We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Camomile Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eye
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camomile Cottage
Ranked #1 of 4 Eye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Quite simply one of the best places I have ever stayed. After reading the reviews I came here with very high expectations. They were exceeded!

If you're like me you probably spend hours deliberating between places to stay, staring at the traveller photos, trading off this review against that.

You can stop the dithering. You really don't need to look any further. I guarantee you will not find a better place than this to stay. Just book it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
66
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights following a recommendation in the Times, and it lived up to its billing and all the other reviews on tripadvisor. The place is a home from home with a super lounge which you can use and which we really had to ourselves. The room was large, clean and well decorated and quirky, it was a up hill walk to the wardrobe, which only added to the whole experience.

Tim and Aly are very welcoming and their service is attentive but not obtrusive, they were able to assist with places to go and booking restaurants for us. The breakfast is superb with a good choice of what to eat, to be greeted on arrival by Aly with a pot of tea and Danish pastries got the whole weekend off to great start. If you are in the area you should stay here- quite superb.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_wendy181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We enjoyed 5 nights at this glorious accommodation with wonderful hosts Aly and Tim. Their attention to detail, thoughtfulness and generosity added to what was a perfect week of long country walks and great evening dinners at nearby country hotels recommended and booked by our hosts.
The accommodation is delightful, the setting is superb and the hosts are so welcoming. We enjoyed every minute at Camomile Cottage.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret12Nelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We have just arrived back in the 'real world' after having experienced a delightful totally relaxed break staying at Camomile Cottage. The whole ambience here is wonderful. The owners Aly and Tim make your stay extremely comfortable and relaxing. The house is beautiful and very tastfully furnished totally complimenting the age of the house. There are only two guest bedrooms with good comfy beds and a few steps down from your room is the splendid lounge for your shared use. You can pop into the kitchen and help yourself to as much tea/coffee/chocolate etc.as you would like. Aly cheerfully arrives at a pre-arranged time in the morning at your room with a tray of tea/coffee if you so desire! You then progress down to the Garden Room for a fabulous breakfast. Although not obtrusive , Ali and Tim love to chat and help you with information on places to visit and are more than happy to book you into local restaurants etc. Top Marks, this place to stay is gorgeous!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Oak Room and although there is no room for a wardrobe there is plenty of drawers an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytosew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed two nights with Aly and Tim on the way back from Norfolk and had read all the reviews, which is why we booked it. So we went there expecting a lot and we were not disappointed in any way.The Camomile Cottage experience is a must; it is simply wonderful. You are made to feel part of Aly and Tim's family from the minute you arrive and the breakfast kept you going all day. Camomile Cottage is definitely one of the best bed and breakfast properties we have stayed in anywhere in this country and Aly and Tim are the reason why it has achieved and deserves such a great reputation.

Room Tip: Camomile Cottage is in a great location and is so peaceful and quiet that there can be little to cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueMarlinstravellog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful long weekend at Camomile Cottage to escape the stresses of our busy work lives. The warm welcome from Aly and a generous slice of her chocolate cake With strawberries on arrival we're the perfect start. Aly and Tim are excellent hosts and have a nice balance of having a chat with you and advising on where to eat and spend your days but they also respect your privacy.

The 400 yr old cottage is dripping in charm and character and we loved the sloping floors and the low oak beams (which hurts when you bump into one!). Our romantic bedroom had fresh roses and chocolates (nice touch Aly) and our bed was very comfortable? Breakfast was divine with everything you could want for and kept us going to the afternoon. The garden view from the breakfast area was scenic. We enjoyed days out to Southwold (stunning seaside town) and Aldeburgh and enjoyed fish and chips on the pier at Southwold on a sunny Saturday afternoon! We also ate at the Beaconsfield Arms and the Fox and Goose both recommended by Aly and both excellent restaurants with great menus and wine lists.

We shall miss the Camomile Cottage and feel recharged after our short break. We will be back sometime with our friends. Thank you Aly and Tim - you run a first class B&B in a great location.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adorling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We recently spent a delightful two nights in Aly and Tim's beautiful B & B! Having stayed in many fine Bed and Breakfast accommodations of the highest standards in recent years, we are extremely happy to add this beautiful place to our list of favourites!
Aly and Tim are very warm, welcoming people, who make you feel at home the minute you arrive! The bedroom was beautifully appointed, with fine bed linen, a wonderfully comfortable bed, water, chocolates, fresh flowers and decor in keeping with the cottage's 400 year history!
The attention to detail that Aly and Tim provide is superb. There is a comfortable guest lounge and a pretty and peacefully quiet garden in which to relax. We were in Suffolk attending a wedding the weekend we stayed and returning to Camomile Cottage to relax with tea in the garden as soon as we were able, made the weekend even more delightful!
I highly recommend Camomile Cottage, the standard of accommodation is of the highest order, with excellent very large breakfasts and tea delivered to one's bedroom, as required, first thing in the morning (delightful!) Securing accommodation of this standard may cost a little more, but you absolutely get the highest quality of experience!
Thank you Aly and Tim......we shall return x

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lemmy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eye
1.0 mi away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
2.4 mi away
Scole Inn
Scole Inn
#1 of 1 in Scole
3.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Park hotel
The Park hotel
#1 of 4 in Diss
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Auberge
The Auberge
#1 of 1 in Yaxley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holly Tree House
Holly Tree House
#1 of 1 in Wingfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camomile Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camomile Cottage

Property: Camomile Cottage
Address: Camomile Cottage Langton Green Brome Avenue | Eye, Eye IP23 7HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Eye
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Eye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alastair Sawday's Best Newcomer Winner 2013/14.Sunday Times Ultimate 100 British Hotels Award 2013.Situated in the heart of East Anglia with easy access to Lavenham, Southwold, Cambridge and Norwich. Awarded 4 Star Silver by the Tourist Board we provide a private luxury B&B experience in the beautiful Suffolk countryside. A maximum of only 4 guests at any time ensures your comfort is our first aim. All rooms are furnished with antiques, have exposed beams and rural views. Guests have a private and comfortable lounge with real fire and are welcome to relax in the large gardens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camomile Cottage Eye, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing