We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southern Sun Montecasino
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Certificate of Excellence
Gaborone
1 review
“Marvellous experience”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Perfection was the order of the day throughout my stay at Southern Sun Monte Casino Hotel which was during my leisure and experience trip to Johannesburg City.
The room was top class and clean,the location aware some.
i liked the welcoming...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Isascah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    268
    58
    13
    7
See reviews for
209
174
22
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I stayed here for just 01night in July2014, though didnt get much time to explore the entire property, I must say that the location of this hotel is fantastic! Located very close to several restaurants, bars and clubs to choose from.

It is located close to the Lion Park, Walter Sisulu Botanical Gardens, Fourways Mall, the Gautrain Railway Station and many other attractions that could be enjoyed during your stay at this hotel.

Excellent room with all latest facilities, free wi-fi accessibility in the room, courteous staff with good service made my stay comfortable.

This hotel is part of a major entertainment as well (Montecasino)............it has a wide range of approx. 40 Restaurants, state-of-the art Cinema Theatre and most importantly the Casino.

Definitely worth your stay!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerlynKurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Checked in for a couple nights of poker.
first, this complex is not really as stated on tripadvisor, in Sandton. It s a long way (R200 taxi), or 40 minutes by bus to Sandton city. Its mor on its own complex, not lcose to any city, but everything is there, just expect it to be like any casino complex where you are stuck there.
The hotel itself is fine, if pricey for Jo'burg.
Note. I saw a review stating it was noisy due to casino - I have no idea about that - it is 2 or 3 minutes walk to casino which is in itself totally enclosed so not possible to get any noise from there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbo978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I'm writing this at 1.40 a.m. with noise from the Montecasino resort, of which this hotel is a part, pounding through the floor and walls. That's in addition to the road noise from just outside my room. It's a pity because the room itself is quite pleasant - basic, but clean and comfortable. Sorry - but an absolute basic for any hotel room anywhere in the world is that a guest should be able to sleep undisturbed.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel if you want to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mpumalanga, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

good place to stay if you have kids, there is enough entertainment for them, the bird park is good value for money , the ballon ride is over priced, there is enough entertainment for young an old, hotel service was excellent, awesome breakfast that caters for all including vegetarians, staff were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here a number of times now. Great service, wonderful food and lovely rooms (as long as you don't get a smoking room as the smell is not very pleasant!).

The thing about Montecasino is that it built in a kind of Italian style (after the original Montecasino) and the whole thing I find slightly odd as it is a little like being part of a film set. There are any restaurants in the complex outside the hotel and these can be found by entering into a 'town' which had been constructed inside with streets, night sky and stars, shops etc. there is a wide range of choice which is great and it's all very convenient but anyone looking for an authentic African experience might want to stay elsewhere.

I think it is problematic for people staying in Johannesburg to find somewhere that may allow them to wander around freely so this is definitely a safe option but for me, it feels pretty surreal being there. Having said that, I will probably stay there again with business as it is convenient, comfortable with great service but just bear in mind that you are stuck in a complex that has been manufactured for a certain type of experience.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

On arrival we can park underground with a R10 fee on first visit not refundable. Thereafter you can use you room card to scan for parking. Very good.

Reception is welcoming with good staff serving. Generally all staff are great. Smiley. A young lady on particular was impressive. Voicing around in different roles. See her at breakfast. At reception. She helped with room change. Management were proud of her which shows there interest in customer service.

Rooms were small. Way too small for two people. Showers need more attention to avoid shower water spills but you can just call maintenance as they know how to fix with beading of the glass door. We changed room from one with lovely balcony to one without as we needed that space for our luggage. Long stay I would not suggest. Short stay yes. Business stay yes.

Breakfast is awesome. It's a typical South African and British breakfast. But elevated in a grand way. You can order latte's and other warm drinks. Desserts sections is great. Egg station was fantastic. Best omelettes ever. Would have liked more chicken or lamb sausages but my tries failed. Saying there for 8 days split 4+4 means we needed variety. And I guess we got it.

Did not use facilities much. With Montecasino next door we were always busy meeting friends there. The views from lobby bar lounge are lovely.

Just a feel good hotel but with small rooms. With bigger rooms (unlikely) and tweaking some maintenance issues I will give it a fiver. For this visit its just a well earned 4.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank pt2pt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fourways
0.2 mi away
The Palazzo Montecasino
0.8 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Fourways
1.7 mi away
Indaba Hotel
Indaba Hotel
#4 of 7 in Fourways
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 48 in Sandton
933 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 48 in Sandton
866 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Oasis Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Montecasino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Montecasino

Property: Southern Sun Montecasino
Address: cnr Witkoppen Road & Montecasino Boulevard, Fourways 2055, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Fourways
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Montecasino 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Sun Montecasino, Johannesburg Bold, glamorous and undeniably spectacular, Southern Sun Montecasino brings together modern convenience and old-world Venetian elegance with ease. This Tsogo Sun hotel was inspired by the 15th-century villa of Palazzo Corsini that lies on the slopes between Gianicolo and Tiber River in Italy. With a host of modern facilities and a convenient location within the Montecasino Entertainment & Gaming Complex, you are sure to be swept away from the moment you step inside the impressive lobby of this memorable hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Southern Sun Montecasino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Montecasino Hotel Fourways

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing