We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in Sandton with amazing service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Palazzo Montecasino
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“An oasis in Sandton with amazing service”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The Palazzo was a real find, we've been to Johannesburg many times but haven't stayed here before and it was exceptional in every way. The decor is wonderful, the designers seem to have looked at many of those magnificent crumbling Italian lakeside hotels and come up with a look that replicates them without trying to look faux old. We arrived expecting to be underwhelmed by tacky fake Italianate architecture but in fact they have created beautiful touches everywhere and in particular the gardens and pool area are lovely and tranquil, far from the rest of the world outside the gates.
The rooms were good, not huge but well appointed. The service however is where this hotel really stands out. The Palazzo seems to have a policy of having a lot of senior staff always visible and they are always making sure everything is running smoothly. In fact the general staff are so good they dont seem to need anyone checking on them but you got the impression if anything went wrong it would be instantly dealt with. We had one minor technical hitch with our room and the problem was sorted out so efficiently by one of the staff, he installed us in the lounge with drinks while it was sorted out and generally made us feel that fixing it was the top priority for all the staff in the hotel. On another occasion one of the reception staff came running out to the car park to check we'd got directions to where we were going. When leaving one of the staff brought water for the journey on a silver tray covered in Rose petals. It was the sort of place they constantly surprise you with little touches, we enjoyed ourselves immensely.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kavax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear reviewer,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review and for your kind words and comments.
We really do appreciate it when our guests notice how passionate our staff is, and that in deed they love what they do.
Management presence does serve as a dual function in terms of having to manage processes but due to the fact that we love what we do, you will notice us on the floors and that is the real reason that we are always around!
The property is truly amazing and it does make me really proud to come here every day.
Thank you again for sharing your review, it truly does remind us all of how fantastic our “place” is and how lucky we are to be able to come here every day.
Kind regards
Madeleine Roux | Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    226
    73
    24
    16
See reviews for
215
373
42
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I Travel to south Africa 1-2 times per year. And this is my favourite hotel in Johannesburg the staff are always excellent . The hotel Is clean and nicely maintained during the week it feels quiet and whilst the pool is enormous and gorgeous it is never busy. On my last trip I was there on a Sunday and there was a very long queue to be seated for breakfast so gave up and went back up to the room and ordered room service which arrived promptly. I stayed in the deluxe room that has French windows onto a small patio with a table and 2, chairs definitely nicer than the standard room which is more than adequate but if you can spend the bit extra do. Everything one would need in the room is there and housekeeping do a good job. All in all this hotel meets my expectations of a 5 star property and having the casino / entertainment complex a short stroll away is convenient for evening meals etc with a plethora of restaurants to choose from

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klaassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

After several stays time to put my thoughts down, A very nioce hotel on the outskirts of a casino complex and that is all that is here, it is out of the way with Sandton 20-25mins away so a car really is a must. If like me you arrive in the morning (most international flight arrive am.) there is seldom a chance of a room, so be prepared for a wait and if its winter there really isn't anyhting to do. The bar, crazily has very little room and on many occasions found myself not bothering due to no room. The rooms dim but quite nice, Bathroom is a neo Italian stone style affair which is quite nice bedroom good size with all the amenities, very comfy bed. Pool again nice size and very well decked out. But this is it, it is portrayed as a 5 star hotel, if more thought had been put in it would be great, the bar juts not enough room, the room bathroom what a pain it must be to clean and maintain, the pool is accessed through the restaurant and if your unluckly enough to get a room at the very end of a corridor well enjoy the stroll. What makes up for these downfalls are the staff, without a doubt they earn the 5 stars.

Room Tip: Avoid a ground floor room to the left if you can, the trees keep them in the shade, so the higher th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newlandsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
477 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Stayed here for 1 week. Place was pretty quiet, hence a touch soul-less. Style and décor that of an Italian Grand House, complete with frescos and paintings on the wall. My room was a ‘de-luxe’ King, and it was tiny although it had everything in there that you could want including a safe and A/C which worked well. Toiletries not high end which was a surprise. Gardens beautifully landscaped complete with water features and fountains. Location is right next to the Casino and a whole host of eateries. Breakfast OK but rip-off expensive. Two poached eggs on toast, Orange juice (x2) and coffee (x2) a whopping 195 Rand! Didn’t eat in the restaurant after that episode. Service is smart and a special note for Amy in reception who could not be more charming or accommodating. I thought the Piano Player at breakfast was a little pretentious but I guess if its pretention and mixing it with the wealthy is what you like/want, then this is the place for you. If its value for money or you have shallow pockets, avoid.

Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Malim27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Stayed in this hotel on 25 February 2012 with a friend while attending a workshop in Sandton. Check in went well, and we stayed in a superior room with two twin beds. The room had a beautiful view over a fish pond and the outside breakfast area and garden. The room was very neat, lovely comfortable white linen on the beds. The bathroom is well appointed with seperate shower and a bath. There is a well equiped mini bar in the room, and coffee and tea making facilities. The hotel is walking distance from the bird gardens and the Montecasion complex. If however you do not feel like walking to the complex, there is a golf cart that transport you to and from the complex. We had a buffet style breakfast with a good variety of food, fruit bevereges etc. Will definately make use of this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackspaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Stayed at this hotel with my partner over a weekend.
The staff we very friendly, polite and willing to help.
Room was great and bed was extremely comfortable.
Was however a bit dissapointed in the lay out and selection of the breakfast.
The location of the hotel and adjoining entertainment complex is fabulous.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveller2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ironbridge Gorge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We have just returned from a 7 night stay here and all I can say is ...."It was fantastic"!!!! From arrival to departure I could not find fault, this is an extremely well managed hotel in an amazing setting. We had a beautifully appointed room on the ground floor overlooking the garden with its own outside space.
Breakfast was an experience in itself, lovely well trained staff with a really experienced Food and Beverage manager called Mohamed Vahed to oversee. We ate every morning outside on The Terrace overlooking the fountains.
Deputy General Manager Madeleine Roux made herself known to make sure we had no complaints, also to see if she could help to make our stay any more enjoyable. How often does that happen in a Hotel of this size???
It was immaculate in every way, constantly being cleaned. The Swimming Pool area is also beautifully kept with service throughout the day. A really nice touch here was a constant supply of Iced Water was available free of charge along with Fresh Apples and Newspapers!!
We ate Room service and poolside, all very good.
The Palazzo is opposite the famous Montecasino complex and a stroll across a courtyard, where there is a choice of 42 Restaurants to eat at each evening. This we did and ALL were Fabulous!! The staff here could not have been friendlier and more helpful, we LOVED our stay here and Thank everyone very much!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fourways
0.2 mi away
SunSquare Montecasino
SunSquare Montecasino
#3 of 7 in Fourways
866 reviews
10.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Fourways
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Indaba Hotel
Indaba Hotel
#4 of 7 in Fourways
508 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
725 reviews
6.3 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 48 in Sandton
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palazzo Montecasino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palazzo Montecasino

Property: The Palazzo Montecasino
Address: No. 1 Montecasino Boulevard | Fourways, Fourways 2021, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Fourways
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palazzo Montecasino 5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recreating the look and feel of old-style Mediterranean glamour, without compromising on modern luxury, the Palazzo hotel is a treat for all of the senses. The 246 beautifully-appointed rooms include Standard, Deluxe, Executive and Superior Rooms as well as King Suites, a lavish, opulent Penthouse and bespoke Presidential Suite. Every room is equipped with all of those small touches that add to your comfort - direct-dial phones, tea and coffee stations, mini bars, 24-room service, free WiFi and electronic safes to list but a few. Highlights to add to your stay include the Mangwanani Spa Boutique, a fully-equipped fitness centre, business centre, Montecasino Entertainment Complex, delicious Mediterranean dining at Medeo Restaurant, relaxing cocktails at Cafe Rialto, conference rooms and many more. Outdoors, a large swimming pool invites you to dip into its cool waters to escape the heat of a long day, while the poolside area beckons hours of relaxation as you let your mind finally unwind from the daily pressures of life. This is the start of your experience at the Palazzo in Montecasino... Book now to discover what else lies ahead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Palazzo Montecasino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palazzo Montecasino Hotel Fourways
Palazzo Montecasino Johannesburg
Palazzo Montecasino Hotel Johannesburg
Montecasino Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing