We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really not recommended”
Review of Lakeside Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lakeside Cottages
paris
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really not recommended”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Good place because the hotel is located in front of the lake. There is a restaurant but we did not eat because it was expensive. I recommend the Volcano #2 for eating, where there is a woman named Sari.
This hotel has 2 types of rooms, the ones in front of the swimming pools are ok but the ones before the restaurant are very bad. The bathroom is dirty, the bed is ok and the door do not close!
And the swimmimg pool was empty ha ha or maybe they will be begin fulling it in your presence...
I really do not recommend you this hotel because you will be disappointed. They do not represent Bali people who are welcoming, always ready to help you and respectful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melimelo2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    13
    3
    5
    18
See reviews for
5
16
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
150 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The picture shows a swimming pool that no longer holds water. The rest of the establishment is similar. The rooms are drafty and cold at night, there is no restaurant on site.
The "taxi" we had ordered through the reception was expensive, took a too long road and the driver took his family with him, Haha!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WFR007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Toya Bungkah hotels

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

if you plan to climb the volcano Mt. Batur and looking for accommodation to stay only for a night, this place is okay just for one night. this is simple place, nothing fancy, no restaurant and good service. the only good things are cheap and nice view right at the edge of lake in Toya Bangkah. if you like comfort, this is not the place for you. if you are easy going and just want a place to sleep over night with a nice view of lake, you can handle this one. two staff are just chill out, not so attentive but they are good friendly people. remember this is not a 3 stars hotel with hotel service, you have to ask for what you want so don't expect anything perfect.
by the way, the room has no air-con but the weather is cool at night, spacious room, bathroom with TV but no satellite.

Room Tip: ask for discount or special rate and choose the room at the edge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r_noi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
376 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Having had difficulty in finding accomodation our previous night in Tirtagangga, we asked our driver to book a room at the Lakeside Cottages in Toya Bungkah primarily for its location near the start of the climb to Mount Batur.
The place is simply awful and is to be avoided at all costs! Smelly, moldy, dirty you name it.... The 2 staff at the "hotel" behaved more like tout than anything resembling hotel staff.
We ended up at the Mapa Lake View Bungalow with only 2 rooms where the owner did all he could to please us.
There is another luxury option at a minimum rate of 220 US$ called The Ayu which is more like a retreat where you can indulge in tranquility!

Room Tip: Just forget it! at least until they tear down the place and rebuild it and get the staff with the ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TequilaPepita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne, australlia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Yeah it's a great position but the rooms need an overhaul. Its managed by a
con-woman who will try and fleece you out of all your savings. She tries
to rope you into exorbitantly priced walks up the mountain, say $3 million rp for two when the actual price is around 800,00 rp for two. She will also try and sell you overpriced paintings and have hawkers come to your room.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else or stay in Ubud and do a day trip from ur hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tantilyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2011

This place had a good review in Lonely Planet but things have changed. The original owner is no longer there and the place has been left to go to ruin.
The rooms were dirty, there were flies and the smell of manure everywhere, the pool was empty and the ladder to it was detached.
There was a huge pile of rotting food near the pool area.
There are much cheaper, better, friendlier places down the street.
Worst of all, when we asked for a discount because the facilities were not what they had said they were, the staff were combative and aggressive.
This place was like nowhere I'd been in Bali, where, usually even in a budget place, grounds would still be kept clean and staff Would be friendly- stay away!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Padjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

They have a great view, BUT the rooms have an odd smell from lack of ventilation, toilets are dirty. We luckily planned for just one night in this area and left without even having a shower because the bathrooms were so dirty!

Staff here are not very good and we felt very uneasy and unsafe.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ionatina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toya Bungkah
3.5 mi away
Lakeview Ecolodge
Lakeview Ecolodge
#4 of 5 in Kintamani
267 reviews
0.4 mi away
Black Lava Hostel
Black Lava Hostel
#1 of 6 in Bangli
64 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mapa Lake View Bungalow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Volcano Terrace
Volcano Terrace
#1 of 5 in Kintamani
20 reviews
4.2 mi away
Batur Mountain View
Batur Mountain View
#3 of 12 in Kintamani
92 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Cave Hotel
The Cave Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kintamani
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Cottages

Property: Lakeside Cottages
Address: Jl. Raya Toya Bungkah, Toya Bungkah, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Toya Bungkah
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Toya Bungkah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lakeside Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Lakeside Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Cottages Kintamani, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing