We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wished I could give it a Better Review”
Review of Rubi's Jus See Food - CLOSED

Rubi's Jus See Food
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Edmonton
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Wished I could give it a Better Review”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The only other table of people in the restaurant were leaving as we walked in and they said it was great. We on the other hand had calamari, onion rings, and shrimp and fries - all was on the very overdone-almost burnt except the fries and it was evident the oil should have been changed out a while ago. I hope this restaurant takes off as we did not find much seafood when you go into the interior of Belize - but think they have some work to do!

Visited November 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Ignacio, Belize
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Rubi`s is a welcome addition to Santa Elena”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Great food, friendly service, and not the norm for Santa Elena. The seafood is fresh, and homemade , with a new flair that just cannot be compared. The menu items are very different what is normally served in the Cayo district, and well worth a stop. The unique menu items include hush puppies, onion rings, fish nuggets, which are very nicely flavored, and homemade tartar sauce. The shrimp salad is extra nice with grilled shrimp served on a bed of fresh garden salad ingredients. The prices are very reasonable, without skimping on the quality. I have already been to Rubi`s several times, and have yet to disappointed. I will return soon, and look forward to being served by the attentive, and courteous staff. I almost forgot to mention that Rubi`s is air conditioned, and is very clean, with a nice atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ignacio, Belize
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Great fried seafood at Rubi's.”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

If you want some fried shrimp or calimari, then Rubi's is the place to go eat. We call it our naughty good fried seafood spot. They also have really good shrimp quesadillas too. Rubi's was the first seafood restaurant in Cayo, and it's located in Santa Elena, so it's easy to get to. Will definitely be going back again to try some of their daily specials.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Good food and generous portions”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

On our recent return to Cayo, we were told about Rubi's. We are always up for trying any new restaurant in the area, so decided to go for lunch.

The daily special wasn't yet ready when we arrived, so we ordered from the menu. We had a seafood burrito which was very large and tasty with lots of vegetables in with the seafood. We also had the shrimp ceviche which was a very large portion accompanied by lots of chips (they make their own and they are very tasty). We found it a little too spicy (would ask for less peppers next time) and the amount of shrimp was very tiny compared to the vegetables.

The server was very friendly and the overall experience was very good and a "return to" place for the future.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmopan
1 review
“Affordable, Delicious Seafood in Belize”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stopped by a spot that I use to frequent in Santa Elena Town which use to sell tacos. To my surprise a new little seafood joint opened up in its place. I grabbed a Calamari Basket and it was delicious, not greasy and best of all the price was only $8 Bz. Returned yesterday and found a brand new menu, split unit A/C, well decorated comfortable restaurant. They had Lobster Fajitas as a special and ordered it and it was cooked perfect. Big up to Ernesto the cook who prepared the food perfectly. Found out the owners also have a hotel and another restaurant in the area so will be checking that out also. Rubi's a perfect spot for some of the best, most affordable seafood in Belize.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rubi's Jus See Food also viewed

 
Santa Elena, Cayo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing