We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for a night”
Review of Badlands Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Badlands Motel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Drumheller
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We recently stayed one night, but would not stay more. Price is good compared to other lodging in the area. Newer bathroom, but I would remove the carpet, (lots of stains ) and just put some sort of hard surface flooring in.

We were very disappointed with the town of Drumheller, here they have this world class museum, and it is worth your time to visit, but the town itself is quite like a dump. I would think the town would take advantage of the Royal Terrill museum, and put some money into presenting their town to everyone visiting from around the world. The only clean looking establishments are the chains, come on Drumheller, you can do better than this. I can't be the only one that feels this way.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

It is pet friendly and a great space!!! Liked it so much that we r going back labor day weekend. Great staff and affordable rates. The room size was awesome and great to have a choice to cook yourself or eat out!!! We loved Drumheller and met some awesome locals at the saloon!!! We will so be back!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judyandshane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Based on generally good reviews, we decided to stay here, preferring a mom-n-pop place over a chain. Check-in was easy, and the staff friendly. A room with two doubles cost us around $100. The room was a non-smoking room (it even had a no-smoking sign on the door). The smell of decades worth of stale cigarette smoke was disgusting. Within an hour of being in the room, we were feeling nauseous, had runny noses and sore throats. We called around to every other hotel in town, but it was late in the day, and there were no other available rooms in Drumheller, so we had to stay. Carpet was stained, ceiling peeling in the bathroom and the wall was brown and dissolving along the tub. Also, there was no dead-bolt or any means of securing the door besides the locking door knob (which meant anyone with a key could enter while we were asleep. This is an Alberta Approved Accommodation, which, according to their website, means it's clean and safe. This was neither. We felt sick all night, didn't sleep a wink, and couldn't wait to get home, shower and wash every article of clothing to get rid of the smoke smell. I wouldn't recommend this place to my worst enemy. Truly disgusting and a complete waste of money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I booked this motel at the very last minute....we drove up and immediately my husband said a throw back to the 60s....he was so right! The hotel is obviously dated... The check in was fast and all rooms are all a drive up. Walking in the carpet is obviously needing a change, spotted but it is clean, the beds are comfortable and clean bathroom is so dated and the doors are needing a painting...the restaurant is only open at certain hours. We are only here for 1 night, I wouldn't stay but all the hotels are booked in Drumheller. The curtains don't offer much privacy, the fan in the bathroom is loud and doesn't work well.

The only thing good about this is that it's just down the road from the museum.

Avoid unless you have no other choice...

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FtMacTompkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

carol at the front desk was just amazing helped us out always stay there when in town the staff is just as good always friendly . nice clean rooms I would say any one going to Drumheller to stay there you will be glad you did .

Room Tip: good location all round
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leanne f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The lady that runs the motel was so great to deal with. She helped us in many ways and provided us with material that was above and beyond. The guy next to us was also impressed with the management. The hotel was average but the personal touch was well worth the stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helloactive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

After finding ourselves at a less the accommodation hotel we found ourselves homeless for the night...by this time it was nearly 7pm....We were just passing though Drumheller so we could go to the museum and the coal mine and needed a pet friendly hotel to keep our dog at while we check these attractions out..that being said the hotel we were booked in at was not a good place to stay...as we drove around we got my mum to call around from home. She found us a room at the badlands motel!

After our first experience that night I was a little worried about not staying at a chain..but as we pulled up I was relieved...we stayed here as kids....
We checked in (last room left! turns out it was a huge 3 bedroom room)...as we told the owner why we were in drumheller and the story of what had happened...she told us we would not have time to do the museum that night and was kind enough to tell us to stay as late as we needed to the next morning/afternoon so we could do the museum and leave the dog in the room at no extra charge...this went above and beyond what any hotel had to do...to boot if we were too late she said she would watch our dog in her appt so the maids could clean our room! WOW!

rooms are a little old, havent changed since we stayed in the 90s...but they were VERY clean and accommodating...walls were a little thin but we did not see as a problem as most people were very quiet...
Breakfast at WIFS is amazing...8 dollars for the worlds biggest waffle that you cant not finish!

There was no pet fee which was nice and everything was a great value...we cant wait to stay here again

Room Tip: Dont expect the worlds most modern room! But they are comfy and clean! rooms on the second floor hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kirsty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Drumheller hotels
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller
1.6 mi away
Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Drumheller AB
Travelodge Drumheller AB
#7 of 9 in Drumheller
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Quality Hotel Drumheller
Quality Hotel Drumheller
#6 of 9 in Drumheller
213 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramada Drumheller Hotel & Suites
1.1 mi away
Heartwood Inn and Spa
Heartwood Inn and Spa
#1 of 9 in Drumheller
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badlands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badlands Motel

Address: 801 North Dinosaur Trail, Drumheller, Alberta T0J 0Y1, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Drumheller
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Drumheller
Price Range: £43 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Badlands Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Badlands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Badlands Motel Drumheller, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing