We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bizarre place!!!”
Review of Crystal Star Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crystal Star Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Leduc B&B and Inns
saskatchewan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bizarre place!!!”
Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

Just checked in.
Was blown away By the decor. Absolutely nothing matches. We're talking pink, orange, royal blue, maroon... I think the hotel was furnished with odds and ends from auctions or something! That being said, the location to airport is great and there is a free shuttle. It is also a good 20 dollars cheaper than other hotels in the area, so if your looking to save a buck it may be a good option! The rooms are actually clean, beds very comfortable and there is a fireplace, fridge and 50 inch tv in the rooms. The pop machine is completely empty. There is a vending machine full of odds and ends (yogurt, Gatorade,water, yogurt, instant noodles) obviously filled by owner to make a quick buck. Kind of weird.
If you can get past the extremely strange decor (you feel weird as soon as you enter the door) and base your stay strictly on comfort it's really not bad. (I'm laying one of the beds now and am comfy as hell! Lol)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtneysunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    25
    15
    10
    11
See reviews for
10
23
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel twice, both over night stays before catching a flight. The bonus of this hotel is being able to park your vehicle there for your vacation. The decor is definitely odd but it is clean. Shuttle to and from the hotel has been quick and reliable for both stays.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank angelaernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed here a number of times before flying out on vacation due to the great location and cheap price. This last time will likely be our final stay. Our experience has gone downhill. The price has been raised since the last time we stayed. We had to wait awhile for the front desk attendant to arrive when checking in. Complimentary breakfast doesn't start as early as some of the other hotels in the area. The morning airport shuttle does not run frequently enough, so we needed to call a cab. We did make use of the free week of parking.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cool-son
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times for overnight stays from the Airport. The decor is a little different but the beds are comfortable, nice big flat screen TV's, large rooms, fireplace. No complaints here. Great Value for being one of the less expensive hotels with a shuttle from the Edmonton Airport

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HospitalityPro9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlevoix, Mi.
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012 via mobile

So this place is crazy. All the other reviews about the pink walls, ugly carpet, orange chairs ALL TRUE plus some. Staff was nice when I checked in. Bed is horrible, walls are dirty and the carpets will give you a headache BUT if you need a place to sleep and nothing else is available (why im here) it will work. Its over $100 a night plus tax

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2012

My new husband and i stayed here the night of our wedding. It cost $260 for the bridal sweet for one night.
The rotating bed did not work
The tv did not work
There was no toilet paper
The staff was extremely rude!
Robes and towels were like sandpaper and the bed was rock hard.
What a disappointment on our wedding night. We emailed our complaints to the manager and its been a week with no reply. This place should be shut down.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikoleyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I recently booked 2 nights into the Crystal Star Inn, in Leduc Alberta while I was visiting family.
All I was looking for was clean, comfortable and affordable. The Crystal Star met all those requirements. The colour scheme is out of the 70"s although I know the hotel hasn't been there that long. I think they had a buyer who was colour blind. The check in process was easy, and the front desk attendant was pleasant. I had initially booked for one night and then extended it to two. She remembered my phone call to add the second night to the reservation.
There was a continental breakfast offered but I didn't partake of it. There is a coffee maker in the room that makes single cups of coffee, and there are paper cups for the same. It would have been nice to have a lid for the take out cup.
The room was clean, as was the bathroom. For me it was also a bonus to have a window that I could open. I hate the stuffy rooms to sleep in. The fireplace would have been a nice touch but I could not figure out how to turn it on. I assume tho that as it was actually warm the system might have been shut down for the summer.
There is large TV, and DVD player provided. A small Fridge is there as well, it was very cold.
The room was huge and there was a small table with two chairs, but a comfy chair or loveseat would have been a better use of the space.
One thing that wasn't there, was anything to put my suitcase on, I ended up on the desk. This would have been difficult had I needed to use the desk. I suppose I could have set up the ironing board and used that.
There was free WIFI as well.
Would i return there? Probably if needed, My preferred place to stay is a bed a breakfast, but they were unable to accomodate me this time.
Also it is a little farther away from the family I visit in Beaumont than I would like to be.
For a one night stay or two it was fine, it was close to the airport if that is what you are needing.

Room Tip: I stayed on the top (3rd) floor and had a room at the end of the hall, RM 323. There was no noise fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edmonton_mamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leduc
0.1 mi away
Ramada Edmonton International Airport
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Edmonton International Airport
0.2 mi away
Executive Hotel Alexandra at Edmonton Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton Airport
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Edmonton Airport & Conference Centre
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Edmonton Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Star Inn

Property: Crystal Star Inn
Address: 8334 Sparrow Cres, Leduc, Alberta T9E 8B7, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Leduc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Leduc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Crystal Star Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 5 minutes east of Edmonton International Airport. Stars Inn was built with all travellers in mind. With 115 rooms offering modern and sophisticated accommodations for all travel needs, with complimentary services like airport shuttle, parking, use of fitness facilities, indoor pool. Enjoy state-of-the-art golf in our virtual golf rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crystal Star Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Star Hotel Leduc
Crystal Star Inn Leduc, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing