We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Management - Not Worth It” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sizzling Family Restaurant

Sizzling Family Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 42 Restaurants in Drumheller
Price range: US$0 - US$18
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Thai, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“New Management – Not Worth It”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

Sizzling House was recommended in our guide book, though other online reviews spoke of new owner ship.

Loving Thai food and trying to be adventurous we gave it a shot, though the exterior is extremely off putting. Apparently, we should have judged this restaurant by its exterior. The food was overpriced. The buffet selection had been sitting there untouched for some time. And my Tom Yum soup tasted like canned tomato soup with mushrooms – at least the mushrooms were fresh instead of canned.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rosebud, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best food in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Despite having some language difficulty with our server who was clearly more fluent in Chinese than English, the food was great. When we return to Drumheller we will definitely make this little eating place a stop. And perhaps we might consider their take-out option if we have a busy schedule.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank LaVerne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice little Family restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Had the Buffet dinner. It was pretty good. Only thing missing was the rice. Servers were very nice and friendly.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bernard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Anniversary dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

My mother in law took us here for our anniversary last year. This is the second chinese food place here in Drumheller and while they are better than the first, it's still not that great. In a pinch I would go back here though.

The buffet was restocked regularly but there are very few choices and if you order from the menu they are quick but the food just isn't something I would write home about.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Tls73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sizzling Family Restaurant also viewed

Drumheller, Alberta
Drumheller, Alberta
 

Been to Sizzling Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing