We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting, Dirty, Unapologetic”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Athabasca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
New Western Athabasca Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Athabasca
Prince George, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disgusting, Dirty, Unapologetic”
Reviewed 2 August 2011

First night partiers outside our room kept going until 4:30 AM. Management did not control this after several calls- broken glass and litter in parking lot (propped door let them in and out of building), vomiting-the worst! Beds have no fitted sheets- loose over crunchy liner, old beds-horrible. No bathroom fan- water running off walls. Toilet and floor dirty. Carpeting filthy! Air conditioner fan really loud and rattlely. Our complaints were not addressed, nor did they reimburse. This was a joke- do not stay here!

Room Tip: Friends stayed at Super 8- great experience there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank everydayjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    8
    4
    8
    14
See reviews for
9
2
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mallorytown, ontario
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Stayed here for 2 weeks on business. The rooms were large and we appreciated the microwave, frig and coffee maker. Staff were very friendly. Good restaurant and a bar.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ballycanoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kindersley
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Need to write this
1. This hotel needs to be updated
2. Carpet seems to be dirty or it looks that way.
3. Light shades are falling apart
4. Windows are great lots of naturla light they have been updated.
5. Brooms were in the same spot on day one to the same spot on day 4
6. Vaccum cleaner was in the exact same spot for the week
7. Time to dust the lounge and update
8. Counter top that was sitting in the same part of the lobby on day one as day 4
9. Food was good
This hotel has great potineal

I stay in lots of hotels and motels.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dbbceb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2010

It was my unlucky day. I had to ask the receptionist to change my room 3 times and none of them had the heater working. Despite her efort to please me it wasn't her fault. The place is old, rooms are outdated, it's like you go to a 3* in Cuba.
Fortunatelly there is a excellent Super 8 motel 3Km away.
Thanks God I could move to another place.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank callatis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2010

Great Hotel!
Very friendly staff, comfortable rooms, and very convenient location. Loved the restaurant that is in the hotel!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fielder67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2009

All the staffs were very kind and informative, Food was great and beautiful view from the lounge was just enough to enjoy with cold beer at the end of your day. Room was very clean and comfortable with all available amenities.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SkPassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edmonton
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2009

This hotel was filthy. The Men's washroom in the taven was enough to make us gag. Staff seemed very unconcerned about adressing our concerns.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank northguy1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athabasca hotels
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Athabasca AB
Super 8 Athabasca AB
#1 of 3 in Athabasca
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Athabasca Lodge Motel
Athabasca Lodge Motel
#2 of 3 in Athabasca
17 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Athabasca
Days Inn Athabasca
#1 of 2 in Athabasca
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Western Athabasca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Western Athabasca Inn

Property: New Western Athabasca Inn
Address: 5211 41 Ave, Athabasca, Alberta T9S 1A5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Athabasca County > Athabasca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Athabasca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Full Service Hotel in Town of Athabasca Restaurant with monthly buffet with live music Lounge with UFC and Edmonton Oiler's Hockey Game Bar with Live DJ and Special DrinksRoom with Comfortable Beds, Internet, Microwave, all complimentary services available ... more   less 
Also Known As:
New Western Athabasca Hotel Athabasca
Best Western Athabasca
Athabasca Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing