We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
SunSquare Montecasino
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Stayed for one night. Really good value for money. We got all we needed - clean room with all the necessary amenities. The room has a studio layout with the bathroom blending quite nicely into the room. Breakfast was amazing and we were pleasantly surprised by the variety in the buffet considering what we paid. Service during breakfast was pretty slow though (waited quite a while for condiments and coffee).

All the people we dealt with at the hotel were very friendly and helpful.

The hotel is conventiently located near a large variety of restaurants in the casino complex.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquesheath, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
What a great review!!!!
Thank you for choosing SunSquare as your destination.
We cherish your feedback and shared it with our team. They all agree that your feedback helps charging our spirits.

I trust that we will see you back soon.

Warm Regards
Jacques Heath
General Manager
SunSquare Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    294
    67
    26
    7
See reviews for
121
332
37
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
132 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

Smallish rooms, neat and modern, the bath and toilet in the room takes some getting used to, but overall good enough. Having the casion and entertainment complex so close is a big convenience.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SATraveller031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquesheath, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor. Your feedback and comments matter to us.

I trust that we will see you again in the near future. Visit our Website in order to benefit from our great specials.

Warm Regards

Jacques Heath
General Manager
SunSquare Montecasino
(T) 011 557 7007
(F) 086 765 1124
(C) 082 974 1470
jacquesh@southernsun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

been there a couple of days, not bad. The hotel faces a square with restaurants, shops and casino. The magic fountain is no longer a noisy problem as it can hardly been heard today.
The only thing I didn't like was that I was given a non smokers room but I could smell cigarette smoke in it! It seems the smoke came out of the air vent above the WC toilette and the shower boxes. This was bad, but all in all I recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Axxe73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquesheath, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
Hi Lorenzo

Thank you for your constructive feedback.

It seems as if a naughty guest was smoking in the non-smoking part of the hotel. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience. I can completely understand your comment.

Please visit us again when you are in South Africa. Forward me a mail, then I will book your room and make the necessary hotel arrangements.

Seasons Greetings

Jacques Heath
General Manager
SunSquare Montecasino
(T) 011 557 7007
(F) 086 765 1124
(C) 082 974 1470
jacquesh@southernsun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

I stayed at the SunSquare Monte Casino Hotel in August 2011 for 2 weeks. The hotel is located in Bryanstone, a suburb of Johannesburg, and is about 40 minutes drive from O.R. Tambo International Airport. It is right next to a casino with plenty of restaurant options and entertainment. If you are a first time visitor to Johannesburg and surrounding areas, it is best that you have an arranged transportation. It should cost you no more than 350 Rands to get to the Hotel from the Airport.

The fact that there were so many restaurants located inside the casino complex was a definite plus. It was a business trip stay, so by the end of the day, I did not want to spend another 30 minutes to search for a place to eat. At the same time, I am quite a foodie who loves to try different types of food. Eating room service food on a daily basis is definitely not my first option. There were so many good restaurants within 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

The breakfast options were really good. It was a buffet style with plenty of good choices (including fresh juices and fruits). The service was also excellent. If you have a frequent guest membership, you will get 2 hours of free internet access. You will have an option to enroll for the membership when you check in. You have to get a daily internet voucher at the front desk; and YES, you have to go and get the actual voucher printout. My suggestion to Management there is: "Stop killing trees and just give us the access code over the phone." All in all, the front desk ladies were nice and courteous.

The weekend nights could get really hectic and noisy. If your room happens to face the square, things can get noisy on Friday and Saturday night. On the first night, I realized that they were showing a rugby game. It got really loud that I requested for a different room. My suggestion is to get a high-floor room facing the street outside of the complex.

In short, SunSquare Montecasino is a pretty decent hotel and conveniently located right next to a casino with plenty of entertainment and restaurant options. Will I stay there again for my next business trip? Absolutely!

Room Tip: Choose a high floor room facing the streets outside of the complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rice_Goddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquesheath, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I appreciate your write up and comments.

We are genuinely looking forward to your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us when you are ready to book.

Seasons Greetings

Jacques Heath
General Manager
SunSquare Montecasino
(T) 011 557 7007
(F) 011 557 7019
(C) 082 974 1470
jacquesh@southernsun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Very Vibey hotel, with modern decor all over. Rooms have a clean fresh look and are very comfy. The glass toilet door was a bit scary at first but if you are alone or a couple sharing it should ot be a problem, the shower is enormous and stunning. A pity the advertised Wifi is reserved for frequent guest only. Breakfast was excellent but very little to eat if you Muslim, stick to breads and fruit only. Undercover parking and shuttle services can be arranged at extra cost. Very limited tv channels for when it is raining and being next to the big screen you cannot sleep late ( not in rugby season). Management and staff are very helpful and we would definetely make the Sun Square our Monte destination again.

Room Tip: Room 101 is on the ground level next to the Big screen in Square, the speakers are right next to you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rochean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquesheath, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
We appreciate your viewpoints & thank you for the welcoming feedback on your stay.

I have some great news for you; we have increased our Television channels to 28 channels! It is a pity that we completed the upgrade only after your stay. Now you have more reason to return to SunSquare.

Thank you for a very favorable review.

Season’s Greetings

Jacques Heath
General Manager
SunSquare Montecasino
(T) 011 557 7007
(F) 086 765 1124
(C) 082 974 1470
jacquesh@southernsun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

When the e-mail arrived in our Inbox with the news that "If you are over the age of 63, get 50% off the Best Available Rate of the day", I was delighted. We were en route to our grandaughter's wedding from Durban and had planned to drive a distance of 100km from the Timeshare accommodation we had booked for a week following the occasion so, instead, took advantage of this Seniors Club offer and spent a very comfortable night at Sun Square taking in a play at the Montecasino Theatre as well. Having spent nearly 20 years living and working very close to what is now the Montecasino complex, it was an enjoyable experience to return there 16 years later and marvel at how the area has grown. The room was perfect for our stay although it is obviously designed for the business traveller, for whom I would think it is perfect. Proximity to the Piazza with its wide array of restaurants and, when we were there, a Big Screen to watch South Africa play against Samoa in the Rugby World Cup, is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GranDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquesheath, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
Thank you for your taking the time to write a great review. We honestly appreciate feedback from our guests as this assists us in keeping in touch with reality.

Please keep an eye on our website, as we have some great specials with regards to Theatre packages and December / January discounts.

We are awaiting your next visit.

Best Regards
Jacques Heath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

We arrivd to a warm welcome in a very modern reception area, a vast contrast to the beautiful "old world" Italian exterior and surroundings. The Hotel is situated on Piazza and the atmosphere is very romantic indeed. Upon entering our room we had a bit of a shock and looked at each other as if to say "where's the rest of it?" But we were only staying for one night to see the group "Rain tribute to The Beatles". The room is fine for Business Travellers But definetly not for staying for longer than a night. We went had pre-dinner drinks at the hotels restaurant and the pricing was suprisingly reasonable. Dinner was a Gastronomical Dream The show and stay package includes a three course meal which was outstanding. Then on to the show, Wow, this group is FANTASTIC Don't miss Rain Tribute to the Beatles when it comes to you city! We slept comfortably, The bed and Pillows were surprisingly comfortable (Don't you find th pillows are always so uncomfortable in Hotels - well these were great!) After a good nights sleep we went down to breakfast and that's where the wheels came off. Moved from one table to another, no coffee served had to continuely try and catch someones attention for a teaspoon, some butter, all the waitresses were walking around TOTALLY disinterested! Rather annoying. Then there were no Pork Sausages they were finished, took Beef instead - Yuck - one mouthful and I felt ill! No more breakfast for me. The hotel was informed in their follow up survey and have promised to look into it. So yes if a good Show & Stay package comes up again I will definetly go back!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JVENTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquesheath, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review, 18 September 2011
Dear Mrs. Venter
Thank you for taking the time in responding to us. I appreciate your constructive feedback and can confirm that we definitely did discuss the breakfast delivery with our team. I do apologize for you moving from one table to another; I was in the restaurant at the time when this happened and I can recall the incident.
I am pleased to hear that you will be returning to the SunSquare hotel in the near future. We have a few new shows coming up in the Theatre and will be pairing these shows with great value packages. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Warm Regards
Jacques Heath
General Manager
SunSquare Montecasino
(T) 011 557 7007
(F) 011 557 7019
(C) 082 974 1470
jacquesh@southernsun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fourways
0.2 mi away
The Palazzo Montecasino
The Palazzo Montecasino
#1 of 7 in Fourways
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
0.7 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Fourways
1.6 mi away
Indaba Hotel
Indaba Hotel
#4 of 7 in Fourways
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Oasis Boutique Hotel
6.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
6.3 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#4 of 47 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunSquare Montecasino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunSquare Montecasino

Property: SunSquare Montecasino
Address: Montecasino Boulevard | Sandton, Fourways 2055, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Fourways
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SunSquare Montecasino 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fourways, north of Johannesburg and only 20 minutes from Sandton, is home to the famous Montecasino Entertainment Complex offering a variety of entertainment options including theatres, movies, shopping, restaurants, ten-pin bowling and a world class casino. Integral to this entertainment mecca is the contemporary SunSquare hotel. Each of the 179 rooms sports a funky design and all the modern conveniences that today’s travellers could possibly need. An Italian-style piazza and restaurant adds that extra something special to the hotel which is the only place to stay for those wanting to be at the centre of all the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your SunSquare Montecasino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunsquare Montecasino Hotel Fourways
Sunsquare Montecasino Johannesburg
Sunsquare Montecasino Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing