We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Gite we have found”
Review of Le Farat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Farat
Ranked #1 of 3 Auvillar B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We used to have a house near here so know the area well, and when we decided to revisit we were delighted to find that Le Farat was now a gite.
We were even more delighted when we got there to find that it is a wonderful place with splendid spacious rooms and large modern bathrooms, where everything for your comfort has been provided.
After our drive from the airport, we were met by our hosts, Allison and Nick, with a cold bottle of wine,- a nice welcome on a hot day! We found that there is a splendid pool and peaceful wooded grounds, and it is all set it the beautiful Gascon countryside.
One of the best restaurants in South West France - l'Auberge de Bardigues- is just five minutes away and it is a good idea to book this for at least your first evening.
All around are the delightful small towns of this region, with a market at least one day a week in every one.
We were a group of five adults and had the whole place for a week. We all agreed that it was the perfect French holiday and will be back.
Thanks Allison and Nick, from Jim and Muriel

Room Tip: All equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2011

Le Farat is in an area which is beautiful, the setting in the countryside is peaceful and scenic. I appreciated the authenticity of the house, its furnishings and ancient tiles. The furnishings are luxurious and top quality. The games room is a bonus. We didn't even try out the swimming pool!
It was such a pleasure to meet Allison and Nick - so helpful, organizing our dinner and assiting us with our enquiries about the hairdresser and golf, and even the laundry! We appreciated their knowledge of the area and its history. We even saw some of the pilgrims with the shells during our day in Bordeaux, which we wouldn't have recognized otherwise. The restaurant food was probably the finest I had on our trip and I will recommend it to other foodies who would appreciate real fine French food and the care and skill that went into its preparation.

The hosts are approachable, helpful and attentive. Each request was immediately attended to, and also provided many suggestions. The basket of brochures is a good idea and helped me to learn about the area. I haven't mentioned breakfast! Delicious and ample, enough even for a growing teenage boy.

We found Allison to be an attentive and helpful hostess. The B & B is in a lovely location, with authentic character and luxurious furnishings. We felt our stay was very good value for money. We hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: When travelling with teenagers: ask Allison about family room OR one double room and a twin room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We are from Canada and we organized a 3-week trip around France, sleeping in nine different places (some hotels, some "gites de France").
This is the best place we chose out of the nine places. Our only regret is that this stop was only for one night. We didn't want to keep going to our next location!
The owners seem to have the perfect balance between presence and discretion, which made us feel like home. And they were really willing to help and make it enjoyable.

The room was completely cosy, even luxurious, with a nice and roomy bathroom, and even a separate room used for breakfast and reading/relaxing area. The outside is splendid, with an amazing view even from the pool area.

Was worth every penny. You can pay more elsewhere and get far less.

Eric & Anca

Room Tip: We described the room in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeFarat, Owner at Le Farat, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2011

Thank you so much for your kind words and perhaps one day we will see you back here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Where do I start......

Well probably at the point where we are sat at home looking for somewhere to go to recharge our batteries after a stressful couple of months. My partner saying we are not going to France!!! After some persuasion I had got him to agree to going to Le Farat as it was in the Mid Pyrenees region and not the normal tourist regions of France.

Arriving at Le Farat we were greeted by our hosts Allison and Nick with a pot of tea and some lovely fresh bread and cheeses.

The B&B well.....you would normally expect a bedroom with an en-suite......OH NO.......the bedroom alone was the size of most bedrooms and en-suites in one. We then had a beautiful large en-suite and a private living/dining room where you had your breakfast each morning.

You have your own private garden and table/chairs for sitting and enjoying the views across the valleys, including the fishing lake which Nick will happily lend you rods to fish in.

Breakfast was a gorgeous selection of fresh bread, croissants, cheeses, meats, fruits, juices and tea/coffee.....ready on your table at the time you want it.

There is a good size swimming pool, which is perfectly situated to get the sun nearly all day and is maintained to the highest standard by Nick. Also available is a games room with a good selection of table games, including air hockey and table tennis. You are also able to hire bikes from Allison to explore the local country side.

The region of Tarn-et-Garonne is beautiful and unspoilt with lots of villages to wander round, loads of local markets with local produce to buy and cook on the BBQ back at Le Farat.

My partner and I kept saying WOW during our time at Le Farat. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts and they were extremely knowledgeable about the region and where to go and what to see.

We woke every morning looking forward to the day ahead, not exactly having agreed our itinerary for the day but that not being a problem as Allison & Nick were always on hand to guide us.

Overall the whole experience was a relaxing, enjoyable one and Le Farat definitely has the WOW factor.

Thank you to Allison, Nick, Megan and Abigail for making us part of the family for the time we were with you. We are looking forward to seeing you all again in October when we will be staying in the beautiful, spacious Gite with our sons.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We have recently returned from our second visit to Le Farat this year. The first time we stayed in the B&B and then we returned with friends and stayed in the Gite.

Our first stay in the B&B was a long weekend. The B&B accommodation is a luxurious suite – it’s beautiful. Everything is there for your absolute comfort. The weather was superb and we enjoyed long walks and visiting local restaurants. There is a particularly good restaurant in Bardigue and there are a few to choose from in Auvillar. All too soon it was over and we couldn’t wait to return.

We loved our stay in the Gite. The accommodation is superb. Beautiful large bedrooms with large en-suite bathrooms and a very large kitchen/living area. The kitchen is very well fitted out and the lounge area is very comfortable and has a large flat-screen television, dvd player, CD player, iPod dock, wi-fi, etc. I can’t think of anything else you would wish for. This time we hired a car and enjoyed exploring the area – there are so many interesting places within easy reach. Nick and Allison were a wealth of information and were delighted to suggest places of interest to visit.

Le Farat is a gem – made all the more enjoyable by the delightful owners – Nick and Allison – who do everything they can to ensure your stay is memorable. We will definitely be returning to Le Farat.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minb45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeFarat, Owner at Le Farat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2011

Thank you very much for your kind words and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon, perhaps with your baby too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

the place was wonderfull,the view fabulous ,very quite and everything was there to please you.!The pool looks great and refreshing .The owners were always available if we need some informations .

Room Tip: The gite was just perfect ,we felt like home in a luxurious way
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcs007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeFarat, Owner at Le Farat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2011
Google Translation

Merci beaucoup pour vos aimables paroles. nous sommes impatients de vous revoir un jour, je vais de temps pour de meilleures conditions météorologiques prochaine!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We have just returned from a week at the beautiful home of Allison and Nick Feeley at Le Farat, near Bardigue. It was our first visit to the Midi-Pyrenees region of southwest France and we certainly struck lucky selecting Le Farat – it had everything we could possibly have wished for.

We arrived after an easy 45 minute drive along the A62 motorway from Toulouse Blagnac Airport to a very friendly welcome from Nick and Allison.
Throughout our stay, nothing was too much trouble for them and they were able to provide loads of local information. Le Farat is very close to Auvillar, one of the most beautiful villages in France and just a short drive from Valence, Moissac and the lovely village of Lauzerte.

As we travelled with friends we had elected to stay in their spacious gîte. The accommodation is superb and so spacious. The bedrooms were huge and the beds so comfortable. Both had beautiful en-suite bathrooms and the bedrooms were separated by a lovely lounge and dining area with a new fully fitted kitchen. We had our own private patio but preferred to spend time lounging around their beautiful swimming pool.

Although we had never stayed in a gîte of such quality, had we travelled alone, we would have stayed in their B&B in the main house. The B&B accommodation is superb – not just a beautiful bedroom with en-suite bathroom but a luxury suite with a private lounge and dining area and a private garden overlooking their lake.

Whether you are looking for a quiet destination in which to just relax or a base from which to explore, it is an excellent location and we would thoroughly recommend Le Farat.

Our stay was a memorable one and we can’t wait to return next year.

Marion and Ken Butler

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KenandMarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeFarat, Owner at Le Farat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2011

So pleased you had a nice time, and thank you for your lovely review. Do tell everyone about us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Le Farat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Farat

Address: C2 Route de Bardigues, 83240 Auvillar, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Tarn-et-Garonne > Auvillar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Auvillar
Price Range: £124 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the edge of Gascony in the heart of the French countryside, only 50 minutes from Toulouse international Airport, and on the famous walking route "Saint Jacques de Compostelle" this old stone property is ideally suited to get the most out of your visit to South West France. The luxury accommodation consists of a gite with 2 large double bedrooms both en-suite with kitchen diner and lounge as well as a B&B suite that sleeps max 4 with sofa bed, private lounge with Free WIFI and private access to back garden over looking lake and countryside. Both properties have use of the walled saltwater swimming pool and large indoor games room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Le Farat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing