We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab and very freindly”
Review of Camomile Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eye
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camomile Cottage
Ranked #1 of 4 Eye B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Tim & Aly are truly great they chat and make coffee (fresh) cakes or fudge even on another time we have been homemade cookies Yum!
The breakfast is for a king & his army so much so lovely cooked by Tim & Aly .The lovely log burner is a wow for me we sat down one evening reading and drinking champange what more could you want.
They are very helpfull to direct you to nice pub,s and restaurants the gardens are tenderd by Tim and the children when we were there Gillian the chicken had a little peck at me.
lovely times.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ireland02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 94 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2009

Having just returned from our second stay at Camomile Cottage I can say without a doubt this place will never disappoint. We are getting married at nearby Yaxley Hall and picked Camomile cottage for a weekend break whilst visiting the venue.

From the moment we arrived Aly and Tim made the stay more like a weekend with friends than a night in a B&B. The warm welcome accompanied by banana and chocolate cake was an absolute treat and the perfect way to start our break. Little did we know it was only going to get better! The quirky bedrooms are beautifully appointed, and no detail is missed, from the luxurious bed linen, the toiletres in the bathroom and even the bag of truffle chocolates to nibble on (if there were any room after the cake!)

You have the roam of the cottage during your stay with a comfortable lounge, fully stocked kitchen and beautiful breakfast room/conservatory which was to host the most divine breakfast the following morning. Nothing was too much trouble and Aly even bought up tea and coffee to have whilst getting ready for breakfast!

Our second stay only confirmed what a truly unique place this is. We left today relaxed and refreshed....already planning our return for our wedding.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CA199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2009

We stayed here 2 nights in July 2008 as we were getting married locally at Yaxley Hall. The cottage and garden are beautiful, even more beautiful in reality that the pictures on the website and brochure. We were served wonderful and generous breakfasts in the delightful Garden Room. On offer are luxury yoghurts, fresh fruits, cereals and a selection of cooked breakfasts, you are spoilt for choice. The guest accommodation is completely segregated from the owner's residence and very private, we were fortunate to be on our own, as there weren't guests in the second bedroom.

There are home bakes on offer, we were made welcome with a pot of tea and home made cookies on arrival and we had home baked banana bread with breakfast. The corn bread from the local bakery, which was served at breakfast, was so light and delicious we bought two loaves to take home with us. There's also a kitchen area stocked with teas and coffee that you are welcome to use.

The cottage is luxuriously appointed, the floors upstairs are sloping and the bathroom compact, but it's what you'd expect from a cottage, it all adds to the ambience. The furnishings and decor are fabulous it's like staying in a 'Homes & Gardens' glossy magazine feature.

We stayed 2 nights in the Oak Room in what was the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in, "even better than ours at home" remarked my husband; that's praise indeed!

Ali our hostess couldn't have been more accommodating and welcoming, she even packaged my bouquet in a little bag with water and damp tissue, tied with string for our journey home.

Eye is a beautiful little town we hope to return to explore more widely especially as this place now has very special memories for us.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Folks-on-the-hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Joan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eye hotels
1 mi away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
500 reviews
2.8 mi away
Thornham Hall
Thornham Hall
#2 of 4 in Eye
28 reviews
5.1 mi away
Primrose Paddock Campsite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camomile Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camomile Cottage

Address: Camomile Cottage Langton Green Brome Avenue | Eye, Eye IP23 7HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Eye
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Eye
Price Range: £39 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alastair Sawday's Best Newcomer Winner 2013/14.Sunday Times Ultimate 100 British Hotels Award 2013.Situated in the heart of East Anglia with easy access to Lavenham, Southwold, Cambridge and Norwich. Awarded 4 Star Silver by the Tourist Board we provide a private luxury B&B experience in the beautiful Suffolk countryside. A maximum of only 4 guests at any time ensures your comfort is our first aim. All rooms are furnished with antiques, have exposed beams and rural views. Guests have a private and comfortable lounge with real fire and are welcome to relax in the large gardens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camomile Cottage Eye, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing