We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SunSquare Montecasino
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“good stay”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

nice place, trendy... id go here again
the food was good, nice and central position to go about your business and get things done.
great service too with lots of happy smiling people ready to be of service!


  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank delaine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Delaine

Thank you for the lovely reply and great review. We truly appreciate your comments and will be sure to use your feedback in order to motivate our Team's morale.

We are waiting for your return.

All the best

Jacques and the SunSquare Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    323
    73
    29
    8
See reviews for
133
365
39
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Absolutely awesome hotel, the attention to guests and the locality/value cannot be beaten in this part of the world!
highly recommend it!
Room are small but very functional and clean but unless you want to pay double then it is well worth it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz R, Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Traveller
Thank you so much for your review and feedback. We strive for service excellence and
appreciate you taking the time to review SunSquare Montecasino. We pride ourselves in our staff and are very proud of them.
We are looking forward to welcome you back to SunSquare Montecasino soon.
Have a great evening
Warm regards
Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This Hotel has a wonderful location at Monte Casino. Bedroom and bathroom are cleverly open-plan which provides more space in this compact room. Staff and service was great. Breakfast was really good. Great overnight stay! Recommend!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adelenel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz R, Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Traveller
Thank you so much for your review and feedback. We are delighted that you had a great stay at
SunSquare Montecasino. We strive for service excellence and appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel.
We are looking forward to welcome you back to SunSquare Montecasino soon.
Have a great evening
Warm regards
Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halberstadt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Good hotel overall, friendly personell, nice and safe area. Mostly agree with the comments of the others.

BUT: I wouldnt come here and share the room with my wife. NO PRIVACY. The sink directly in front of the end of the bed, about 1,5 m. away. Right of it the toilet completely in milky glas. Not possible to look through, but hear through. On the left side the shower, no milky glas. At least my personal hygiene shall stay personal, which is not possible here.

TV is really small, but programs is good. the ergonomy of the desk could be better, especially when I sit on the chair I dont fit under the desk. The cleanliness of the drawers and wardrobes can be improved significantly.

Yet, I would return, but just alone.

Room Tip: Towards the marketplace, not towards the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank legrandviper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz R, Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Traveller
Thank you so much for your review and constructive feedback.
We are busy with our development team looking at different options to improve on the room layout and fixtures.
We strive for service excellence and appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel.
We are looking forward to welcome you back to SunSquare Montecasino soon.
Have a great evening
Warm regards
Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed at SunSquare Montecasino for two weeks while conducting business. Liz and the staff made this trip very pleasant. I would highly recommend SunSquare - especially to those who are travelling for business.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank KMason2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz R, Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Traveller
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your recent experience at SunSquare Montecasino on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your feedback and recommendation of our hotel.
We look forward to welcome you back at SunSquare Montecasino.
Safe travels
Warm regards
Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pretoria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

very warm welcome from the staff!the view from the room is very nice and everything is walking distance from the hotel-
The shower and bed is very comfortable and we were very satisfied with the room.
we had a problem with the tv but within minutes they send someone to bring us a new tv!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank nimonet v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz R, Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Traveller
My most sincere apology regarding the problem you experienced with your TV. I am delighted that you still enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for your kind comments and feedback.
We look forward to welcome you back at SunSquare Montecasino.
Safe travels
Warm regards
Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaborone, Botswana
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Great place to stay, rooms are tight but cosy and modern, staff friendly and helpful., great location, excellent food in the restaurant. highly recommended.Perfect for along weekend stay.
Will be returning here for sure.


  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Wayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz R, Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Traveller
Thank you for the excellent feedback on your recent stay at SunSquare Montecasino.
We appreciate your feedback and can’t wait to welcome you back.
Safe travels
Warm regards
Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fourways
0.2 mi away
The Palazzo Montecasino
0.7 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Fourways
1.6 mi away
Indaba Hotel
Indaba Hotel
#4 of 7 in Fourways
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
6.3 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 48 in Sandton
933 reviews
1.7 mi away
Riverbend Country House
Riverbend Country House
#41 of 67 in Johannesburg
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunSquare Montecasino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunSquare Montecasino

Property: SunSquare Montecasino
Address: Montecasino Boulevard | Sandton, Fourways 2055, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Fourways
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SunSquare Montecasino 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fourways, north of Johannesburg and only 20 minutes from Sandton, is home to the famous Montecasino Entertainment Complex offering a variety of entertainment options including theatres, movies, shopping, restaurants, ten-pin bowling and a world class casino. Integral to this entertainment mecca is the contemporary SunSquare hotel. Each of the 179 rooms sports a funky design and all the modern conveniences that today’s travellers could possibly need. An Italian-style piazza and restaurant adds that extra something special to the hotel which is the only place to stay for those wanting to be at the centre of all the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your SunSquare Montecasino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunsquare Montecasino Hotel Fourways
Sunsquare Montecasino Johannesburg
Sunsquare Montecasino Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing