We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
SunSquare Montecasino
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Although not a 5-Star hotel that I am very used to, but this hotel has as an asset that equals and in some cases, surpass some 5-star hotels out there, it has a very noticeable excellence in Management and Service Staff. As a very well travelled executive, I should know when I see excellence in hotel Service. I was truly impressed and would gladly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Dr. Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear Dr Ken

I am pleased to see your review on TripAdvisor. You have become one of our valued guests and more; a valued family member.

It was an absolute pleasure hosting you during your very long stay at the SunSquare Hotel. You know that you will always be welcome at the SunSquare Hotel.

We miss you.

Warmest Regards
From Jacques and the SunSquare Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    294
    67
    26
    7
See reviews for
121
330
37
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Me and my wide stayed over for one night. Although the rooms are small, the are very well planned and we had everything we needed. The staff (specially at breakfast) was outstanding. The rooms was spotless and the bed very comfortable. If you are in Johannesburg, sleep here!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear Jan

What a beautiful review. Thank you for taking the time in posting your feedback on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and I will most definitely forward your review to our Super Star Breakfast Team.

I look forward in welcoming you back to the SunSquare Montecasino in the near future.

Warmest Regards
Jacques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Excellent value for money. Excellent dinner and breakfast and also excellent service. Staff are friendly and helpful. The chef is outstanding.
The waiters are well educated, friendly and know the dishes well. This hotel is to be highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Pieterjan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear Pieter-Jan

What a brilliant review!! Thank you for raving us on TripAdvisor. We are proud of your comments and rating, and I will make sure to forward your review to our team members.

Please visit us again – soon.

Kindest Regards
Jacques and the SunSquare Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thabazimbi, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

a well deserved weekend break, walking distance from great restaurants and entertainment. Room is very modern and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. Staff friendly and welcoming. Definite recommendation for young couples.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank JC0etzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Dear Guest

What a great review!!
Thank you for rating us 5/5. We are proud of your scores.
We are looking forward in welcoming you back soon.

All the best; from Jacques and the SunSquare Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Phenomenal service from the time you step out of your car to the time you get back into it. Staff cannot pretend to be so happy all the time so you know they truly are! The room was clean and tidy. Breakfast was out of this world and had the freshest most divine selection.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Angelique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely review. You rated our service and product 5/5. I am most definitely going to share your review with our teams, especially our breakfast team.
Come back soon – we are waiting.

Warmest Regards

Jacques and the SunSquare Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

You get a very warm welcome the minute you walk in. Parking, if you have a car, can be a challenge within the upper car park at times. Get a room facing the square if you can. Rooms are simply but vgc

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Simon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Hi Simon

Thank you for rating us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback. I am sure that we will be seeing you back at SunSquare soon.

All the best

Jacques and the SunSquare Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mermaid Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Accommodation excellent, great decor & modern furnishings; service at all levels from cleaning staff right up was warm yet professional. Smiles from everyone were sincere, every communication showed genuine interest. We felt like honoured guests. Superb breakfast and dinner, service tops from waiting staff right up to chefs. SunSquare is 1 of 4 hotels in the MonteCasino complex offering a range of superb restaurants & eateries plus theatres within a Tuscan villa themed complex. We were there over a long weekend & experienced a great beach carnival in the piazza which was a hit with families with children and singles alike. Wonderful band in the evening too. Access to theatres a great plus, saw Sound of Music which received a standing ovation on the night we attended. SunSquare deservedly gets our highest recommendation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for rating us favourable on TripAdvisor. Your in-detail scores and comments will definitely assist all future guests in gaining insight into the SunSquare and Montecasino offerings.
I trust that we will see you back soon.

Warmest Greetings

Jacques and the SunSquare Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fourways
0.2 mi away
The Palazzo Montecasino
The Palazzo Montecasino
#1 of 7 in Fourways
974 reviews
0.7 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Fourways
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun Montecasino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Indaba Hotel
Indaba Hotel
#4 of 7 in Fourways
481 reviews
6.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
3.2 mi away
The Oasis Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunSquare Montecasino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunSquare Montecasino

Property: SunSquare Montecasino
Address: Montecasino Boulevard | Sandton, Fourways 2055, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Fourways
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SunSquare Montecasino 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fourways, north of Johannesburg and only 20 minutes from Sandton, is home to the famous Montecasino Entertainment Complex offering a variety of entertainment options including theatres, movies, shopping, restaurants, ten-pin bowling and a world class casino. Integral to this entertainment mecca is the contemporary SunSquare hotel. Each of the 179 rooms sports a funky design and all the modern conveniences that today’s travellers could possibly need. An Italian-style piazza and restaurant adds that extra something special to the hotel which is the only place to stay for those wanting to be at the centre of all the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your SunSquare Montecasino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunsquare Montecasino Hotel Fourways
Sunsquare Montecasino Johannesburg
Sunsquare Montecasino Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing