We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Koh Mook Riviera Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
7
19
25
14
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
19
25
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa nice place to staytuk tukanitacoconutfishermannaturedvdsresortstructure
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We had been to Krabi, Koh Lanta and Koh PhiPhi before going to Koh Mook - and it was a great decision. This hotel is clean, the rooms are huge (though basic equipment), the Thai-food in the restaurant is awesome (for bigger meals you have to book 3h in advance) and friendly staff. You have to keep in mind that theres no ATM on this island and that the water comes from a coconut plantage that coloures the water slightly yellow. Most things you buy have to be brought to the island somehow so you have to understand that not everything is available right away - but thats a price we were willing to pay for a beautiful nearly empty beach (up to 5 pax on the ca 800 m Beach), palms, good food and no sounds than the occasional bark of stray dogs and Longtail fisherboats.

Snorkeling is awesome around the island (best tour is around Koh Kradan) and the hotel helped us booking the tour. The lady on the counter had the best English I heared all over Thailand and I loved that they trained local girls in the kitchen and on the hotelside to cook, speak English and that a certain part of our money went towards their education.
We had a seeside bungalow for 2200 Baht, so 51€ for 2 pax.
Theres always a cheaper way for accomodation but not if u want a certain standard.

All in all we can recommend it for a week or so (then its to boring for young people like us as theres no party on the island apart from one Bar in the jungle)

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Skaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Very basic. AC + bed + running water (no warm water, would have been nice in the morning).
Small zoo in our kids' room (frogs, ants). Beach really good when high tide, at low tide you need to walk a bit in the mud.

But to be honest, it is very picturesque! Palms over the beach, blue sea, so if you can accept a lower level of standard, it is ok.

What really disturbed me was the surrounding, the village behind, which of course affects the whole impression.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

On the other side of Charlie beach (very quiet) , the hotel looks like its build without personal touch.

Welcome very cold...we thought when we booked the best room categorie (sea view villa for 4200 B) it must be amazing.
The villa was small, not cozy, very cheap quality furnitures. Ground floor no AC, just 1st floor, where the bed is. Bed not comfortable. No effort from staff to make our stay better, they didn't care. No thank you, no questions how the stay is etc. no interest in their guests...

An overpriced place without soul.. But Koh Mook is simply beautiful :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tobi1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I thoroughly recommend a nice long and relaxing stay at The Koh Mook Riviera Beach Resort. It is a very tranquil resort set in a large garden with three rows of gently swaying Palm trees fronting the expansive beach front, facing south over the sparkling ocean. The staff are incredibly kind and helpful. The Manageress, Anita Siaw, speaks flawless English and is extremely knowledgable about the region and Thailand in general. Anita is ably supported by Shampoo, her very professional assistant. My budget did not extend to one of the recently modernised beach front bungalows. Instead I spent seven very peaceful and cosy nights in one of the rear upper level "Sky Rooms". This was probably the biggest bedroom I have ever had in my thirty years travelling in Thailand. It had a very firm Kingsize mattress, a spotless and capacious bathroom (no hot water but no problem to me as the weather was so hot anyway) and the very charming maids, cleaned the room and re-made my bed, on a daily basis. The "Sky Rooms" also have their own patios or a terrace on the upper level, with a small table and two chairs. A lovely space to sit out on as the sun goes down. The resorts restaurant is right on the beach, open sided to the sea breeze a to the pretty garden and sweeping lawns plus most importantly, the food is delicious (if a wee bit pricey). Koh Mook Riviera Beach Resort is NOT for the party crowd but for those seeking a bit of peace and quiet in a tranquil location. Having said that, it IS also very family and children friendly. The beach is long but to be honest the sea here is very shallow and not terrific for swimming. My girlfriend and I walked the twenty five minutes to "Farang/Charlie Beach" for excellent swimming, or take a five minute scooter/taxi ride for fifty Baht each. I strongly recommend Koh Mook Riviera Beach Resort as an EXCELLENT place to chill out PLUS you should know that the very altruistic Thai owners plough profits from the resort into a charitable bi-lingual Thai/English school near Trang town that gives a free education to the kids of low income earning rubber tappers. Stay here and you wont regret it, in fact you will want to return for more.
Andrew Bruce, Dumfriesshire, Scotland, U.K.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank andrewbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We enjoyed our time at the Riviera. First of all, its in a beautiful place. Our family of four (kids aged 14 and 11) spent four nights in two bungalows facing the beach. Each bungalow had a large bed, nice windows, AC, TV, bathroom, and two deck chairs on the porch. The resort restaurant is fine, if a little overpriced, but there are alternatives not far away in the village. We opted for breakfast at the resort on most mornings because it was so convenient. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They have bikes and kayaks for rent, and a free library of hundreds of movies to watch in your room after it gets dark. The beach out front is very nice but can get quite wide at low tide. That allows the opportunity to chase crabs or count starfish and sea cucumbers. There is also bioluminescence if you want to swim at night. We spent a couple of days out in the water, snorkeling, diving, and exploring. We hired a local fisherman to take us around.

It should be noted that the local fishing villages in Trang Province are typically Muslim. Tourist development there is a relatively recent occurrence. Though the local village on Koh Mook is no doubt benefiting economically from the tourism, the tourists should also respect the local culture!

Room Tip: The front row bungalows have a better view of the beach!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Family_on_the_Loose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews