We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“garbage overflowing”

HooDoo RV Resort & Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drumheller
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
HooDoo RV Resort & Campground
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“garbage overflowing”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

we were there for the July long weekend, the weather was absolutely beautiful that's about it. The new owners of the campground never came around once, and the garbage can was so full of garbage from everyone camping around, they cleaned it twice the whole weekend, very disgusting. I find the new owners not at all friendly and rude. Was having a fire one night, music on a little past 11pm, they came and asked us to turn it off. We did, 10 minutes later they literally snuck up on us on thier john deer with headlights turned off and told us we were being loud, a couple of parents and 5 kids at 11pm at night. WOW!!!! great camping trip, we have went every year for 5 years, we will no longer go with these new owners

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank snoop d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    11
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
23
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Just spent the long weekend. Very accomodating, clean, fun and family orientated. Something for everyone. Great place to become a seasonal. New owners doing a great job keeping up with the already welcoming environment. Friendly staff. Needed some assisstance and was accomodated immediatley. Great for tenters, overnight RV'ers or seasonals. Washrooms/showers and laundry rooms clean and easy to access. A little windy at times; but, comes with natures environment. Will definately come again and have already refered friends and family. My daughter liked it so much the family became seasonals with no regrets. A must try and only ten minutes from Drumheller.

Room Tip: Camp ground, something from tenters to seasonal. Great ammenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 581Christine_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

This campground seemed ok the first day we were there but after listening to our 2 groups of neighbours party until 5am it wasn't ok anymore! There was no staff on duty all night, they had an emergency phone number written on masking tape on the office door that I tried to call but got "Jay's voicemail". I even asked the party group to keep it down at 2am but obviously they didn't care and there was no one around to reinforce the rules. There was even a fight at 3am! When I finally told them to shut up one guy threatened to fight me! People were still talking loudly until 8am!! When we complained the next morning to the campground owner he said that one group was leaving and the other group was ok! Apparently they made up some nice story blaming the other group that left. The owner gave us his phone number to call the next night if there were any problems but we didn't want to risk not sleeping another night so we left at 9pm. when the party group started to get rowdy again. We couldn't believe the owner and staff were so useless! If you want to party and do whatever you want all night then stay at this campsite, no one will do anything. It's not a family campsite or for mature adults, it's for party animals! The rules written on the office door are not enforced at all, there is no curfew and you can be as loud as you want, you can even have your car radio blaring at 5am!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jaclynnaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Drumheller hotels

Stayner, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Been there with my wife on May long week-end. At the beginning, everything was perfect, nice location, clean site and the whether was perfect. Shortly after dinner time a bunch of tenagers set up their tent across the street from our place. They sound a bit loud but its still early so....around 23:00, the party is still on...we wait a bit and go tell them to keep the noise down around 12:00....they start yelling at us and treat us....we go at the registration desk, nobody there!!!! we try the emergency phone #, nobody answer!!! Their party is now turning bad and into a fight and nobody is here to do anything....at that point, several people are sleeping in their car cause of the noise....party over around 6:00 am....nobody done anything and we didnt sleept at all and felt insecure. Help desk finally open, they tell us that they will kick them out Ouf....later that same day, those guys are still there....they decided to keep them....so we just decided to drive back home instead of living an other night like that....the owner was of no help and not giving a [--] about us....by the end of the week end, the washrooms were filty and no toilet paper in sight....I would not recommand to anyone....cancell your vacations before going ther...

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kinkajouzaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We arrived a day early, our spot we reserved for the following night was occupied so we had to pitch out tent in the wide open field. The wind was blowing so hard the tents were collapsing on thier sides, and we had no protection what so ever being in the field. We stayed that night, but because we had reserved for the following night, for 1 night only, we asked for a refund because the weather was so bad and we couldn't sleep in the tent again in that wind, they tents around us were starting to rip and be destroyed. The refused a refund even though we still stayed and paid for one night. I thought this was very unreasonable. We booked for one night, changed to another night, but yet we were still locked in. They were not full so we were not taking someone's else's space. So we thought it was not worth the $21 to stay again and loose our tent so we left. Other campgrounds were more sheltered and didn;t have this problem. They are also outside of town a fair ways, so plan on travelling once you are there. Staff was not overly nice, or helpful. We drove across canada on this trip, and this was the worst palce we stayed.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank kmteed03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Drumheller hotels
1.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller
1.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Drumheller
Quality Hotel Drumheller
#6 of 9 in Drumheller
183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ramada Drumheller Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Heartwood Inn and Spa
Heartwood Inn and Spa
#1 of 9 in Drumheller
336 reviews
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Drumheller
Super 8 Drumheller
#3 of 9 in Drumheller
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HooDoo RV Resort & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HooDoo RV Resort & Campground

Property: HooDoo RV Resort & Campground
Address: 5075 Hwy 10, Drumheller, Alberta, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Drumheller
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Drumheller
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
HooDoo RV Resort & Campground Drumheller, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing