We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Biggest burger of my life!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Grouch

Old Grouch
Ranked #13 of 42 Restaurants in Drumheller
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Prince Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Biggest burger of my life!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Excellent burger and fries. A feeling like eating at gramma's house. Amazing Pies!! If you get a chance visit the regular that stops in around 11:30 everyday. He's over 90 years old and moves like he's 70! Wonderful man to talk to. Some great stories. I'll never forget talking with him

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank docshocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camas
Level Contributor
226 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great Burgers - unique setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

A friend in Calgary recommended Old Grouches.....Not much to look at from the outside - ricketty stairs, needs paint.....frankly, we were a little nervous driving up. went in and was greeted by the grouch (who wasn't grouchy at all) ordered burgers and fries........that Alberta beef was excellent. fries - very good.
even if you don't like comfort food, you have to see this place. unique restaurant with lots to keep you occupied while the cook your food. If we pass this way again, will definitly stop here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CamasGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous home-cooking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

The outside is nothing to look at but don't let that fool you. My friend and I both ordered burgers and they were some of the best home cooker burgers we've had in a long, long time. The service was friendly and the décor inside was quirky and entertaining.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaA78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ear Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food in a unique environment!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

Delicious food! Three of us had a Ukrainian special and the homemade cabbage rolls were superb. The bread was homemade as well and toasted to perfection.
One person had the Grouchasaurus burger with the works. A pound of beef cooked up and dropped on a loaf of bread (still homemade) with all the fixings. Hot and juicy!
True, the environment is best entitled "unique." It was a lot like walking into an antique store for a meal but it fed to the theme of the place. Each of us were served with different plates, cups and silverware. And there was a real homey feel. By that I mean there was a water jug and after your first cup you got up and served yourself.
The cook came out to talk to us and show us his big pig. We were the only ones there and he was interested in seeing if the whole burger got eaten. When my friend didn't finish his burger, they provided a piggy pouch to take it home in.
The only thing that kept it from a five star was a rooster that crowed at anyone who tried to reach the men's room. I found it downright scary.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BenjaminSHarelken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
110 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Quirky atmosphere, good homestyle cooking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

Folksy music oriented decor, certainly not fancy but comfortable. Try the daily special for dinner. The Ukranian meal was great, delicious borscht, home baked bread, cabbage rolls, perogies and sausage for less than $12. Service a bit slow, but friendly enough to more than make up for the extra time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Silverchemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Grouch also viewed

 

Been to Old Grouch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing