We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SunSquare Montecasino
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Certificate of Excellence
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

What a great location for a hotel. We were in the Monte Casino complex and just a small stroll away from the theatre,casino and bird park. We had a great view overlooking the piazza. The rooms were spacious,but the shower was see-through,so I'm sure it would make new couples uncomfortable. The room was clean with new sheets every day. The breakfast spread was exceptional!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chantellevdbijl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Chantelle

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing us on TripAdvisor.
You had fun – we can tell. Don’t wait too long before visiting us again; you are only four hours away. We are the ideal weekend getaway.

See you back soon.
All the very best; from Jacques and the SunSquare Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    321
    73
    29
    8
See reviews for
133
364
39
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devizes
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Great hotel in fabulous location if you want food and casino environment. Everything is high quality despite this being the least expensive of the hotels in the complex. Excellent in-hotel restaurant with numerous other eating places within a short distance. Bonus in the complex is the bird park - well tended and peaceful oasis in the middle of Northern Suburbs rush.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your favourable review.
Your comments will assist future guests to enjoy Montecasino.
Please return soon – we miss you.

Warmest Regards
Jacques and the SunSquare Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A excellent stay close to home. The position of the hotel suit me to perfection, close to the theater with nice restaurants surrounding the square. Very friendly staff that go the extra mile.
Amazing breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Hi Susan

Great Review – HUGE THANK YOU!!
Don’t forget to look out for our next big show – War Horse. Tickets are selling fast, book and enjoy the Dinner, Show and Stay package – it is worth it! You only live once.
See you back soon.

Regards
Jacques and the SunSquare Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Rooms service and breakfast wonderful. Location good will always stay when in Johannesburg. Staff and Management excellent. I highly recommend this hotel for either business and pleasure. VQ & PQ CAPE.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Valerie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Valerie

What a beautiful review.
Thank you for raving us on TrapAdvisor, we look forward in welcoming you back to SunSquare Montecasino.
Don’t forget; it is rainy in Cape Town, whilst it is Sunny in Johannesburg.

When can we book your Room?

Jacques and the SunSquare Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Having had a bad experience in the hotel's paraplegic room with water drainage, the management of the hotel invited us back. This time we stayed in a normal room whilst they did repairs to the paraplegic room. We were surprised that management took our complaints to heart to such levels. Our expectations were by far exceeded with five-star treatment and professionalism on our return stay, from the bell-boy to receptionists, security, restaurant and housekeeping. The rooms are modernly and tastefully furnished and very easy to relax in. We loved the many mirrors that enhanced space in the room, as well as the beautiful view on the Montecasino Square. Breakfast offered a great variety of dishes and the personnel was very friendly in serving us. What impressed us most, was the fact that they treated us as if they really liked us. We could see that they treated the other guests with the same honesty and friendliness. We will certainly do many returns to this smart hotel with their five-star professionalism, but very reasonable pricing.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view on the Montecasino Square is very nice. It is within short walking distance (50...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golda52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Guest

Your review deserves an expensive frame, as it is worth Gold.
Thank you for your fantastic feedback. Your comments are valuable to us and we share this information with our Staff and Management in order to encourage great service.

We are looking forward to your next visit.
Please do not hesitate to contact us when you are ready to book your next stay.

Warm Regards
Jacques and the SunSquare Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polokwane, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This hotel is located within seconds of the Montecasino complex and makes walking to dinner a breeze. Rooms are clean, slightly small but has everything you need. Excellent breakfast and efficient check in.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jeannette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques H, Front Office Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Hi Jeannette

Thank you for your extraordinary review. Your feedback and rating is of this highest and we appreciate you sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are expecting you back soon; you deserve a break.

Friendly Greetings
Jacques and the SunSquare Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydenburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2014

From the time I parked my car to checking in and finding my room I received first class service from the hotel staff. The room was modern and crisp clean and surprisingly quiet next to a busy road! A quick walk through the casino took me right to the venue of the function for the night. Safe and very close. Very pleasant experience and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Lizl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Lizl

Your review is making us blush!!
Thank you for your lovely feedback and comments. I am sending your review to our team members; they deserve all the glory.
We are keeping your room ready; let us know when you are planning your return visit.

All the best
Jacques and the SunSquare Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fourways
0.2 mi away
The Palazzo Montecasino
0.7 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Fourways
1.6 mi away
Indaba Hotel
Indaba Hotel
#4 of 7 in Fourways
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
6.3 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 48 in Sandton
932 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Oasis Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunSquare Montecasino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunSquare Montecasino

Property: SunSquare Montecasino
Address: Montecasino Boulevard | Sandton, Fourways 2055, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Fourways
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SunSquare Montecasino 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fourways, north of Johannesburg and only 20 minutes from Sandton, is home to the famous Montecasino Entertainment Complex offering a variety of entertainment options including theatres, movies, shopping, restaurants, ten-pin bowling and a world class casino. Integral to this entertainment mecca is the contemporary SunSquare hotel. Each of the 179 rooms sports a funky design and all the modern conveniences that today’s travellers could possibly need. An Italian-style piazza and restaurant adds that extra something special to the hotel which is the only place to stay for those wanting to be at the centre of all the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your SunSquare Montecasino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunsquare Montecasino Hotel Fourways
Sunsquare Montecasino Johannesburg
Sunsquare Montecasino Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing