We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just for Business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel Fourways
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Certificate of Excellence
Montagnana, Veneto, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just for Business”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Nice Hotel,
Unfortunately non smoking rooms smell of sigarettes and had to keep the windows open all day..
No restaurant inside but it's not a big deal because there are several just outside.
The fan in bathroom is very noisy and can't be shut down 'cause centralized.
No free WiFi in the rooms..

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cristiano D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Fourways, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for the review. We apologize for the cigarette smell in the bedroom. This is definitely something we will look in to. Please note that we do offer one hour free WiFi to all guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    91
    34
    6
    6
See reviews for
17
26
3
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The City Lodge will probably not see me again. Security talks loudly outside on their walky talkies and to each other. A non smoking room smells like smoke. You can hear everything in the neighbouring room, it sounds like furniture is being moved on your head. the down stuffed pillows is an absolute joke, one is too low and two pillows are to high. They don't own sponge pillows. To top it all, they did not even have my checkin details readily available.

The worst experience I have had in a long time at a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonom88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Fourways, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for the review. We apologise for your experience. A non-smoking room should not smell of smoke, so we will look into this. Sorry you did not enjoy the pillows, but this can be a highly individual requirement. We will also look into the other matters you raised including security guards and check-in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polokwane, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014

My stay at city lodge was awesome. The staff were welcoming and friendly. The security guard opened doors for me.Everything from the room to the staff was perfect.Ooh and their breakfast awesome stuff.I liked the idea that the hotel had restaurants close to it ,so my partner and I could walk to go grab dinner at the Karoo another awesome restaurant. I stayed there for one night. And wouldn't mind doing it again.Awesome stuff

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorgasValencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Fourways, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

My room was very clean. Breakfast buffet had many options. Muffins and Coffee were complimentary each morning as well. It is directly across the street from Monte Casino. About a 20 minute drive to the American International School of Johannesburg, 10 min to Sandton Mall. Many restaurants and a grocery store also within walking distance! I found the workers and management to be friendly, helpful, and extremely accommodating. Nice outdoor pool as well. I have already booked my next stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

City lodge Fourways boasts an array of dirty, poorly-maintained, smoke-entrenched rooms.
The reception staff are cold and unhelpful. Management is unattentive. Housekeeping is well below industry standard. I was shown to several rooms before I finally settled on a less than satisfactory option. If you are a non-smoker or if you are traveling with children, I would recommend booking at another hotel. Non-smoking rooms reek of smoke, passages reek of smoke. For a newly-built hotel the state of the rooms is shocking. From peeling paint, to faulty aircons to broken bathroom shutters, it is a joke.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Fourways, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for the review. We sincerely apologize for your unpleasant experience. We will definitely look into this as we do with these matters. Please note that all the faulty shutters are currently being attended to due to a motor problem – all motors are being replaced; there was an issue with the aircons, but the manufacturers have since resolved these problems. Please visit us again so we can offer you an improved experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I stayed in this hotel for two weeks when on business visit. The hotel is well maintained and clean. The service of the staff is good (not excellent). Breakfast buffet was with full variety of items. The location of hotel is fantastic, just 5 min walktable distance to Montecasino. I did not like hotel's swimming pool, i can say it was a big bath tub. However, overall experience of the was nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirish2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Fourways, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for the review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My stay with City Lodge, Fourways,

Dirty Room.
Leaking Aircon.
Non-smoking room with a stench of cigarette smoke.
Broken mechanical blind which separates room and bathroom and yes it was stuck in the open position.
Three room changes to sort out the above, unfortunately no joy!
By the way nobody helped me move my luggage between these room.


Dirty foyer, stairs, lifts, etc

The list goes on...

Recommendation; CHOOSE ANOTHER HOTEL!

Room Tip: Face the parking lot as the main roads are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ross432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fourways
1.1 mi away
Indaba Hotel
Indaba Hotel
#4 of 7 in Fourways
508 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palazzo Montecasino
0.7 mi away
SunSquare Montecasino
SunSquare Montecasino
#3 of 7 in Fourways
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Oasis Boutique Hotel
4.2 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Bryanston
City Lodge Hotel Bryanston
#26 of 48 in Sandton
57 reviews
3.8 mi away
Road Lodge Rivonia
Road Lodge Rivonia
#3 of 3 in Rivonia
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel Fourways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Fourways

Property: City Lodge Hotel Fourways
Address: Corner Witkoppen Road & Monte Casino Boulevard, Fourways 2062, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Fourways
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Fourways 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based in the heart of Johannesburg's Northern Suburbs, City Lodge Fourways is the ideal location for business and leisure travellers looking for quality accommodation in the area. The Hotel is a stone throw from Monte Casino, the area's entertainment icon, which boasts a world-class theatre, great dining, a casino as well as a cinema complex and many other opportunities to keep you entertained during your stay. Spacious air-conditioned rooms with queen or twin beds. Get the perfect start to another sunny day in South Africa with a legendary City Lodge breakfast, with an option to enjoy outdoors on the hotels large sundowner deck or indoors in the spacious breakfast area. Fitness Room, Boardrooms, Infinity pool ideally positioned on the sundowner deck, safe and secure underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Fourways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Fourways Hotel Fourways

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing