We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect in every way”
other traveller has booked this property
Unusual 17century stone pigeonnier converted to lovely gite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Unusual 17century stone pigeonnier converted to lovely gite
Beautiful and peaceful surroundings, but close to all amenities Large salt water swimming pool with stunning views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Unusual 17century stone pigeonnier converted to lovely gite
Beautiful and peaceful surroundings, but close to all amenities
Large salt water swimming pool with stunning views
Twin/double room sleeping 4 with own ensuite
Fully Equipped Kitchen area in La Maison du Soleil
Lounge area in La Maison du Soleil
Private terrace and extensive gardens
Large fully equipped games room in converted barn
Auvillar - d'une plus beaux villages de France
River Bridge over the Garonne at Auvillar
13th Century Church in Medieval Auvillar
Local country fayre - oxon cart rides
Canal des deux Mers at Moissac
Local Cotes de Brulhois tipple
Tarn-et-Garonne views
The building was originally a pigeonnier
We get snow here too!
Lovely views across farmland from the terrace
The optional sofabed for children if reqired
Bedroom 1 in La Maison du Soleil
Lounge and kitchen area 5mx9m
Private fishing lake at Le Farat, perfect for those that just want to get away from it all!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Auvillar, Tarn-et-Garonne, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bee C
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have just finished a glorious week at Le Farat where we stayed in the pretty Le Pigeonnier gite.

It is full of character, space, classic furniture, a very comfortable bed and all the kitchen facilities you need for a self-catering holiday.

Allison and Nick Feeley were wonderful hosts and were extremely helpful without being intrusive in any way.

They let us know where the markets were, the prettiest historic towns in the area and some great restaurants to go to. They also provide tons of information to read about the area around Auvillar and Bardigues where Le Farat is situated.

They keep both the interiors and exteriors beautifully maintained and the swimming pool is clean, well kept and well equipped with sun loungers and umbrellas.

Le Farat was the perfect base for us - there is a great market and wonderful canal walk in Moissac, there is a wine festival in ancient Auvillar and other beautiful, ancient towns to visit such as Lauzerte and Montjoi.

We feel we have found France's prettiest region and we will definitely be back. There is some stunning countryside around Le Farat and you can easily drive to pretty hilltop towns to see more incredible views.

There are rivers, canals and ancient French architecture to enjoy. There is fresh produce to buy practically every day in a local market - and of course a wonderful boulangerie close by to get your morning croissants.

The region is rich in traditional and fresh produce such as peaches, strawberries, apples, prunes, wine, apricots (delicious in June), fresh asparagus, cheese, foie gras and duck.

If you live your life around food (like us) then this is the perfect place to be to explore the fantastic array of treats you can find.

You'll always find somewhere good to eat and if you're having a night in at Le Farat you can enjoy a barbecue with the delicious meats you've picked up in the local markets.

There are wonderful, warm people in this region of France and our hosts are the same. They couldn't have given us a nicer holiday and it has to be one of the best, most relaxing and enjoyable times we have ever had. Thank you so much and see you next year!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2014
So chuffed you loved our property and had a great time. Hope to see you back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DKR1944
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“All the family together in wonderful accommodation for two weeks”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This is a fabulous location with two Gites and a B&B on site. We took both Le Farat Gites for our extended family of 9. All the accommodation is beautifully presented and all the fixtures are of quality. Each of the four bedrooms had its own en suite. The hosts Allison and Nick could not have been more helpful. Although it was late May when we arrived, it was a bit chilly so we were provided with logs for the wood burning stoves. We were also offered hot water bottles which we did not need. The beds were luxurious and comfortable. Lovely location a 15 minute walk from an excellent restaurant and two and a half miles from a beautiful village with an artisan bakery, grocer shop and a number of good restaurants. A truly wonderful place to relax.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the accommodation, the solitude of the location and the welcome from the hosts
Liked least: Nothing I could not fault anything.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2014
Looking forward to seeing you all again in 2015. Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rayslator
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Second time even better”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Returned to Le Farat for a second time and stayed in the newly converted gite. The refurbishment has been skillfully and imaginatively completed. The games room and the cycles are also a great addition. Excellent facilities and hosts in a lovely location we have booked again for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2014
We are glad you appreciate our hard work and feel very pleased we have hit the right mark for you. Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moniO12
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An amazing stop over and would definitley stay longer”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Booked by a mutual friend on route to the Midi Pyranees. Recommended by 2 people a wonderful residence and B&B beautiful room, bed was amazing and the scenery spectacular. Pool was great for a swim in the morning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The room with a spectacular view and access to the garden.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2014
Looking forward to your next stay which we hope will be longer for you to ensure you discover this lovely area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mand0linm...
LythamStAnnes
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rest relaxation in comfort”
Reviewed 1 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Nick and Allison along with their delightful daughter have done everything to make your stay memorable; nothing is too much trouble for them thinking of your comfort. They are knowledgable of the area and give you any info you need. There is a beautiful pool which, sadly, due to inclement weather we weren't able to use; we were hoping for a lazy holiday in the sun sitting round the pool. If you are a walker there are a number of walks of varying lengths. The property is set in beautiful peaceful countryside so if it's peace and quiet you're looking for this is the place for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely property and helpful owners.
Liked least: Due to the weather we maybe would have been better in the B&B part of the property.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words, we appreciate it and makes it all worthwhile.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WendyWyke...
Bordeaux, France
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic place to base yourself to see the mid Pyrenesse”
Reviewed 16 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Le Farat is located in an ideal position between Bordeaux and Toulouse very near to the small village of Auvillar. The Gite is spacious and very well appointed with all that we needed. The pool is sensational and the games room has plenty to keep the kids (and adults) occupied. The grounds are well looked after and it is a pleasure sitting on the balcony just taking in the view and enjoying the fine produce that can be bought from the local markets and the wine that is produced at the vineyards close by.

Our hosts Allison and Nick looked after our every need and made us feel very welcome. They imparted their local knowledge which enabled us to visit some sites a bit off the beaten track that are not necessarily well known. The church at the small village of La Chappelle was a highlight.

This is an ideal location for families wanting to spend a few days...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The relaxed atmosphere and picture postcard surroundings
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope the rest of your European tour goes well. Perhaps we will see you back here one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona R
Nether Alderley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous acommadation in Luxury B&B”
Reviewed 8 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 1 night as part of cycling the Canal Lateral and although it was a hilly ride from the canal it was definitely worth it. We had a B&B room in the main house and it was outstanding, Our friends stayed in the caochhouse and that was equally beautifully fitted out. The welcome was very good, beautiful pool, and we were well looked after for the evening meal

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The ambiance
Liked least: No beer available on arrival!
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2012
I am pleased you liked your stay with us and hope to see you again some day
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing