We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FUN ON THE CARIBBEAN”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caribe Playa Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Patillas
Topeka, KS
Level Contributor
163 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“FUN ON THE CARIBBEAN”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Location is a little hard to find. Located on a fairly busy highway (3) but the rooms are just a few feet from the ocean. There is some nice sandy areas for lying in the sun however the beach area is very rocky. We love have the windows open at night listening to the ocean waves crashing on shore. The resort also has several hammocks for those just wanting some good R&R. There is a breakfast included but it does not include much and the breakfast purchase options are very limited. Coffee is only available during breakfast hours and there are no coffee makers in rooms. The open air Restaurant has much larger choices for lunch and dinner and optional off site restaurants are at least 15 minutes away. If you are just looking for a place to kick back and relax, this is your place. If you need a lot of activities, better look elsewhere.

Room Tip: There are 3 separate buildings. The building to the west of the office is the newer wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Treadman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    65
    31
    33
    45
See reviews for
56
101
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at Caribe Playa Beach Resort and I thought it was great! I am baffled by the negative reviews. I don't understand what people expect for $100/night. Clearly it's not the Ritz Carlton but it exceeded my expectations for the price range. Yes, the rooms are a little dated, but the property is well maintained by an attentive and sweet staff. I noticed the same woman waiting tables in the hotel's restaurant and cleaning rooms - it's a small staff but they are very accommodating and eager to please. The beach right outside the rooms is a bit rocky, but the entire coastline in that general area is rocky. There are sandy beaches for those willing to walk or drive a bit. Alternately, you could enjoy the hotel's small but clean pool area that overlooks the ocean. There are many hammocks available for guests and numerous beach chairs as well. The whole atmosphere is very relaxing! The restaurant doesn't have a huge selection, but everything we had was very good. Overall, this was a wonderful place to stay in Patillas, as long as you bring reasonable expectations! :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank megzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keerbergen, Belgium
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

We spent one night in this small hotel on the beach. (room 312) Rooms are simple (with AC) and clean. The best thing about this hotel is just that it is right on the white sandy beach with astonishing views of the ocean ! Free breakfast is a downer since it is not a real breakfast but only coffee and toast. The extra French Toast we ordered with fresh coconut were however great ! If you want to get away from it all (really away) and spend time in a simple hotel in a super location, this is a grdeat place ! Super friendly staff also !

Room Tip: 312 was on the second floor - keeps the sand ou of your room :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelman-Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Small, cheap and awfull room. Not worth $30 a night. Bathroom seems 30 years old, with rust and calcium stains everywhere. The kitchen cabinets were falling apart. The beach is rocky, dangerous and not swimable. Total lack of security in the premises, including the parking area. A busy and noisy street is just 10 feet from the back of all the rooms. There is nothing near this place, just bad karma. Not recommended to anyone, no matter your social status.

Room Tip: "Avoid this place"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marien V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Just got back from Caribe Playa Beach Resort and I really can't understand the negative reviews. This is a nice, simple, budget hotel in a spectacular location - if you don't mind being off the beaten track. It is tranquil and secluded and other than swimming and lying around in a hammock there isn't much to do but that was exactly what we wanted. Staff is very gracious and accomodating but everything is done slowly - which I think kind of added to the relaxing atmosphere. Rooms are simple, maybe a little run-down, but for the price we paid we were certainly not expecting luxury. Beach and pool were perfectly clean, grounds are beautiful. The dogs are kind of funny - there were just two very well-fed, well behaved mutts about the size of beagles that always hung around together. A fancier hotel would have kicked them out but to me they just added to the charm. Restaurant was completely adequate - again, nothing fancy but it was good. We went to two excellent restaurants nearby - both of which looked like total dives from the front - Restaurant Mufasa and Lorimar (or something like that.)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RussellNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

professional staff,clean rooms,friendly attention.

Room Tip: room right after pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshfield WI
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Don't let some of the previous reviews scare you off! We just returned and enjoyed our stay very much. No it is not a fancy resort but for about 100 bucks a nite you can't expect that. We had a couple issues with our room, the cable box did not work and we had a solid clear panel over our window instead of screens. If was fixed right away for us. There are 3 dogs that live there, but if you notice there are stray dogs every where you go in puerto rico. The dogs did not have mange, I would have to say they did have fleas though. They were very gentle and friendly dogs, in fact I fell in love with the little female and would have taken her home in a heartbeat if I could have. They could use a little medical care, she did have a small sore on her pad of the foot and in need of nail clippings. There was no dog poop anyplace that I saw. The food is ok and not a huge selection but reasonable priced. Service is very slow. Dinner reservations are required but after you are seated it was usually still an hour wait, not sure why they wanted reservations when your food was never prepared ahead of time like they mentioned. The resort is small and was very quiet. If you are looking for a quiet relaxing not busy spot then this is perfect for you. We very much enjoyed sitting around the pool area, there are a lot of shaded areas if you want to get away from the sun. The beach is very rocky, there are a few open sandy areas that I laid out on to enjoy the water. My husband fished from the shore and caught a few fish. There are plenty of lounge chairs and hammocks to enjoy. Didn't have to fight for one like you do the large resorts. We did not see any roaches or bugs, just a few of those tiny little ants outside on the balcony, none in the room. Lots of cute little lizzards around. Our room was clean, yes outdated and certaily could use some new paint and a few repairs. Housekeeping was great everyday with clean towels and basic cleaning. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. It appeared that a new owner or manager was there for a few days and repairs were started, so maybe there will be some good upgrades in the near future. The view alone is well worth the stay. If you want a fancy resort with lots of extras then stay in busy Puerto Rico. If you are looking for a relaxing, laid back, non tourist spot this place works. We drove through San Juan, I would never imagine wanting to stay in such a busy area. Wi Fi is only available in the dining/bar area but that was no problem. Usually very few people in there and staff was always great to offer a drink or snack. Other guests were very friendly and with such a small resort you ran into them often, always a conversation or smile. If you don't want to drive far the only other eating option we found was a place right down the road. Food was decent and priced fair. Staff there was very friendly also. Don't be afraid to stay here! If there is a problem let them know and they will help you out I am sure. I would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: I enjoyed the upper level, just a better view of the water. Also noticed the section of rooms over b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravlerMarshfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patillas
8.4 mi away
Parador Palmas De Lucia
34.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
11.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden at Palmas del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.8 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
44.0 mi away
Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort
32.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Playa Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Playa Beach Hotel

Property: Caribe Playa Beach Hotel
Address: Road # 3, Km 113.9, Patillas 00723, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Patillas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Patillas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Caribe Playa Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picture yourself in an unspoiled beach, the tropical breeze caressing you as you bask in the sun, enjoying a nap in a hammock strung across palm trees or just beachcombing under a starry sky. Located in a pristine corner of Puerto Rico’s southeast coast, the Caribe Playa Beach Resort nestles in a secluded cove where the mountain rain forest slopes down to touch a crescent shaped beach of a spectacular Caribbean Sea view. It’s the only hotel in the area with all rooms right in front of the beach. All guestrooms have a great close-up view of the sea. They have A/C, cable TV, refrigerator, private bathroom, are fully sheeted, spacious and have a dining/seating area. Some have a small kitchen sink and cabinets since there are BBQs in front of each building for your use. First and second floors have a patio or balcony respectively. Wi-Fi is available in various areas. The beach is just steps away. So close, that you’ll sleep to the soothing sound of the waves. Guests can swim, snorkel, surf, or fish at the Caribe Playa’s beach, weather depending. Or, they can simply relax in one of the beach's many lounge chairs or hammocks in between many palm trees. There is an outdoor adult and kiddies pool right next to the sea with a breathtaking view. There are more than 20 gardens with beautiful flowers and lush, tropical plants. Therapeutic massage is available by appointment. A rest and relax, family and romantic ambiance with personal service. All at a great value. Our Seaview Terrace Restaurant offers stunning views of the Caribbean Sea and serves varied breakfast, lunch and dinner selections plus local delicacies. Tropical beverages and light snacks are also offered during the day. The Caribe Playa Beach Resort is 90 minutes from the San Juan, Luis Munoz Marin International Airport. Downtown Patillas is just over 10 minutes away. Many use us as base for exploring the south and east of the island, Vieques and Culebra, or for scheduling fishing trips. Many of our guests turn into friends to be welcomed year after year. Come and stay in your personal tropical paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caribe Playa Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Playa Beach Hotel Patillas
Hotel Caribe Playa Beach
Caribe Playa Beach Hotel Puerto Rico/Patillas, Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing