We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Les Baux de Provence
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostellerie de la Reine-Jeanne
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Les Baux is undeniably breathtaking, and this hostellerie allows you to stay inside the village itself. I felt as though I had travelled back in time, or was living within a theme park (in a good way). The staff allowed us to check in early, and were helpful when it came to arranging transportation to our next destination. We enjoyed our meals in the outdoor cafe (dinner and breakfast) and they served the best coffee/cocoa that we had in the region. The accommodations themselves were simple, but what it lacked in luxury it made up for with its view and location. I was surprised to see another reviewer mention air conditioning, because neither of our rooms were climate controlled. This was a problem because we were visiting during a heatwave, there was no fan, and the window had no screen which allowed several flies in. Also, we were traveling with a toddler and were terrified she would fall out the window as the railing was purely decorative so we had to keep the window closed for her safety. To end on a positive note, this place smelled AMAZING and the location and views simply can't be beat. I don't know what they used to clean the room, but the lavender fragrance was heavenly!

Room Tip: If you are traveling in warmer months, be sure to reserve a room with climate control! Also, if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventureRN83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    49
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
20
54
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights & had a wonderful experience. The staff were extremely helpful & friendly - everything I requested was seen to with no hesitation. Wifi was good, restaurant fabulous, air con & bathroom all functioning well. I'd recommend paying the little extra for the room with large balcony (70euro) overlooking the valley. Spectacular

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank ems868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC Metro Area
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I was on a cruise tour of the Mediterranean and one of our stops was Les Baux. The restaurant is located on the side of a cliff, in the heart of and overlooking the beautiful Alpilles Mountain range. The service was fantastic; they had to serve three course meals of two buses of 30 people each during a lunch while also taking care of their other non-tour guests and the timing was spot on. Each course came out at proper temperature and the portions were both generous and delicious. We had:

Starter: Roasted ½ eggplant boat with fresh tomato coulis

Main dish: ½ roasted chicken w herbs (thyme, garlic) with ½ seasoned tomato w parsley garlic mix and
camargue red rice (special rice of this area).

Dessert: Creme caramel topped w orange supreme, creme anglaise w fresh vanilla beans, mint sprig

I highly recommend the restaurant and would come back to stay here as well. The town is charming and the Musee de santons (these are the artisan clay people and towns used in the creches at Christmas) is free and quite nice. At the Château at the top of the hill, you can see reenactments of medieval war weapons (catapults, etc) plus people in period costume doing reenactments as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DragaMoreta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
456 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is the only hotel/hostel available to be able to stay inside the special village of Les Baux de Provence. Your car has to be parked outside, but the lovely staff came to help with the bags. The hotel has a very decent restaurant - and although the rooms are simple, they are neat and clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We didn't spend night here, but only lunch at this restaurant/hotel. Food is quite nice and staff are very friendly with very good English. Menu for the day is not expensive and it is quite huge steak and pasta. Taste is quite good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed one night at Hostellerie de la Reine-Jeanne, and it was a positive experience. Staff is very available and helpful, with a familiar atmosphere. The room was not very big but with all the facilities. Wi-fi was working, although with some interruptions.

Important: if you want to get dinner, every restaurant of the village closes at 10.30 p.m.!

Room Tip: We had a room with a view on the countryside and that was simply great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alessandra_Vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I just read one reviewer who hated this hotel (which is his right) and he claimed that it was the only place to eat or stay in the village of Les Baux. We had a great experience and it's important to correct that impression. There are at least 6 - 7 restaurants open in the evening in Les Baux. There is one other hotel at the other end of the village. (Both hotels have been there for many decades.) Being in Les Baux in the evening or early morning is a magical experience - the crowds are gone, the hot August sun is gone, and it's a relaxed, lovely village. Breakfast in the hotel, with the views of the Alpilles hills was memorable. We loved everything about our stay in this village -- including the price, which was cheaper than some places that were not nearly as good.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank erictlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Baux de Provence
17.2 mi away
Mas de l'Oulivie
Mas de l'Oulivie
#1 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
395 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel de la Poste
Grand Hotel de la Poste
#5 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel d'Angleterre
Hotel d'Angleterre
#3 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
B&B Hotel Salon de Provence
B&B Hotel Salon de Provence
#8 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
93 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Fabian des Baux
Hotel Restaurant Fabian des Baux
#6 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Select
Hotel Select
#4 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie de la Reine-Jeanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie de la Reine-Jeanne

Property: Hostellerie de la Reine-Jeanne
Address: Grand rue, 13520 Les Baux de Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Les Baux de Provence
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Les Baux de Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Hostellerie De La Reine-Jeanne Provence-Alpes-Cote D'Azur/Les Baux De Provence, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing