We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it for the views and deer park alone!”
Review of Dyrham Park

Dyrham Park
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Dyrham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dyrham Park is home to an ancient deer park, 17th-century house and formal garden. In 2015/16, the house underwent a huge conservation project to replace the leaking roof and install a biomass boiler. The house and garden are now in a state of transformation and include new tours, areas and exhibitions.
Devizes
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Worth it for the views and deer park alone!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

And the house and garden were well worth a visit too!
We went on a lovely sunny day and walked around the park for a long time without even seeing the house which is hidden in the valley. The views were magnificent-right across to Wales and we saw herds of deer.
The house itself was interesting and the guides very approachable and knowledgeable. The first owner was fascinating as he managed to keep his position through various monarchs just be being very good at his job-a first class civil servant! I especially enjoyed the kitchen area and the glimpse of life 'below stairs'.
Lovely gardens and wild flower meadows.
The sort of place to go back to again and again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Abby1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    305
    87
    22
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
South Molton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

we went without too much expectation, one of our party was in a small mobility scooter so we knew that their visit would be compromised, but to our delight the room attendants were so helpful and caring that although she couldn't see the top floors a folder had been prepared for such occasions, an amazing place to visit

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank c_john610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful break in our journey”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We called in at Dyrham en-route to our holiday base in Somerset. What a delight. The courtesy bus takes you to the house which is quite a long downhill walk away from the car park. We walked down to the house and saw deer on the way which was lovely. The gardens are beautiful and very easy to get round with paths everywhere. The house is fascinating and well worth a look round. Very good restaurant/tea room with an outside seating area for fine days. Loved the day at Dyrham and will be visiting again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank bobby079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely walk to the house, great views”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I went on a glorious summer day on the long walk to the house from the parking. Going downhill is relatively easy and the walk back is OK as long as you are reasonably fit and active. There is a bus that goes up and down to the house from the car park if you need a lift. The gardens are also lovely. The deer in the park on the walk down are a real treat to see. The male herd with their amazing antlers looked stunning. We did not go into the house and there are places locally that you could probably do a lovely walk for free but it is worth the money and effort.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great few hours with the children”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Spent three hours here as a stopping point returning from a family holiday. Very good NT property and certainly in the top half of those we have visited as members. Courtesy bus ride down to the main house and park was appreciated, especially as we managed to see a small group of deer on the ride down. The grounds are lovely with superb planting and perfect lawns. The children had a great time exploring the different garden sections. Would certainly recommend as a visit for at least a few hours.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LuckyJack1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dyrham Park also viewed

Ozleworth, Gloucestershire
Castle Combe, Cotswolds
 
Coleford, Forest of Dean
Coleford, Forest of Dean
 

Been to Dyrham Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing