We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel & Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Palazzo Montecasino
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good Hotel & Location”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Hotel is modern and maintains high level of standards, quality and comfort of rooms are high, and the breakfast good, excellent deck area for dining in good weather. Hotel has a classy feel which is helped by the elite who frequent this hotel. Hotel is attached to the famous Monte Casino, and thus has alot of amenities like bars, restaurants, casino, movies etc

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the traffic circle, perhaps a room looking the courtyard would be much bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pavanjugroop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyandaM83, Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear pavanjugroop

Thank you so much for your recent visit to the Palazzo and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us. Your feedback indicates that you would have been happier with a room overlooking the courtyard. We certainly hope to provide this to you on future visits.


We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again at the Palazzo.

Kind Regards,
Ayanda Mazibuko
Deputy General Manager
Palazzo Montecasino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    231
    73
    24
    16
See reviews for
222
383
42
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We Booked 2 nights after leaving Cascades in Sun City 2 nights early due to shocking service and couldn't have had a better reception.

The venue was wonderful and clean and the staff were switched on and extremely helpful.

Food and service was great and nothing was too much.

There were notices in the room there were some renovation work going on but only in the unoccupied wing of the hotel. Sadly on the morning of our departure someone got the wing they were meant to be working on worm and decided to start drilling in the room above us at 7 am. We spoke the reception and the drilling stopped after 2 min. We the had a call back apologising for this and had breakfast given to us for free. As we checked out we were asked to wait for the manager (we thought we shad done something wrong or or cards were not working). He turned up and wanted to express his apologies for the noise. He handed over a bottle of wine and 2 goodie bags with some croissants chocolates and (I thought was a great touch) red bull.

It is great to stay in a place that accept responsibility for a situation and deal with it and would happily recommend this place to anyone

Room Tip: GroundFloor for a litt bit of garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kearns21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyandaM83, Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear kearns21

Thank you so much for your recent honeymoon visit to the Palazzo and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

We are very proud of our staff for managing to resolve the noise issues in a manner that met your expectations. We consider it to be our biggest achievement when a guest problem is resolved whilst the guest is still present at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to the Palazzo.

Kind Regards,
Ayanda Mazibuko
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The whole experience is nothing short of amazing, service, food, roome etc. Thank you. The breakfast is set o suit all types of pallats and is most satisfying. The staff are extremely friendly and go out of their way to offer amazing service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank brenda171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyandaM83, Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear brenda171

Thank you so much for your recent visit to the Palazzo and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.


We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again at the Palazzo.


Kind Regards,
Ayanda Mazibuko
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I didn't stay over but came for a business meeting to the hotel restaurant.

What was supposed to be a lunch meeting ended up as a 3 course gourmet meal which was absolutely fantastic.

I ordered a salad, pork belly and a chocolate desert. Wow! What an amazing dining experience it was.

What also added to this dining experience is the garden view and the lovely pool right in front of the restaurant.

This would definitely make for a great dinner location for 2.

Be back sooner than I hope.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Loyiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyandaM83, Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Loyiso

Thank you so much for your recent visit to the Palazzo and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

It is extremely rewarding for the team to receive such fantastic feedback. We are delighted that the lunch experience met your expectations and led to further dining whilst you enjoyed the garden and the pool views. We take great pride in all of these areas, therefore it gives us a great sense of achievement when we meet and exceed guest expectations.

We look forward to your future visits, and possibly a stay over visit in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Ayanda Mazibuko
Deputy General Manager
Palazzo Montecasino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solymar, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed in a superior room, nice, big clean and well maintained. Renovation on ground floor but did not disturbe. The friendliest staff, meeting with a smile that you can feel they are really happy to have you there. Breakfast is good the staff (again) excellent, feel like home they are ready for a chat. Good restaurants in the Montecasino complex at very reasonable price, great food with excellent vine selection.
Wish I come back again

Room Tip: choose superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyandaM83, Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Sandor D

Thank you so much for your recent visit to the Palazzo and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments have been shared with the Palazzo team in appreciation for their excellent work to meet your expectations.

Please note that we are at the finishing stages with all our refurbishment work that has been taking place in the hotel. The new superior rooms are amazing and we are excited to reveal that to you upon your return.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Palazzo.

Kind Regards,
Ayanda Mazibuko
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I recently stayed here for four nights, with the luckiest of my children, and my friend and her favourite child. Its the second time we have been here, because the first time was so memorable. There's always a fine line when a hotel attempts "Tuscany in....", which falls either to between "nailed it", or "my God, that's twee". Fortunately, the Palazzo nails it. There are all the Tuscan touches- cast iron balustrades, tinkling pianist (show tunes, no less), tall pillars on which banded pigeons perch, awaiting their chances for a breakfast table raid, sensational, manicured gardens, and so on. The bedrooms are slightly dark, in that four-poster, carpeted, floral wallpaper kind of way. It should be awful- but it just isn't. Its like an English movie, the sort where four faded beauties moulder gently in some far flung outpost, drinking tea with little finger outstretched.
The staff are hat-tipping wonderful, friendly and nice without being smarmy. Hot chocolate was offered in a teeny tiny cup on check in, as my easiest, but not well travelled son gazed round, mouth open. Fresh flowers glowed in the foyer. Actually, it was the kind of foyer in which you would happily sit for a quiet drink- but alas, my travelling companion is teetotal. Being the good mannered traveller that I am, I therefore cannot rate the bar- only the soft drink service.
The hotel is currently undergoing renovations, presumably the rooms will be transitioning from darkly glamorous to brightly glamorous, but I at least, hope they don't change too much.
And by the way, if you want twee- the Montecasino complex should fit the bill nicely- it used to be more upmarket, but apparently one armed robbery too many closed down most of the nicest shops. Good to eat there, but Chanel- not so much.

Room Tip: try to overlook the central courtyard- it is coverer with fairy lights at night, and is quite a sigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindalou086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyandaM83, Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Lindalou086

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Palazzo and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

It is such a great reward for us when we convert a first time visitor into a return guest, we are grateful to have had you, your friends and children return for another memorable stay.

We are delighted that you appreciate and enjoy our tuscan touches and also excited to hear that you enjoyed the small things such as the welcome experience and the hot chocolate. This kind of feedback inspires us to do even more fun and fantastic things in efforts to keep you, our most valuable guest excited and loyal to us.

Your comments have been shared with the Palazzo team in appreciation of their excellent work to repeatedly meet and exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Palazzo.

Kind Regards,
Ayanda Mazibuko
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

When checking in at The Palazzo, make sure you enjoy a drink at the hotel lounge while chilling then spend sometime at the rose garden, enjoy the food at the hotel. Importantly, Deon Prinsloo and his team of concierges are always on hand to assist with whatever questions you may have, not to mention the friendly staff!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyandaM83, Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Denise M

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Palazzo and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

We are so delighted that our hotel and staff made it possible for you to enjoy your holiday with your family. Your positive comments have been shared with the Palazzo team in appreciation for their excellent work to meet your expectations.

We trust that the rest of your holiday brought you more memorable experiences and look forward to welcoming you back at Palazzo.

Kind Regards,
Ayanda Mazibuko
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fourways
0.2 mi away
SunSquare Montecasino
SunSquare Montecasino
#3 of 7 in Fourways
885 reviews
10.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Fourways
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Indaba Hotel
Indaba Hotel
#4 of 7 in Fourways
518 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
741 reviews
6.3 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 47 in Sandton
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palazzo Montecasino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palazzo Montecasino

Property: The Palazzo Montecasino
Address: No. 1 Montecasino Boulevard | Fourways, Fourways 2021, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Fourways
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palazzo Montecasino 5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recreating the look and feel of old-style Mediterranean glamour, without compromising on modern luxury, the Palazzo hotel is a treat for all of the senses. The 246 beautifully-appointed rooms include Standard, Deluxe, Executive and Superior Rooms as well as King Suites, a lavish, opulent Penthouse and bespoke Presidential Suite. Every room is equipped with all of those small touches that add to your comfort - direct-dial phones, tea and coffee stations, mini bars, 24-room service, free WiFi and electronic safes to list but a few. Highlights to add to your stay include the Mangwanani Spa Boutique, a fully-equipped fitness centre, business centre, Montecasino Entertainment Complex, delicious Mediterranean dining at Medeo Restaurant, relaxing cocktails at Cafe Rialto, conference rooms and many more. Outdoors, a large swimming pool invites you to dip into its cool waters to escape the heat of a long day, while the poolside area beckons hours of relaxation as you let your mind finally unwind from the daily pressures of life. This is the start of your experience at the Palazzo in Montecasino... Book now to discover what else lies ahead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Palazzo Montecasino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palazzo Montecasino Hotel Fourways
Palazzo Montecasino Johannesburg
Palazzo Montecasino Hotel Johannesburg
Montecasino Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing