We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Moulin CastelaS

Moulin CastelaS
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Our olive groves covers 36 hectares (about 90 acres) on the sun-drenched footslopes of Les Alpilles. We like to press our olives without delay, to retain all of their fruitiness and freshness.Fresh and fruity, our oil wonderfully embodies the exceptional character of the Vallée des Baux de Provence terroir.Every day you can visit our mill and taste our different blends of our award winning Olive Oils.
Evansville, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
508 reviews
295 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stopped here during a great day of seeing the sights. Remy took us through the production of the oils - he was a hoot and we enjoyed learning about the process, then tasting their offerings. They have some wonderful oils and though we were already at our luggage limit I just placed a large order online. The shop has a great selection of their products. Our guide told us this company has won prestigious awards and after our visit and tasting we certainly believe it. The olive trees surrounding the shop/mill also make for great photos. We learned so much about olives, oil and the other products - definitely a stop worth making.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kwagmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastelaS, Propriétaire at Moulin CastelaS, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Thank you very much. Your comments are always very much appreciated.
Merci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    37
    6
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a taste of provence”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Moulin CastelaS produces several delicious olive oils, which are available for tasting. We walked out with the extra virgin, black olive oil, olive wood plank and bowl, olive oil hand cream, and an array of specialty tapanades created from ancient Romans recipes. The owner was especially kind and talkative, sharing interesting tid bits of French culture that you can only learn from those willing to share their opinions and experience with you. We loved the place and we loved the view, both on the way into Les Baux and down the other side.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Delicious olive oil and amazing owner who gives personal tours in English!”
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We loved loved the olive oil here and loved speaking with the owner who gave us a great, quick intro into how olive oil is made at Castelas. She kindly and thoughtfully also emailed us afterwards with the places in New York that sell Castelas olive oil. Sure enough, we found it in New York and have been buying it ever since.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank neemz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jhugues, Propriétaire at Moulin CastelaS, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Thank You very much for this nice comment.

Visiting our place one can see that we are a real producer: we try our best to share our passion. You can see, taste, ask any question pertinent to our farming practices.

Your comment makes us want to perform even more

THANK YOU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very good olive oil”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Very friendly staff in cute shop, olive oils are very good, we took quite a few home! Different varieties can be tasted.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank robertmonique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastelaS, Propriétaire at Moulin CastelaS, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment our production.

JB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful Olive oil!”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Just outside Les Baux de Provence CastelaS olive farm can be found where the shop is open to buy olive oil products and soaps. You can also taste the different flavours too!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank twinAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jhugues, Propriétaire at Moulin CastelaS, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
Thank you very much for your nice comment, it makes us want to perform even more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moulin CastelaS also viewed

Les Baux de Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Les Baux de Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Les Baux de Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Les Baux de Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Moulin CastelaS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing