We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hosts, spotless rooms, reasonable price”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Drumheller
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Newcastle Country Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Drumheller
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Friendly hosts, spotless rooms, reasonable price”
Reviewed 21 August 2007

What more can one really ask for than the 3 things mentioned in the title? The couple who run the inn are warm and friendly people. They helped us with directions and pointed out a great little restaurant for dinner that we would never have found otherwise. The rooms themselves are no frills, but very clean and comfortable. The price is very fair.

A nice family-style continental breakfast is also provided, free of charge, as is parking.

Drumheller isn't exactly a luxury-resort type town like Banff (our next destination on our trip), so you can't expect to find a 4-star accommodation in the middle of the badlands, but Newcastle Country Inn is a place nobody could ever complain about.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank LookingForHelp24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    24
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
61
47
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2007

We rented 2 rooms to accommodate all 6 of us: 3 middle aged, 2 kids (10 and 13) and my mom at 68. We stayed at this inn only for one night. For all of us, the cleanliness was the first thing that stood out; the place is spotless. If this is important to you (it is to us), you cannot possibly find a cleaner place!

This is a very large house, which has been converted into an inn. So, much of it is house like. There are rooms both upstairs and downstairs (basement with windows and our rooms were downstairs). The rooms come with a TV, independednt washroom (including shower and bath tub), etc.

The owners are extremly friendly and treat you like friends. The very large kitchen with several small tables is where breakfast is self served.

This is not a regular hotel type accommodation and if you are into partying late at night with friends, etc., it would neither be suitable for you nor your hotel mates. However, if you are into exploring the town and surrounding and are using the rooms to rest and if you appreciate a super clean and very well maintained establishment, I could not praise Newcastle Country Inn enough.

  • Liked — Spotless
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mo-safer-at
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, AB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2007

Really enjoyed our stay at the Newcastle Country Inn while visiting and geocaching in Drumheller for the weekend. Beautiful room, very nice people, will definitely stay again!

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Heroetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2006

We were extremely pleased with our stay here ... the room was charming and spotlessly clean. We were made to feel more like family than paying guests! Wish that we could find more places like this.

  • Liked — The cleanliness and friendliness
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Taqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
252 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2006

A small country inn, personally supervised by Judith and Barbara. I felt very welcome here in a fairly quiet area about 1.7km from downtown. My room was perhaps smaller than most hotel rooms, but very homely and in immaculate condition, with fridge and quiet air-conditioning. Continental breakfast is included and there was a good selection of juices, cereals and breads. No food service in the area, but downtown is ony 5 mins with a good selection of restaurants. Also very close to the Badlands Passion Play and the Dinosaur Trail. This is a must for spectacular views of weird scenery, and the Tyrrell Museum is good fun for both adults and children. Also the Hoodoos are weird and fun.

Helpful?
6 Thank female-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Drumheller hotels
1.4 mi away
Ramada Drumheller Hotel & Suites
1.4 mi away
Heartwood Inn and Spa
Heartwood Inn and Spa
#1 of 9 in Drumheller
338 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Drumheller
Quality Hotel Drumheller
#6 of 9 in Drumheller
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Drumheller AB
Travelodge Drumheller AB
#9 of 9 in Drumheller
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Country Inn

Property: Newcastle Country Inn
Address: 1130 Newcastle Trail, Drumheller, Alberta T0J 0Y2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Drumheller
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Drumheller
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful inn with 11 air-conditioned rooms each with their own bath. Each room has a 32 inch flat screen TV with cable, mini fridge, table and 2 chairs, good lighting, and free wifi. A lovely self-serve breakfast with lots of choices start the day off right. Gluten free available upon request. Please let us know when you check-in. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn Drumheller
Newcastle Country Hotel
Drumheller Country Inn
Newcastle Country Inn Drumheller, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing