We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Drumheller
Shellbrook, SK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Extremely disappointing”
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We arrived after an 8 hour drive to be told that our room had been re-assigned to someone else, even though we had a confirmed reservation and our details were in the computer. This was eventually rectified, but very disheartening as the blame went from one person to the other and we didn't know if we would be given a room. The room was clean when we arrived, except for the coffee pot which had old coffee in it still from the previous occupants. The room was not maintained during our stay - the beds were not made, the bathroom not cleaned, neither the coffee tray nor the coffee pot was emptied or cleaned, and the fridge was leaking so the carpet was damp and there was a musty smell. There were only a few seats for breakfast so sometimes we had to stand and eat because there were not enough places to sit. We can only afford to take one three-day holiday a year and this was our experience from this one. We will not return, nor will we recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosie72-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manish_Econolodge, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
I am sorry that you were not fully satisfied during your stay with us. Your comments have prompted me to take some positive notes and rectify the situation so that this does not happen again. Our motel has been full almost everyday and it is not possible to have seating for over 100 guests at a given time for breakfast. I apologize for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    56
    32
    17
    28
See reviews for
77
51
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

I didn't think this motel was as bad as some reviews make it out to be, but it also wasn't anything special. In the future, I would probably pay a little bit more and stay elsewhere.

Unfortunately, the lobby does have a strong odour. It reminded me of mothballs, and it didn't make a great first impression. Our room seemed clean, but it was also easy to tell that the motel is an old one that has been renovated. There are definitely signs of its age in the rooms and on the outside. The free breakfast was basic but adequate, offering cereal, toast, coffee, and juice. It's enough to get you going in the morning, and pretty much what I would expect from a free breakfast at a motel of this type.

The location is either great or not-so-great depending on what you're looking for. It's in the old downtown area of Drumheller. There's a Shopper's Drug Mart, a pub, and a nice cafe right across the street, and it's within walking distance to the World's Biggest Dinosaur and the Aquaplex. However, the downtown area seems rundown and the motel is far away from the newer commercial area of Drumheller, where there are more restaurants, etc.

Overall, it was an OK stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalgarySharks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Would highly avoid this motel at ALL costs! Policy states non-smoking property, however customer next door smoking heavily. +++ Smoke coming through adjoining door. Complained at front desk and asked to change room due to smoke in room. Manager's wife did tell us that we can change room however there will be a surcharge as only rooms available we're "upgraded". She also inspected our room and stated that there is nothing wrong and that she herself would not mind staying there for the night. She also went to validate our complaint with our smoking neighbor and came back stating he was not a liar and did not smoke in room. At this point, we did not agree to pay the surcharge and were adamant that there was smoke in room and we were not satisfied. She proceeded to call the "choice group hotline" for support as did not know how to deal with the situation. She seemed to be more concerned with the risk of us blocking our credit card payment then actually satisfying the upset customer. After approximately 25 minutes of deliberation with the Choice Hotel headquarters for advice on how to deal with our situation, my husband came back to the lobby,had packed our luggage back in the car. I thanked the poor receptionist (who had absolutely no decision making authority, but quite courteous), wished them a wonderful evening. Never again Econo lodge! Shame on you for not honoring customer service! After being insulted by the Econolodge manager, we proceeded to the Ramada which offered outstanding service.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ecchymose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manish_Econolodge, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
We apologize for the inconvenience that you may had. Just a clarification " We have "Non Smoking Rooms" and not a "Non Smoking Facility". We do have control over guests smoking outside in the parking area. The smell of smoke does not disappear in a minute from the rooms. The guest in the next room had been staying for past 6 weeks and we never smelled of any smoke in his room. At no given time my staff was insulting or discourteous, if you felt it that way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Drumheller hotels

Spruce Grove, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2011

The rooms were clean and cool,the breakfast was great and the service was awesome-going back next week with my family instead of friends

Room Tip: got my rooms by hotels.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubette999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manish_Econolodge, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

booked a room here based solely on availablilty and great price and was disgusted at how filthy our room was upon checking in. Rooms were dated, had a musty smell, and appeared as though they had not had a thorough cleaning in a very long time. Even though they have a cancellation policy in effect, management was great about refunding out money and cancelling the room after hearing our concerns.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thumper39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manish_Econolodge, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We are a motel and we never advertise that it is new. We do keep our rooms clean as possible given that we renovated the motel inside out two years ago. We are running at 90% occupancy for the summer and certainly cannot meet expectations of all 100% of our guest. Hope you found a place that was well suited for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Front desk service was excellent. Rooms were clean and very impressive was very pleased. Housekeeping maintained the room when we asked, great staff all around. Breakfast available in the morning, and coffee and tea all day. General Manager is a great guy and helped with anything we asked, let us use his personal office supplies for last minute business. Overall great stay, and definitely the best place to stay if you are passing through Drumheller. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianfarnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manish_Econolodge, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
A great Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
241 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

As a writer, I travel a great deal, with very little budget, but with big expectations for comfort and cleanliness. This motel met my needs very nicely. Not perfectly (the breakfast could be upgraded) but well enough, that I would return.

The entire property is smoke-free! Yay! A big fine of $200 if you break that rule. The beds and bedding are beyond comfortable. Three pillows!!! I am fan of big, puffy pillows. Lots of them. The room was pristine (we were on the 2nd floor), and everything (all appliances) worked fine.

Wi-fi is free and is no muss-no fuss. Just open your laptop and access the Internet. The manager was a lovely man to deal with. (We didn't deal with any other staff.)

We avoided the breakfast; too many high carb choices, and almost no protein. But it's still free. We prefer at least one hot item such as scrambled eggs or egg patties.

The hotel is perfectly located to access all the tourist attractions. It is just up the street from the nightly ghost tour walk (Thursday - Saturday), and it is next to one of the best oriental restaurants I have ever eaten at: Diana.

The motel has obviously been upgraded, and still needs some work, but it really doesn't matter. I can live with cracked room entryway floor tiles, if the TV works and my bed is comfy.

One big negative for me are the towels--they look like they were bought at auction. So grey and so thin...but very clean!

And, I noticed a strange smell in the front lobby. I can't quite describe it, but since I wasn't sleeping in the lobby, it didn't matter to me.

Overall, an excellent location, great staff, very clean, and convenient.

Room Tip: Be sure to use your Choice Points card!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sheree Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Drumheller hotels
0.4 mi away
Ramada Drumheller Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Drumheller
Quality Hotel Drumheller
#6 of 9 in Drumheller
173 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Drumheller AB
Travelodge Drumheller AB
#9 of 9 in Drumheller
357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heartwood Inn and Spa
Heartwood Inn and Spa
#1 of 9 in Drumheller
328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Drumheller
Super 8 Drumheller
#3 of 9 in Drumheller
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller
Address: 392 Centre Street, Box 1810, Drumheller, Alberta T0J 0Y0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Drumheller
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Drumheller
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge Inn & Suites® hotel is a short five minute walk to downtown restaurants and shops, and provides convenient access to nearby attractions such as the Homestead Antique Museum, Royal Tyrrell Museum, the Drumheller Stampede Grounds and Reptile World Zoo.All guestrooms of this Drumheller hotel feature new microwaves, refrigerators,flat screen tv's with cable. Newly renovated bathrooms with new tubs, dual flush toilets and new tiles.Drumheller is located in the heart of the Canadian Badlands in Southern Alberta, and the Drumheller Valley offers hotel guests a wide variety of recreational activities amidst spectacular scenery. Located along the banks of the Red Deer River, Drumheller boasts a number of beaches, including nearby New Castle Beach.Premium amenities at this Econo Lodge hotel include:Free continental breakfast with upgrades such as oatmeal, apples, pastries, yogurt and 4 types of cereals;Free in-room wireless high-speed Internet access;Free local calls;Limited pet friendly rooms;All non-smoking rooms Ample on-site parking and free overflow parking on streets day and night.This building is part of the rich history of Drumheller. The current owners have spent close to $3m on renovations in the last 7 years they have owned it. Happy and satisfied guests is our motto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing