We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Citylodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel Fourways
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

A nice Citylodge, short walk to Monte Casino (your room key-card opens the pedestrian gate)
As usual a good Citylodge breakfast, nice room and friendly staff. Don’t try and park in the basement parking until you have checked in as you need the access code.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Fourways, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for the great review. We're pleased you enjoyed the hotel's setting and the breakfast offerings. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel is situated a stone's throw away from among others, the Monte Casino complex. It is also only a 15 minute drive from the business district of Sandton. Monte Casino has a great selection of restaurants, cinema, children's entertainment etc etc. The rates at the City Lodge whether for a quick business trip or a short break offers great value for money. The staff are of the friendliest you will find.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yusuf O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Fourways, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for the positive review. We're pleased you enjoyed the convenience of the hotel's location, further we're happy to hear that you found our staff friendly. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is our second visit to this CL and both visits have been very pleasant.

The staff are friendly and helpful, the location is perfect, and there's real value for money.

Well done to all the staff for consistently providing great service.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandyFish81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Fourways, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

We thank you for the great review. We're pleased you enjoyed your time with us and found the hotel good value for money. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff - we're glad they provided you good service. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

quite a big 3 stars hotel, nice deco, and nice staff.. breakfast is not including that, 150 Rand per head. worth to eat the breakfast.. the manager is very helpful, and nice, she is the general manager, but she talking to all of the customers in the morning, but serving them the coffee.. very friendly lady and we like her..

but internet only given out for 1 hour free. that is not enough. that also cost too much to be paying for the 4 hours usage.. they should be given that for free.

Room Tip: request to have the free wifi for the beginning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hoon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Fourways, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for the positive review. We're pleased you enjoyed the breakfast service and that you found our GM and staff friendly. With regards to the wifi, we will look into this matter. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Not bad but far from great. Except for the location right opposite Monte Casino. Not even 2 min walk.

Rooms clean and neat but that should be standard at any establishment anyway. Free wi-fi is also the norm these days not just one hour. Also did Not enjoy the fact that room service is not a option.

Other that that no complaints and no wow factors. Would I be back? If in need of affordable accommodation in the area - yes

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan-12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Fourways, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

We thank you for the informative review. We're glad you enjoyed the convenience of the hotel's location. We will look into the issue regarding the wifi. We hope you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I've stayed in this hotel on a couple of occasions for over 10 days each stay. The hotel room is average, except the second stay there was a roach running around. Service is about average.
However, the most disturbing was that on the second stay, just day before my check out I found my room door opened when I returned in the evening. Upon entering I found that some of my personal items (which included a couple of perfumes and a iphone headset was missing, not to mention my toothbrush and toothpaste as well!).
Next day, the manager promptly took down the loss details and matter of fact-ly told me that there would be a lie detector test of the staff who might have gone in and out of the room. No reimbursement would be done before that. There was no other apology that would put me at ease. So far apart from a polygraph test schedule early june no other communication from Evie (the manager) on reimbursement has happened. Disappointing!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chethan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Fourways, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Please accept our apologies for this incident. The GM of the hotel has communicated with you via email regarding an internal investigation into the matter. She will also communicate with you directly if there are any further developments in this regard. Once again, please accept our apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I have a good stay and quality sleep for 2 nights on 6-8 June. A Quiet, clean and comfortable room. Environment was good, with security that after 8 pm the hotel door was locked. A nice touch that hotel provides free lemonade and muffin, light breakfast at the go! Location was opposite Monte Casino! The only drawback was free wifi for 1hour daily.
I do not mind to stay here again if I am going to Monte Casino or nearby areas.

Room Tip: Room facing Monte Casino has a better view to overlook the city in that area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank euricatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Fourways, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

We thank you for the great review. We're glad you enjoyed the convenience and security of the hotel's location, we're also pleased you enjoyed all the food offerings as well. With regards to the wi-fi we will look into this issue. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fourways
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun Montecasino
1.6 mi away
Indaba Hotel
Indaba Hotel
#4 of 7 in Fourways
548 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palazzo Montecasino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SunSquare Montecasino
SunSquare Montecasino
#3 of 7 in Fourways
929 reviews
3.3 mi away
Road Lodge Rivonia
Road Lodge Rivonia
#3 of 3 in Rivonia
87 reviews
3.7 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Bryanston
City Lodge Hotel Bryanston
#27 of 46 in Sandton
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel Fourways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Fourways

Address: Corner Witkoppen Road & Monte Casino Boulevard, Fourways 2062, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Fourways
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Price Range: £83 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Fourways 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based in the heart of Johannesburg's Northern Suburbs, City Lodge Fourways is the ideal location for business and leisure travellers looking for quality accommodation in the area. The Hotel is a stone throw from Monte Casino, the area's entertainment icon, which boasts a world-class theatre, great dining, a casino as well as a cinema complex and many other opportunities to keep you entertained during your stay. Spacious air-conditioned rooms with queen or twin beds. Get the perfect start to another sunny day in South Africa with a legendary City Lodge breakfast, with an option to enjoy outdoors on the hotels large sundowner deck or indoors in the spacious breakfast area. Fitness Room, Boardrooms, Infinity pool ideally positioned on the sundowner deck, safe and secure underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Fourways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Fourways Hotel Fourways

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing