We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Drumheller
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never again...”
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I wish I had taken pictures like I was going to. There were no bottom sheets, the coffee pot was covered in scum, the bathroom floor was black with dirt, and the tub was black with scum too. We could rub it off with our fingers so it was clearly unwashed. When I complained, I was told I was clearly wrong. I will never stay in this place again, I was that disgusted with the room and the service when I did complain. I stormed out madder than a disturbed bee! Thank you Econo Lodge for making my stay in Drumheller a crappy one.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank edmontonbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manish_Econolodge, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Dear Guest,
We have a policy of advising all our guests at the time of check-in "Please let us know if you require anything and if our housekeeping staff missed something in the room". When we do not hear from the guest, we assume that everything was OK. We cannot do anything when you complain at the time of checkout. I offered to go to the room to check-out your concerns and when I went into the room, you had already gone. I checked the room and did find 2 sheets on the both the beds, which is our standard practice. It was hard to determine if the coffee pot and the bath-tub was dirty as both were used at that time. Just a note, that Drumheller is a very windy and dusty area, if the door or windows are left open the dust will go into the room. We clean the rooms properly as we ran 90% occupancy all July and August. We are a motel and I really don't know what your expectations were when you booked your room through Expedia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    56
    34
    18
    28
See reviews for
80
51
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Manitoba
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed here last week and while the owners were nice and things looked clean...its just not an option again. The rooms smelled really bad of cleaning chemicals. The air conditioners are REALLY loud. And parking is limited so you need to park early because you cant park on the street overnight. The tv in our room was a 12" and had lines running through it. Next time i would splurge for a hotel in this town and budget somewhere else..... :(
P.S. I would rate this hotel a 1 but i didnt find ANY bugs so i bumped it up to a 2.....

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NorthernLites69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manish_Econolodge, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
Dear Guest, First of all you arrived a day late and I accommodated you by adjusting your No Show charges. We were solidly booked and had no vacancy. I had to adjust a few rooms to accommodate you. Your family thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast by spending a good 30 minutes in the breakfast room. You were so thankful until you left and even left your comment card - checking "Excellent" on Room Condition, Housekeeping and Front Desk. Now you reached home and suddenly you remembered contrary to the same - Am I missing something here?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Drumheller hotels

Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I was quite nervous staying here when I saw the reviews, but it was the only accommodation available when we booked for a family our size (3 adults and 2 kids). However, this motel was fine. It is beaten up to be sure and definitely needs some aesthetic work, but there was nothing wrong that interfered with our comfort or made us feel unsafe. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. The A/C unit was new and was as quiet as a window unit can be. The windows can be opened if you prefer fresh air. Our room and the lobby smelled fine - no smoky smell. The continental breakfast had enough variety to make my preschoolers and my mom-in-law happy, and I appreciated the TV to catch up on the news during breakfast. Housekeeping did forget to make up the cot one day, but otherwise everything was tidied up sufficiently.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mctet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manish_Econolodge, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
Thank you for your perfect description of our motel. It could not have been described better than that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed for one night as we were passing through Drumheller. Our room was clean and comfortable which included a nice breafast with the basics. The front desk staff were helpfull and friendly. We were only in our room really to sleep as we enjoyed the attractions Drumheller has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manish_Econolodge, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Alittle rough on the edges,but our room was clean and had new carpet.Appeared to have a newer ac unit that kept our room comfortable.We also had a mini fridge,microwave and coffee maker.They have a cold,but good continental breakfast.Parking can be an issue if you arrive later in the evening.The owner and staff are helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Transporter306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manish_Econolodge, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Thank you for your review. It is very helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shellbrook, SK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We arrived after an 8 hour drive to be told that our room had been re-assigned to someone else, even though we had a confirmed reservation and our details were in the computer. This was eventually rectified, but very disheartening as the blame went from one person to the other and we didn't know if we would be given a room. The room was clean when we arrived, except for the coffee pot which had old coffee in it still from the previous occupants. The room was not maintained during our stay - the beds were not made, the bathroom not cleaned, neither the coffee tray nor the coffee pot was emptied or cleaned, and the fridge was leaking so the carpet was damp and there was a musty smell. There were only a few seats for breakfast so sometimes we had to stand and eat because there were not enough places to sit. We can only afford to take one three-day holiday a year and this was our experience from this one. We will not return, nor will we recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosie72-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manish_Econolodge, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
I am sorry that you were not fully satisfied during your stay with us. Your comments have prompted me to take some positive notes and rectify the situation so that this does not happen again. Our motel has been full almost everyday and it is not possible to have seating for over 100 guests at a given time for breakfast. I apologize for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, AB
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

I didn't think this motel was as bad as some reviews make it out to be, but it also wasn't anything special. In the future, I would probably pay a little bit more and stay elsewhere.

Unfortunately, the lobby does have a strong odour. It reminded me of mothballs, and it didn't make a great first impression. Our room seemed clean, but it was also easy to tell that the motel is an old one that has been renovated. There are definitely signs of its age in the rooms and on the outside. The free breakfast was basic but adequate, offering cereal, toast, coffee, and juice. It's enough to get you going in the morning, and pretty much what I would expect from a free breakfast at a motel of this type.

The location is either great or not-so-great depending on what you're looking for. It's in the old downtown area of Drumheller. There's a Shopper's Drug Mart, a pub, and a nice cafe right across the street, and it's within walking distance to the World's Biggest Dinosaur and the Aquaplex. However, the downtown area seems rundown and the motel is far away from the newer commercial area of Drumheller, where there are more restaurants, etc.

Overall, it was an OK stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalgarySharks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Drumheller hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Drumheller
Quality Hotel Drumheller
#6 of 9 in Drumheller
194 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Drumheller AB
Travelodge Drumheller AB
#9 of 9 in Drumheller
372 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Drumheller Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels
0.2 mi away
Heartwood Inn and Spa
Heartwood Inn and Spa
#1 of 9 in Drumheller
344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Drumheller
Super 8 Drumheller
#3 of 9 in Drumheller
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller
Address: 392 Centre Street, Drumheller, Alberta T0J 0Y0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Drumheller
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Drumheller
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge Inn & Suites® hotel is a short five minute walk to downtown restaurants and shops, and provides convenient access to nearby attractions such as the Homestead Antique Museum, Royal Tyrrell Museum, the Drumheller Stampede Grounds and Reptile World Zoo.All guestrooms of this Drumheller hotel feature new microwaves, refrigerators,flat screen tv's with cable. Newly renovated bathrooms with new tubs, dual flush toilets and new tiles.Drumheller is located in the heart of the Canadian Badlands in Southern Alberta, and the Drumheller Valley offers hotel guests a wide variety of recreational activities amidst spectacular scenery. Located along the banks of the Red Deer River, Drumheller boasts a number of beaches, including nearby New Castle Beach.Premium amenities at this Econo Lodge hotel include:Free continental breakfast with upgrades such as oatmeal, apples, pastries, yogurt and 4 types of cereals;Free in-room wireless high-speed Internet access;Free local calls;Limited pet friendly rooms;All non-smoking rooms Ample on-site parking and free overflow parking on streets day and night.This building is part of the rich history of Drumheller. The current owners have spent close to $3m on renovations in the last 7 years they have owned it. Happy and satisfied guests is our motto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing