We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice to find a proper local pub in this day and age”
Review of The Black Horse

The Black Horse
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Eye
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tivetshall St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice to find a proper local pub in this day and age”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The Black Horse is a proper local pub in deep Suffolk with a roaring fire - lovely on a cold, wet night. We dined with about 20 others and the food, all a la carte, was all prepared fresh. The beer was excellent (Adnams from a barrel) and a decent bottle of New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc was quite affordable. The server told us they do a roast lunch 7 days a week and it is very popular with locals but you need to book for weekends. The chef/owner has a wide spread on the menu with a particular leaning towards Asian cuisine as he spent a couple years travelling there. It was a nice to find a nice local pub and while quite out of the way off the A140 and we will certainly head this way again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lambo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    23
    11
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Fabulous carvery”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This was my third visit to Thorndon and every bit as good as previous times.
Nine of us met to celebrate my Dad's birthday and all of our meals were spot on.
Five adults and one child had the carvery, which at £6.50 was extraordinary value for money. We all had a slice of each of the roasts- beef, pork and turkey as well as crispy roast potatoes, stuffing balls, Yorkshire puddings, 4 freshly prepared vegetable dishes, gorgeous homemade gravy and sauces. The meats were all cooked to total perfection and full of flavour. All the vegetables were cooked well, which makes a welcome change from many other pubs which boil them to death.
The gravy was especially good- again something of a rarity in many restaurants..
The other children had dishes from the kids menu, which were tasty and good value for money.
For dessert we tried a variety of different puddings, the best of which was an amazing Bakewell tart cheesecake.
All in all, a superb, friendly warm pub ideal for a family gathering. For a Tuesday lunchtime in Februrary, the place was packed. Long may it continue to thrive. We will definitely be back

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nicky66ipswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Had a lunchtime carvery with friends and enjoyed the meal which was good value for money. The vegetables were plentiful but a little unadventurous. An OK meal but not special.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nr Stowmarket
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect roasts!”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Weekday carvery is very good value. choice of meats and freshly cooked vegetables.Perfect gravy made with the meat juices- not from a packet!
Sunday's need to be booked to be sure of a table.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“fab friendly pub”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We called in to The Black Horse after a trip to the coast Sunday 10 th November, we were greeted by a lovely bar maid and very friendly locals. We had our Labrador dog with us and this was no problem he soon made himself at home and had lots of fuss from everyone who came in from the cold. our meal of veggie burger and a steak burger were fantastic very tasty and well worth the money. We would recommend this pub, off the beaten track but what a little gem. Thank you so much for making us feel so welcome. Julie and Mark, Telford ,Shropshire.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peevor63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Horse also viewed

 
Hoveton, Wroxham
Thornham Magna, Suffolk
 
East Ruston, Norfolk
 

Been to The Black Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing