We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Drumheller
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Would highly avoid this motel at ALL costs! Policy states non-smoking property, however customer next door smoking heavily. +++ Smoke coming through adjoining door. Complained at front desk and asked to change room due to smoke in room. Manager's wife did tell us that we can change room however there will be a surcharge as only rooms available we're "upgraded". She also inspected our room and stated that there is nothing wrong and that she herself would not mind staying there for the night. She also went to validate our complaint with our smoking neighbor and came back stating he was not a liar and did not smoke in room. At this point, we did not agree to pay the surcharge and were adamant that there was smoke in room and we were not satisfied. She proceeded to call the "choice group hotline" for support as did not know how to deal with the situation. She seemed to be more concerned with the risk of us blocking our credit card payment then actually satisfying the upset customer. After approximately 25 minutes of deliberation with the Choice Hotel headquarters for advice on how to deal with our situation, my husband came back to the lobby,had packed our luggage back in the car. I thanked the poor receptionist (who had absolutely no decision making authority, but quite courteous), wished them a wonderful evening. Never again Econo lodge! Shame on you for not honoring customer service! After being insulted by the Econolodge manager, we proceeded to the Ramada which offered outstanding service.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ecchymose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manish_Econolodge, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

We apologize for the inconvenience that you may had. Just a clarification " We have "Non Smoking Rooms" and not a "Non Smoking Facility". We do have control over guests smoking outside in the parking area. The smell of smoke does not disappear in a minute from the rooms. The guest in the next room had been staying for past 6 weeks and we never smelled of any smoke in his room. At no given time my staff was insulting or discourteous, if you felt it that way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2011

The rooms were clean and cool,the breakfast was great and the service was awesome-going back next week with my family instead of friends

Room Tip: got my rooms by hotels.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubette999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manish_Econolodge, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

booked a room here based solely on availablilty and great price and was disgusted at how filthy our room was upon checking in. Rooms were dated, had a musty smell, and appeared as though they had not had a thorough cleaning in a very long time. Even though they have a cancellation policy in effect, management was great about refunding out money and cancelling the room after hearing our concerns.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thumper39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manish_Econolodge, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

Sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We are a motel and we never advertise that it is new. We do keep our rooms clean as possible given that we renovated the motel inside out two years ago. We are running at 90% occupancy for the summer and certainly cannot meet expectations of all 100% of our guest. Hope you found a place that was well suited for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Front desk service was excellent. Rooms were clean and very impressive was very pleased. Housekeeping maintained the room when we asked, great staff all around. Breakfast available in the morning, and coffee and tea all day. General Manager is a great guy and helped with anything we asked, let us use his personal office supplies for last minute business. Overall great stay, and definitely the best place to stay if you are passing through Drumheller. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianfarnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manish_Econolodge, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

A great Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

As a writer, I travel a great deal, with very little budget, but with big expectations for comfort and cleanliness. This motel met my needs very nicely. Not perfectly (the breakfast could be upgraded) but well enough, that I would return.

The entire property is smoke-free! Yay! A big fine of $200 if you break that rule. The beds and bedding are beyond comfortable. Three pillows!!! I am fan of big, puffy pillows. Lots of them. The room was pristine (we were on the 2nd floor), and everything (all appliances) worked fine.

Wi-fi is free and is no muss-no fuss. Just open your laptop and access the Internet. The manager was a lovely man to deal with. (We didn't deal with any other staff.)

We avoided the breakfast; too many high carb choices, and almost no protein. But it's still free. We prefer at least one hot item such as scrambled eggs or egg patties.

The hotel is perfectly located to access all the tourist attractions. It is just up the street from the nightly ghost tour walk (Thursday - Saturday), and it is next to one of the best oriental restaurants I have ever eaten at: Diana.

The motel has obviously been upgraded, and still needs some work, but it really doesn't matter. I can live with cracked room entryway floor tiles, if the TV works and my bed is comfy.

One big negative for me are the towels--they look like they were bought at auction. So grey and so thin...but very clean!

And, I noticed a strange smell in the front lobby. I can't quite describe it, but since I wasn't sleeping in the lobby, it didn't matter to me.

Overall, an excellent location, great staff, very clean, and convenient.

Room Tip: Be sure to use your Choice Points card!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sheree Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

we arrived in the lobby - a neat lobby for a motel of this size, very well done. staff was friendly. Went to the room - very clean, not surprised - more than we bargained for - beds were made nicely - three pillows, sheets were clean, bathroom was clean with various amenities. Room had A/C, TV, fridge and microwave. Overall we were very happy with the room. Internet worked really well - room also had a round table and two chairs for working or eating. Continental Breakfast in the morning was healthy and enough to start the day. Stayed previously in similar motels/hotels before - but was satisfied overall. I wwill recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Book your room by calling the motel directly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank happy_ambala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We stayed here for two nights - never again. We were a party of 6, two seniors, two 36- 45 and two 6 - 10 year olds. We checked in early which was nice - the rooms smelt musty and damp and the bathroom in our room was not clean properly - there were hairs in the bath (bork!). When we went to leave that afternoon to go sightseeing out our room door wouldn't lock. The male receptionist wanted us to leave the door unlocked with our belongings in there - no way so we were moved to a room next door. We were on the ground floor near reception and the alley way smelt like a brewery. Had a good 1st night sleep and the beds were comfy and clean, the shower was a power shower and the water hot. Microwave and fridge in the room with TV (although the remote didn't work until I switched it with the unhelpful lady on reception). Don't bother with the breakfast, toast and coffee was all that was on offer. The seniors room was no better, the shower didn't work at all and again the room smelt musty. The noise on the second evening was unbearable and reception were called several times but nothing was done until after midnight. Like I say pay a little extra and stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1smb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggie1214, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2011

The rooms have been cleaned thoroughly, walls washed, curtains washed, etc. to get rid of any odor that was present. The door locks have been checked and repaired where necessary. We are located downtown, this room must have been on front of building where there is more traffic. If wanting a quieter room the guest must advise the staff prior to checkin. Our breakfast consists of three types of cereal, 2 kinds of bread for toast, 2 kinds of juice, tea, coffee and muffins or bagels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Drumheller hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Drumheller
Quality Hotel Drumheller
#6 of 9 in Drumheller
214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Drumheller AB
Travelodge Drumheller AB
#7 of 9 in Drumheller
415 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Drumheller Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels
0.2 mi away
Heartwood Inn and Spa
Heartwood Inn and Spa
#1 of 9 in Drumheller
369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Drumheller
Super 8 Drumheller
#4 of 9 in Drumheller
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller

Address: 392 Centre Street, Drumheller, Alberta T0J 0Y0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Drumheller
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Drumheller
Price Range: £44 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge Inn & Suites® hotel is a short five minute walk to downtown restaurants and shops, and provides convenient access to nearby attractions such as the Homestead Antique Museum, Royal Tyrrell Museum, the Drumheller Stampede Grounds and Reptile World Zoo.All guestrooms of this Drumheller hotel feature new microwaves, refrigerators,flat screen tv's with cable. Newly renovated bathrooms with new tubs, dual flush toilets and new tiles.Drumheller is located in the heart of the Canadian Badlands in Southern Alberta, and the Drumheller Valley offers hotel guests a wide variety of recreational activities amidst spectacular scenery. Located along the banks of the Red Deer River, Drumheller boasts a number of beaches, including nearby New Castle Beach.Premium amenities at this Econo Lodge hotel include:Free continental breakfast with upgrades such as oatmeal, apples, pastries, yogurt and 4 types of cereals;Free in-room wireless high-speed Internet access;Free local calls;Limited pet friendly rooms;All non-smoking rooms Ample on-site parking and free overflow parking on streets day and night.This building is part of the rich history of Drumheller. The current owners have spent close to $3m on renovations in the last 7 years they have owned it. Happy and satisfied guests is our motto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing