We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If visiting Calgary then forget the city hotels- stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rocking R Guest Ranch
Reviewed 7 August 2007

We've nothing much more to add to the first review as they are spot on with their comments. We stayed here for 2 nights in July during the Calgary Stampede and loved it. Just wished we stayed for longer. Terri and her family are lovely and we do miss her breakfasts- they are the best we have EVER had.
Our 8 year old daughter really loved Bunny (their stallion) as she would get up early to go out to speak to him. She also enjoyed her little horseriding session with Kim.
Calgary is only about a 45 minute drive away so if you want to visit it's not too much of a trek. The Calgary Stampede was a fantastic day out and not to be missed if you're there when it's on.
This place has everything you will need for a relaxing stay. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luxsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
There are newer reviews for Rocking R Guest Ranch
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 129 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2007

We had spent endless hours trying to find high quality, self-catering, family accommodation for our trip to Calgary, Alberta. After phoning friends, family in Calgary and what seemed to be the 100th Google search we came upon the Rocking R Ranch - and I can't begin to tell you how lucky we were!

Let me tell you about the Bunk House - the place we stayed in for 10 nights which was one of two excellent, self-contained accommodation units on the Rocking R Ranch. After the 7 hour flight from Cardiff to Toronto, a short stay in Niagara and another 5 hour internal flight from Toronto to Calgary, my husband and I and our 4 year old son were about to throw the towel in - that was before we arrived at the Rocking R Ranch which honestly saved the rest of our holiday, and made it a truly memorably experience.

The first thing we experienced was a lovely warm welcome from Terri, the owner with her husband Marv, of the Rocking R who made us feel at home straight away. When we walked into the accommodation we knew we had made the right choice. We have been fortunate enough to stay at some of the best hotels in the world and to say that the Bunk House more than lived up to these places is an understatement. The finish and attention to detail at the cabin was exceptional with stylish interior decoration and superior comfort that was more than a match for any 5-star hotel. The kitchen was well apportioned, with granite surfaces, fridge freezer, dish washer and anything else you could possibly wish for. The bedrooms were exceptional and the choice of duvet for allergy sufferers a nice touch. There was everything we needed from bathrobes, slippers and white fluffy towels to bath products and chocolates-heaven!

The breakfasts -what can I say! Bowls of fruit with mascarpone cream, freshly baked cakes to accompany the coffee and the choice of tea.This was then followed by pancakes with bacon and maple syrup. Terri would bring this over to our cabin, even in the middle of the snow that we had on our first day at the Ranch!
The continental breakfast needs a mention in itself-a basket brought over to us the night before full of goodies that we'd invariably consume the same night!

The location of the Ranch is stunning and we would quite happily have stayed there everyday and forgotten the sightseeing. The sunsets over the lake will stay with us for a long time.Durring our stay we were privileged to be the first ones to see a new born foal who staggered to his feet right in front of our new home!

Marv and Terri did all they could to make our stay a memorable one: from taking us for an introductory ride on their horses to the beautiful chocolates that we'd have to welcome us home after a days sightseeing, together with a note and porch light left on to guide us home.I can only describe it as having family around looking out for you. For those worrying about privacy, they are such good hosts that they get the balance just right. In our case, we very much looked forward to our chats with Marv and Terri and their advice and research on our behalf as to where to visit in the locality.

This is an ideal place to bring children, as our 4 year old dinosaur obsessive would agree- Marv and Terri totally spoilt him and The Largest Dinosaur in The World is within 40 minutes drive! Conversely, if you need somewhere to escape the rat race and chill out, this is also the ideal location. For the first time after being on holiday I can honestly say that I have no complaints and only praise, which is a rare thing this day and age.

I could rave about the Ranch for much longer as it has so much more to offer- for equestrians or for those requiring luxurious self catering accommodation like ourselves. We extended our stay and on leaving felt as if we were leaving our new home and good friends behind, but we are determined to go back as nowhere else will be able to compete!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Dinoseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guylaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathmore
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Strathmore
1.1 mi away
Best Western Strathmore Inn
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Strathmore
Travelodge Strathmore
#3 of 5 in Strathmore
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Best Western PLUS Chestermere Hotel
1.4 mi away
No photo provided
Wheat Land Hotel
#5 of 5 in Strathmore
1 reviews
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Strathmore
Super 8 Strathmore
#4 of 5 in Strathmore
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocking R Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocking R Guest Ranch

Address: Box 45, Site 14 RR1, Strathmore, Alberta T1P 1J6, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Strathmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Strathmore
Price Range: £153 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rocking R Guest Ranch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short drive from Calgary you will find luxurious cabins atop a ridge with a view of Eagle Lake and the majestic Rocky Mountains. The Hitch n' Post is a cozy cabin for two and The Bunkhouse is perfect for a family getaway. Breakfast is included in the cost of your stay. We also offer spa services in the privacy of your cabin and Equestrian Adventures for all levels of riders. Minimum Night stay at the ranch is 2 nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rocking R Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocking R Guest Ranch Strathmore, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing