unwound in the spacious and modern hot tub only steps from our front door. Afterwards, we retired to a sumptious bed that was very comfortable for a restful night's sleep.

Day two saw Terry serving us a wonderful two course breakfast in our cabin. All I can say is "This lady can cook!!!!" Breakfast was full of elegant and special touches, like fresh fruit and baking, fresh juice and yogurt. The second course was amazing, featuring delicious french toast and bacon. And the coffee was fantastic! After breakfast, Marv took us out for a horseback ride. We had a great time! My wife had not been on a horse before, but Marv's patience and "horse sense" had her comfortable in no time. We had a great time on Doc and Julio, and Terri even took pictures of us to show our friends!

Afterwards, we enjoyed our relaxation massages with Terri's daughter, Kimberly. She is a RMT and did a wonderful job of releasing tension and tightened muscles. We vegged and read our books after Terri provided Champagne and OJ followed by chocolate dipped strawberries, then cooked our supper on the handy BBQ right outside our front door. Another soak in the hot tub, followed by a crackling fire in the fireplace. And again, retiring to bed in what can only be described as positively deliciously comfortable. What a wonderful day!

We were sad to leave Sunday morning, but we will definitely return. Terri and Marv are wonderful hosts, and the accomodations are second to none.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmundrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2010

We had a wonderful tranquil 4 day stay for a work project. Everything was amazing - from the embroidered spa robes to a spacious and well outfitted kitchen. Every evening we watched the sunset over the lake while we were serenaded by the bird life. The well supplied wood stove creates a cozy warm up after a visit to the hot tub. Terri anticipates your every need and we still don't know how she managed to create the postcard vista of the Clydesdales grazing just outside our door.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VernKiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta chinnok
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2010

Words cannot explain how amazing this place is! A hidden jewel in our own back yard, who knew. All of the prior reviews are true, the bar has been set very high, but our experience did not disappoint.

This was our Valentine weekend away and how perfect it was.... not one detail was overlooked, gourmet breakfasts served in the cabin, amazing view, chocolate, strawberries, champagne and so the list goes. I am an extremely particular person and I was impressed by the tremendous attention to detail. Terri organized the whole weekend, from massages to dinner reservations and when we returned there was a toasty fire waiting for us to snuggle up by. I'm sure she even had a hand in the weather, just perfect for a cozy afternoon by the fire reading or watching movies from her great selection of DVD's and books. The hospitality was that of a close friend, you felt comfortable and at home the moment you were greeted by Terri. If you like to be pampered this is the place to go, I know we will visit again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queenofthelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AB
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

My husband and I stayed at the ranch for the Easter weekend, we needed a retreat not too far from Edmonton where we live but far enough away to see the rocky mountains. This place has it all, the cabin is a five star accomodation with all the touches, the breakfasts were to die for, the serice was second to noneThe owner Terri even came with an easter basket full of goodies on sunday morning, we have actually travelled all over the world and stayed at various place costing twice as much as this one, but believe me when i tell you that this ranch is well worth every penny, you will not be disappointed, you can even get a ride on one of their beautiful horses if you book.We are going back this year for our 30th wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phoenixoftheflame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWT
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2010

We had a lovely stay in the Rocking R Ranch bunkhouse , a beautiful spotless cabin with delightful attention to detail - everywhere you look are little things to make your stay more enjoyable, from the spa robes and slippers for the hot tub to the movie treats, games and DVDs for a relaxing night in. Beautiful view from the cabin with lovely sunsets, the hot tub was wonderfully indulgent, and our hosts were always attentive to make our stay more enjoyable, and were very welcoming to our children. A fun sleigh ride through fluffy snow was followed by delicious hot chocolate and home made cookies, Terri's home cooked breakfasts were a delight, and the kids were thrilled with the horses and tractor rides Marv so kindly entertained them with. A wonderful stay on all counts, and one we highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northernbunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathmore
0.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Strathmore
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Strathmore
Travelodge Strathmore
#3 of 5 in Strathmore
291 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Strathmore Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
No photo provided
Wheat Land Hotel
#5 of 5 in Strathmore
1 reviews
19.7 mi away
Best Western PLUS Chestermere Hotel
0.0 mi away
Black Cat Guest Ranch
Black Cat Guest Ranch
#27 of 32 in Jasper National Park
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocking R Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocking R Guest Ranch

Property: Rocking R Guest Ranch
Address: Box 45, Site 14 RR1, Strathmore, Alberta T1P 1J6, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Strathmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Strathmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rocking R Guest Ranch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short drive from Calgary you will find luxurious cabins atop a ridge with a view of Eagle Lake and the majestic Rocky Mountains. The Hitch n' Post is a cozy cabin for two and The Bunkhouse is perfect for a family getaway. Breakfast is included in the cost of your stay. We also offer spa services in the privacy of your cabin and Equestrian Adventures for all levels of riders. Minimum Night stay at the ranch is 2 nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rocking R Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocking R Guest Ranch Strathmore, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing