We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delightful change from chain hotels!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Heartwood Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Drumheller
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A delightful change from chain hotels!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

The Heartwood Inn is a charming and historical piece of Drumheller. Each room is unique and has been adapted amazingly well to meet the needs of the traveller without sacrificing its cozy and welcoming ambience. Only a short drive from restaurants and downtown, the Heartwood is nestled in a quiet location amid beautifully tended gardens. Patrice was very friendly and helpful when we called to book a room, and Zeke is entertaining and knowledgeable. They went out of their way to accommodate us and our friends, including booking a tee-time for us at the local (very interesting) golf course. A great spot for couples or even a family reuinion.

Room Tip: Check out the rooms on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindarflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pzwolfDrumheller, Owner at Heartwood Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Thanks for noticing our Garden this year, it is so big we hired a full time gardener and I think it really paid off. Many guests spent hours enjoying the sun in the yard - turned into a real meeting place. We are always promoting the amazing Dinosaur Trail Golf Club, every golfer HAS to play it at least once. You think you are playing golf on the moon on the back nine - target golf amongst the prehistoric hoodoos and badlands. And there is the added benefit of us getting tee times weeks in advance. Come and see us this fall, the weather is wonderful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    53
    18
    8
    2
See reviews for
52
169
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grande Prairie, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

We spent two nights at the Heartwood accompanied by our friends from South Africa. Zeke (owner) made us feel welcome immediately by assisting us with information on where to dine and tour. Our rooms were quaint and comfortable, we were made to feel at home. Breakfast each morning was lovely, we enjoyed Zeke's famous french toast, and the next morning his special egg dish. We would recommend the Heartwood to anyone who travels to Drumheller. Well done Zeke! Thanks for everything! Lynne and Dale Saunders (Canada), Derik and Maxi Jordaan, South Africa.

Room Tip: Very quiet, comfortable rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maximhonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pzwolfDrumheller, Owner at Heartwood Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Thank you for your kind review. Sorry it has taken so long to reply but this has been our busiest summer ever! Glad to hear your friends liked Drumheller and the sights around town. We are very proud of the Tyrrell Museum and our rich coal mining history and Zeke is a very enthusiastic tour guide for sure! Hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

The heartwod inn and spa has a very real sense of home and warmth. Best place to stay at in Drumheller. With good prices and very warm hospitality. Definitely a must see.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank effsantiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatriceWolf, Owner at Heartwood Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 19 July 2011
I like to think we are the best in Drumheller. We hope to make this year three in a row winning the Hotel Association housekeeping award. That is something we are very proud of. Come back and see us again. Patrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

This is a quaint and unique inn. We appreciated the level of service. Zeke and Patrice were friendly and accomodating to requests. We had booked the basement level, but received an upgrade as we were staying for four nights. My friend who suffers from many allergies was accomodated by getting unscented sheets and special dietary consideration for the breakfast we enjoyed. If you are tired of noisy hotels with kids running up and down the hallways, this is your place.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaonbettcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatriceWolf, Owner at Heartwood Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
Thank you for writing a review. We have many visitors who suffer from allergies or have dietary restrictions and we always try to accommodate them. We have hardwood in some of our rooms now which is the best for anyone with dust allergies. Zeke is usually making his berry stuffed french toast but can always whip up a fruit plate or an egg dish for those wheat sensitive folk. Hope you'll be back for another visit in the fall. Our weather can be great well into November.
Patrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

Me and the fiance are staying in this Inn as I type this review. The room we are in is very cute and elegant. The owner is SUPER friendly and is also a pet friendly Inn which is hard to find. The rate was very good considering the room, I would of paid more for this room and he even lowered the price TWICE lol. I would rather stay here then a 500 dollar a night Fairmont anyday. Reading all these reviews they talk about a famous french toast. I dont think our rate offers it but im sure we will wake up to a nice smelling Inn in the morning LOL. WE RECOMMEND STAYING HERE.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyV1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatriceWolf, Owner at Heartwood Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
Hi, thanks for the review! We removed the carpet from our Honeymoon cottage and installed hardwood. The wood floor has been great because we can accommodate couples who want a more luxurious room but still have a dog to bring along. We've even had a couple stay with a baby. So a few more options than we had before with carpet. We steam clean the floors between guests so the room even works for people with allergies to dust in carpets. I hope you got your taste of Zeke's famous french toast. Otherwise you'll have an excuse to come back lol.
Patrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloydminster, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

We just got back from a weekend at the Heartwood Inn - we stayed in their new "vacation bungalow" & couldn't have found the experience more perfect! The french toast at breakfast was so good & the service was impeccable. We found the hotel itself to be very cozy & welcoming - instantly putting us into relax mode! Zeke & Patrice have perfected the art of hosting & we will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allyk79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatriceWolf, Owner at Heartwood Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
We are so happy you liked the Vacation Bungalow. It has been very well received by visitors. We've had couples who enjoyed the spaciousness, families who liked the safety of the big private yard, and a group who had several rooms here at the Inn but all got together in the evenings at the Bungalow for an evening fire. So thanks again for the kind words and we'll look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

Staff were very helpful and accommodating. Cottage was comfortable and quaint with heating by the gas fireplace. Bed very comfortable, whirlpool tub and fridge. Good breakfast. It is in a quiet neighbourhood. We would love to go back and stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roslyn09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatriceWolf, Owner at Heartwood Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
We appreciate your comments about our Inn. The cottage is very popular with it's romantic tub and fireplace. Luckily it has finally warmed up here in Drumheller, back to our seasonal hot weather. The air conditioners are all on high these days. I hope you'll be back again soon.
Patrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Drumheller hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Drumheller Hotel & Suites
0.6 mi away
Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Drumheller
Quality Hotel Drumheller
#6 of 9 in Drumheller
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Drumheller AB
Travelodge Drumheller AB
#9 of 9 in Drumheller
3.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Drumheller
Super 8 Drumheller
#3 of 9 in Drumheller
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartwood Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartwood Inn and Spa

Property: Heartwood Inn and Spa
Address: 320 Railway Ave E, Drumheller, Alberta T0J 0Y4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Drumheller
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Drumheller
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heartwood Inn and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Heartwood Inn and Spa, Drumheller, the heart of the Canadian Badlands; home to the Royal Tyrrell - the finest dinosaur/fossil museum in Canada. Our rooms (some kid and pet-friendly) are luxuriously appointed and all have private en-suite bathrooms. For a romantic getaway imagine double-sized jetted tub, bubble bath, fireplace, chocolates and champagne. The Heartwood has two guest houses for families or groups: the Chancel with three beds, full kitchen, big back yard and bathroom with jetted tub. Our completely equipped Vacation Bungalow (located just across the street from the hotel), has a large yard, off-street parking, firepit and barbeque. Make the Heartwood Inn and Spa your choice for those special occasions - small weddings, anniversary parties, corporate retreats, family reunions, Spa Getaways and more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Heartwood Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartwood Inn And Spa Drumheller, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing